The Basket Of Emotion

in #life5 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-1161919310.jpg

Oh hey, if you are going upstairs, could you bring me down the Basket of Emotion? It's in the hall.

I stopped what I was doing and looked at the Good Lady gravely.

The Basket of Emotion? I didn't even know we had such a thing. I felt flattered and a little scared that I would be entrusted with such a serious-sounding task.

How heavy would it be? I wondered. I guessed it depended on how much emotion was in it.

Perhaps too it depended on how much that emotion weighed?

Did it also depend on what type of emotion it was? Were negative emotions heavier than positive ones? In that case, I hoped it was a basket of smiles and tickles.

To be asked to fetch such a thing. Truly, I had been given a task worthy of a Knight of old.

I bowed my head in the Good Lady's direction.

My lady. You honour me with such a quest. I shall fetch this basket for you or die in the attempt.

The Good Lady gave me a flat eye as if I were a small vole in her spice cupboard.

No need to be sarcastic, Daddy-Bear.

Her lips were so thin I fancied they could cut cheese.

I was hurt. There was no sarcasm here?

Sarcasm it is not, my lady. I will proceed upon this quest and verily I will deliver into your hands this item of which you seek.

With a swish of my imaginary cape, I left the room. I could almost hear the clip-clopping of my iron-shod stallion.

Upstairs I began the quest for the Basket of Emotion. I looked in the children's bedrooms. I looked on the stairs to the loft, I thought about going into the loft itself but in my haste to leave on my quest I was unarmed.

The loft could wait.

Try as I might on my imaginary steed clip-clopping back and forth, I could find no Basket of Emotion. I shook my head. Where could it be? I pranced back into the hall at the top of the stairs. She looked very narked.

What are you up to? I asked you to bring the basket of washing down?

I looked at her in astonishment. Then I looked down at my feet where a basket full of humble washing lay.

Oh, the basket of washing?? I thought you said Basket of Emotion?

The Good Lady shook her head in exasperation and grabbed the unmystical basket of washing.

Basket of Emotion?!? Seriously, what? You are losing it Daddio.

My imaginary steed whinnied at such an insult. I pulled on her reigns.

Losing it? Me? Hmmm...

Sort:  

Greetings @meesterboom,

What a lovely story and illustration!

So very witty, charming, and splendid.......thank you for the smiles.

All the best to you and yours. ^__^

Cheers!

Hola lass!!

I did have fun making the illustration!! :0)

Hope your are well and looking forward to summer!

Similar to my sack of feelings.

Hehe, damn. I am pretty sure I wouldn't be rushing up the stairs to find that!! :0D

Given enough beers though.... :)

Wouldn't even take that many! ;0)

No wacky baccy during the week. How many times have we told you to leave it alone. It will be a basket of emotion if you have to do the ironing once the washing is done.

Hehe, it's been years since I had a sniff of the whacky baccy!! I do have to do the ironing tonight. Fecking pisser!

Ahhh, the horizontal board of doom

It's sad lament, or is that mine??

That's tonight's Ironing situation, unless you prefer to do the do on a table with a towel?

Old school, lol. I remember my dad doing that!

There was an ironing board in the house but he wasn't going anywhere near that! 'I un-creased my clothes earlier' sounds far more manly than 'I did the ironing' :)

Yeah, it had a much better air of mannity it!!

@meesterboom hello dear friend, what a terrible confusion, in a moment of reading until I began to believe that the basket of emosion existed. Finally everything resolved.
Thank you very much for the good reading
I wish you a happy rest

I was confused myself! Cheers for reading @jlufer!

... and then your Iron-Clad stallion transformed into a broomstick and two coconut shells.

And what a mighty steed that would be!!

Time to get your hearing checked Boomy? 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's funny you should say that because that is what the good lady has been saying!

No you are just growing deaf to words like washing, kids, responsibilities etc hahaha

Lol, that might be very true!

Don't tell me it's time for hearing aids, haha! Nah, maybe just some wax buildup that needs to be irrigated out ;)

I'm thinking wax!

Hi @meesterboom!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.294 which ranks you at #217 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 220).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 224 contributions, your post is ranked at #7.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65017.48
ETH 3454.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50