Sourdough Bread & Pumpkin Beers!

in #life7 years ago

1507638682-picsay.jpg

Beers!! Can't live with them, can't live without them! At least that's what I think they say!

After the momentous events of the weekend I am feeling mighty parched. I think we all know what's best when mighty parched? You don't? Beers! That will sort you.

So what fine beers did I miss out on at the weekend? How about some sourdough bread in fizzy liquid form? If that's too wild we can wash it down with some fine pumpkin ale.

Let's get tasting!

fgh-pics_20_20171009205923121_20171010145454653.jpg

20171010_131853_1.jpg

From the Wild Beer Company in conjunction with the Hobbs House Bakery (whoever the heck they are?) According to the blurb on the bottle the bakery has a 58 year old sourdough yeast. It's this which they use in this beer, a mild number at 3.6%.

20171010_171935.gif

I mean, they make out it's exciting. I should be excited. But deep down I am thinking meh. Still, let's not be overharsh.

It pours pale and effervescent. A tight fuzzy head and the smell! Ugh, It kinda stinks of bread yeast.

20171010_172039.jpg

Did I say it stinks of bread yeast? Well just in case, I will say it again. It is honking of it as we say in Glasgow.

20171010_172115.jpg

And the taste? It is light and carbonated and musty. I am struggling with anything to describe it other than it is fizzy and smells of socks. Oh yes, it looks like pale piss. There we go! Scoring time 3/10.

Hmmph, let's hope the pumpkins don't let me down.

fgh-pics_20_20171009205923121_20171010145549493.jpg

20171010_131836.jpg

The Brooklyn Brewery presents us this 5% Halloween'y feast of a beer. I am intrigued by this feller, I like a properly done flavoured beer. Quite a splendid label as well with its orange/red seasonal-ness.

20171010_172534.jpg

Mmm, look at that, a lovely ruddy brown colour. Impressed already, can it taste as good as it looks?

20171010_172756.gif

Wayhay, it's a malty mellow treat of a beer. Just a touch of pumpkin, mostly a toasty malty flavour with big bubbles. A very welcome beer to have after the last one. It's not amazing but it is very decent. 7/10!

20171010_172509.jpg

Well there you have it! Baby in the bag and I am back on the sauce? Who would have thunk it! Although I will be honest, I am only having a couple till I get in the swing of this new parenthood malarkey.

To all of you having a sneaky school night beer... Here's to you!!

Cheers!

Sort:  

Cheers, you did choose perfect ones for tuesday ! Wednesdays beers are waiting to be tasted, yellow pleasure... bring them on

There is only one thing better than aTuesday beer and that is indeed a Wednesday one! :OD

Wow, is it already saturday? :-)

Slàinte mate!

Wayhay!! The days have kinda blurred into one! But heck thats no bad thing!

Slàinte!!!

Enjoy the awesome vibe! :-)

Amma gonna! As they say!! :0)

Totally Digging this post mate!! Nothing beats a parched mouth like a cold brew!! Love the pics and gif's of yourself - Rock On Brother!!

Cheers mate, appreciated!

Anytime!! Congratulations on becoming a Father by the way - if it's your first child... I have a beautiful daughter who is almost 2 1/2 and she changed my life forever for the better... Enjoy those first few months especially with the lil one - Priceless Mate! :)

I have a daughter! She is 4 and a half and is my little treasure. It's mental but immensely rewarding at the same time! :0)

@meesterboom - "It's mental but immensely rewarding at the same time! " - You could not have been any more precise - Well then - Cheers to your 2nd!! :)

Hola mr boom no he leido el post porque ahorita no tengo el traductor, pero lo que veo es celebracion. Asi que salud x su bebe.👏

Lo tienes exactamente, una celebración !! ¡Hurra! : O)

Lo tienes exactamente, una celebración !! ¡Hurra! : O)

Mmmmm. Love sourdough bread ... sourdough beer? Think I'll pass on that one - it doesn't even look like beer, lol.

I love it too so thought, can't be bad surely? How wrong and you are right, it doesn't look like beer!

Oh I miss my Beer from Oktoberfest - Prosit buddy and thanks for the marvellous post again

I liked them Octoberfest beers! Cheers dude!

I know mate - Cheers - need to find some new bottles

we have to celebrate the little boom at the gentle man club with a cold one ...choose a date

Hehe, lets get that steem up to ten dollars so we can afford the travel!

You have my word bud...steem will reach 100 by next year and we will see 3 K in 2 years time...time to oil all production plant for more little booms ...at gentleman club? hiyaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Haha, that will truly be awesome. Then everyone on steemit will be laughing!!

Amen to that, amen!!!!

It's all about the Sourdough, however in bread form for me, taste testing extraordinaire.

I love sourdough, even had my own starter for a couple of years but this so called beer, yech!

Ooo, need to sample some of your fine breads, il take your word for it on the beer. Typically the only beer il really enjoy is white.

I am quite the bread man, used to blog about it a lot. I do like a white beer myself!

I like it just can't eat it as much as I used to, it's a treat, Blanc used to be my favourite, can never find it now.

Well here's to me then! Although, school night's are a bit of a thing of the past...as are work nights lol! I homeschool and I suppose that would count except these days it's not very school like. When they were young I was all about structured lessons, now I've found that unless they're learning something new, they do just fine on their own with intermittent help. (Plus I've been trying out this new thing, letting their interests dictate their studies. It's pretty amazing. Probably wouldn't work as well if they weren't super intelligent, driven, cool kids though ;)

I wrote ummm, a different type of article for me today, hee hee.

Oooooo, fascinating, different you say!! Look forward to that.

School nights are a euphemism here for work nights! But you already explained you don't have them as such lol

Am off to read your post :0)

I am obviously a self centered brat for even mentioning the post right now and while I selfishly always wants to see you in my comment section, I want you to know that I will NOT hold it against you if you skip a few. Infants in my experience equal sleep deprivation and children who have recently realized they are no longer the sole focus of their parents affection equal a need for lots of attention.....all of that to say your mental and physical well being and that of your precious family's take precedence my boomtastic friend! The fact that you haven't even missed a day of posting is an incredibly impressive feat!

Hehe, its not selfish at all. With my friends I dont mind a nudge! I usually get round to checking but I must confess at the moment it is a bit tough to keep on top of it! Hehe, It was very cool, Explains all that sweary sexy banging in your stories too hehe :O)

Ha!! Yes it definitely does explain that :)

I always stayed away from the pumpkin beers in the past.
Finally tried one this year and actually enjoyed it.

Darryl

This is my first one and it is not bad. I will try some more and see if it is a trend :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28