Scary Mary Beers!

in #life5 years ago

151655sh_20180512105404503_20191221133619775.jpg

Somebody pinch me, it's almost Christmas!! How did this happen? I have no idea. One minute I was rubbing sun lotion on my little kitten-nose nipples and next... boom, Santa is almost upon us.

Well, as a great respecter of traditions I thought I would go all out. All out, I tell ya!!

But what is all out? I hear you ask in timorous tones as if scared I will be coming for you with my Billy Goat Gruff...

All out is barrel-aged beers, that's what! Two fine barrel boys for your delight this week.

Admittedly, one of them seems to be a Halloween beer that leisurely made its way over from the States and arrived here a mere six weeks late. It's got pumpkins in it. Which is frightening in itself but more frightening is that it was free.

We all know that nothing is for free though. I will have to get my silk purse waxed in lieu of paying the piper. Yeek.

Shall we start with the ever so frightening Halloween beer?

Yes, I think we shall!

First up...

jmgu5_20191116115342894_20191123193015797_20191130175053941_20191207122542798_20191214132719332_20191221151506596.jpg

Aiyee, it's Roadsmary’s Baby!! A traditional pumpkin ale produced by Two Roads Brewery, aged in rum barrels for that extra bit of schnizzle and pizazz.

I must say the name grabbed me immediately because I remember the film well. I do love a good horror.

Can the beer with its rum barrel ageing, vanilla and spices actually be any good or will it show itself to be the horror that its namesake is?

20191221_194355.jpg

This is a fine-looking burnt amber colour with a surprisingly chirpy frothing head too. I think I can even detect a hint of the pumpkin from it but not in a throwing up offensive kind of way.

It must be remembered that I am the guy, who, when carving pumpkins, squeals like a girl if any of that ropy orange muck on the inside gets on my sweet beautiful hands! Euuugh!!

Anyway, enough about me and my hand muck. To the tasting.

You know, this thing promised a lot and ultimately didn't deliver. It is a very pleasant, pumpkin style beer and I liked it as an easy drinker. Was it a barrel aged bomber? No, the barrel ageing was so subtle it was almost unnoticeable and the pumpkin was maybe a little too soupy sweet.

A good try nonetheless, 6.5/10 booms!

jmgu5_20191116115342894_20191123193015797_20191130175053941_20191207122542798_20191214132719332_20191221151139117.jpg

Holy Copernicus, what a Saturday this is turning out to be.

Did you like my industrial man cave? Needs must when I have the in-laws staying. I can't be cussing and drinking and kicking the cat in front of them.

Oh no, appearances must be maintained!

So, now to the next one. HEAVEN!!!

If the last one was steeped in fear and horror then this one must surely taste of angels singing and trumping their trumpets?!

A decadent stout they claim on the can. All I can see is danger signs from the 11% ABV it has. Hot donks. What if I go in and start seducing myself on the carpet? In front of the guests too.

I had best approach with caution!

20191221_215556.jpg

Inky dinky doo!! It's as black as the Good Lady's tar poos when she was pregnant and on the high iron pills.

That's a time I will never forget. Cleaning the toilet was like the exact opposite of clearing snow from a driveway.

But that is fine talk for another time.

On with the tasting!!

This beer is like a moustachioed gentleman thief whirling a cape in my mouth and proclaiming that he shall have no more to do with that girl Nancy! And by that, I mean it's bloody magic. Smooth, chocolatey and warm with bourbon 10/10 booms!!

Awesome biscuits! I am off now to entertain the guests with foul-mouthed nonsense!!

Have a good weekend everyone, cheers!

20191221_220118.jpg

Sort:  

Ahh, Meester Boom you never fail to deliver. I think that surely you would run out of descriptions and start repeating yourself, but there's always another gem tucked away. Although I'm not sure how the missus would take to descriptions of her pregnancy poos being immortalised on the blockchain. ;)

If you want to pop over to Australia you can be putting copious amounts of sunblock on those nipples again. You might want it to be flame retardant level, because we can still smell the bushfires this morning.

Have you had any snow to go with your impending Santa visits yet?

No snow!! It's rubbish, the last 4 or 5 years have been ridiculously mild. I miss the snow. Even when we do get it, it doesn't last long. I am going on holiday in a couple of weeks though, the sun cream can live again!!

The Good Lady laughed at that bit, I'm not totally convicted she saw the humour though, lol!!

Just had a friend who's visiting Canada send a photo of their Christmas tree with a snowy background vie out the window, just to tease us all I'm sure. Cold is just miserable without the snow.

I agree. I love a winter scene, wrapping up and being all snowy happy!!

'Cleaning the toilet was like the exact opposite of clearing snow from a driveway. But that is fine talk for another time.'

Lol. Can hardly wait to read all about it.
Cheers mate.

Hahahha, yes indeed, a tale that might be too black to be told!

Cheers man!

It's as black as the Good Lady's tar poos when she was pregnant

😂😂😂

Tar shites, how did you slide those into a beer review sir, epic!

Pumpkin, no thanks, but chocolate bourbon yes please! The ale house across the road had a chocolate stout last week and it sold like hot beer cakes, i dropped in early to find it was gone already!

Have a good one Boom-family!

Hahaha, I have no idea how it popped to the fore when reviewing beer but it was very apt!

I do like a chocolate stout myself and with the bourbon. DELISH!

Hope yer having a topper yerself mate!

popped and pooped, the tar has landed!

Tuesday lunch i'll be heading to the boozer to see what new brews are available and hopefully i'll wake up on the 28th when the next contact with humans takes place, over more ale!

Hot damn, that sounds quite idylic!

I will be running about frantically begging my kids to stop screaming and fighting! :O)

Imperial Stout? Sounds almost majestic!

It tastes majestic!! :OD

Your gonna need majestic beer keeping warm in that man-cave in deepest December!

It's so majestic that I can't feel the cold! I might just find a corner and lay down to sleep... ahhhhhh

Why would you kick a cat D: (the only times this can be overlooked is if you tripped on it or it was attacking you with full on claws and teeth and spitting and stuff)

Your idea of "fine talk" is only slightly different from mine XD

Hehe, I would only kick one of the little darlings by accident. They do tend to be underfoot when there are guests!!!

Fine talk is fine!! :0D

I love beer and vodka

Fine things indeed!!

I envy your man cave. I need a shop space of my own.

I am currently enjoying a late night Samuel Adams New England IPA. 6.8% ABV isn't too bad. 35 IBU is a bit mild for an IPA, but it does have some bite. I'm not sure Sam Adams really qualifies as a microbrew anymore, but they're still making a halfway decent brew. It's almost too sweet though. Like a shandy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54799.23
ETH 2353.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36