Saints and Hoppy Christmas Beers!

in #life7 years ago

1507638682-picsay_20171014193812942_20171111152038632_20171125131138666_20171209174933876.jpg

Gaaaaar!! 16 days till Santa comes and empties his sacks all over my house. I don't know if I could be any more excited! Truth be told it's not the sack emptying, it's the time off work that counts for me. So much family/beer time! :0D

There are only two Saturdays left till Christmas after this one. I am faced with a stark choice. Should I keep up the beer reviewing? I mean I really enjoy it but is it getting stale? Should I do it from the back of a horse? Maybe whilst juggling knives? I must think on this.

15dag_2_20171209203446964.jpg

But that's a matter for another day, right here, right now it's all about that beer!! Huzzah for the hops!!!!

It's a double entry from Brewdog this week. Well they had better knock it out the funking park because I have been driving all day and as they say in Scotland... Am pyoor choking man. A quaint euphemism for being rather thirsty for a beer.

15dag_2.jpg

20171209_184923.jpg

5AM Saint, coincidentally coming in at 5% abv also. Clever chaps. It also has 5 different hops. American hops, hence it being called an American Red Ale. 5%, 5 hops... Can you see the 5 thing going on? Here's hoping I get a high five in the mouth from it!

20171209_185843.jpg

It looks good when it gets gussied up out the glass. All ruby red and caramel looking. I think it's giving me the eye. Cheeky minx of a thing. Let's see about that high five!

It's rather nice. It's good in fact. It has a roasty toasty malty sweetness followed by a slight bitterness. It's missing a certain depth that might have propelled it to greatness. Slightly too fruity sweet without that dense body needed to offset it. I think a 7/10 as it's perfectly gluggable.

20171209_190055.gif

Taking us to...

15dag_2_20171209191359145.jpg

20171209_184912.jpg

Ho ho ho! A Christmas beer! I think this one has to be better than Brewdog's other one that I tried a couple of weeks ago, Santa Paws. Which was truly bogging. Can they pull it back for Christmas?

20171209_190325.jpg

It didn't bode well on the pouring. It exploded into a big frothing foamy mess. Not very Christmassy! The colour was a bit insipid also. Like that pale plasma that comes out after the blood and pus when you squeeze a spot.

7.2% of beer madness they claim. It don't taste like it. It doesn't seem to taste of much. Slightly flat and stale. Is that it, no lovely mouthy goodness?

Oh well It looks like another damp squid of a Christmas beer from Brewdog. Shame on you guys! 4/10.

20171209_190411.jpg

Oh well, I have some other fine beers. I will have me some of them before climbing up on the roof and pretending to be spider man!

I hope you are having a good weekend!

Cheers everyone!

Sort:  

I enjoy the beer posts, count me in as a vote for continuing to do them!

That first one looks delicious... 5% is the perfect ABV for a beer when I'm drinking casually. Strong enough that one can throw back two of 'em and be in that perfectly tipsy spot.

Also fuck christmas beer! They're always all spiced up and weird.

I need precious little encouragement. One vote might be enough lol!

I agree, they are hastily made shit to take advantage of the time of year. That's been two and both have been awful!

Real beer from now on! Cheers dude!

true.. love your reply. I am mad of beer posts

Seems Brewdog might better stay off the xmas theme. Here I'm going for a southern Nederish one. The Gulpener Wintervrund (Winterfriend). It has juniper and liquorice in it and is a fine 8.5%. Good for warming up coming from the cold winter weather outside.

Cheers mate, have a great weekend!

image

Hey, this is made a few villages away and I never had it.

Seems like a plan is born.....

Cheers!

Gulpen is a nice Limburgian village to visit. Especially their brewery. :-) Their beers are brewn using spring water. Many different choices. One of my favorites is Dort, a Dortmunder variation.

Have a good time in Limburg, cheers!

I agree, they should lay off them or learn how to brew one! hehe.

That looks a fine thing mate, I like the sound of licorice and juniper! Cor, it has set my yyastebuds to tingling. Have a cracker yourself!

:OD

This one makes them tastebuds tingle all the way mate, hahaha.

Brewdog should ask you as a pro-taster, it's a dirty job, but someone 's got do it.

:-)

I think I could handle it, someone has to as you say! :O)

I shall apply forthwith!

I believe everyone enjoys a nice cold beer from time to time especially now during the holidays. I hope you're enjoying your beer keep it up my friend I have my support and vote

Cheers mate, I am keeping it up to the max!!

And Cheers from Scotland!

We are in love with your beer posts, always wonder where you find all these different beers.

Sometimes it's hard, others it's easy!

very good post. i am on this now...

IMG_20170412_180645.jpg

thinking to have this....

IMG_20170519_204644.jpg # or IMG_20170519_204656.jpg

which one do you suggest.... truly I love your post. good sperits

The anti hero looks amazing, go for it!

YES, I'm really excited too, and I simply can't wait until Christmas. This is one of the only times of the year where the whole family gets to meet up, talk and play some board games. Every single year, Christmas gets better and better. It will always be one of the most magical times of the year.

Thanks for getting me hyped up for Christmas...Really enjoyed reading this post, upvoted :D.

Would be greatly appreciated if you could provide any kind of feedback on my blogs, whenever you get a chance. It will encourage me to keep doing better and help me on my journey. Thanks!

Regards,
@inspirationalrag

I will have a look. I do get rather excited by Christmas too. It really is a wonderful time of year! :0)

That ruby does look good... from the photo (as if I could tell!) I would have expected more of a flavour explosion. The pale one? Just sort of confirms my bias against pale beer at the best of times... very few exceptions. But that's a personal thing...

I think you are right though. Pale just seems to mean lacking quite often unless it has done kind of vibrancy or cloudiness.

The ruby was frustrating, it had almost everything. Just fell short of the something needed for greatness!

Don't do away with the beer posts. I for one really enjoy them. I think I'll try the 5am Saint beer. Looks good, froth holds and 7/10 isn't bad.

Yeah, it's definitely not bad. Might be one for having several of! I will keep em up :0D

Oh @meesterboom, looks like the wrong head took over on the Christmas beer. Tsk Tsk. lol

I know, the sobs could be heard streets away!

Hi ,
I've been out for a while.
I like the beer posts , but whiskey's are another possibility maybe. :xD
And thank you very much for every call the last months , Santa was early this year. :-)
Have a great weekend and end of the year!! :-))))

Hehe, whisky would be great but I would have to buy a bottle each week. It could end up being very expensive!!

Hope you have a fantastic end of year too!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53