Man Flu Matters

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I1262878-picsay.jpg

I woke up today to something awful. A bone-deep lethargy. Blocked sinuses. A headache like a giant was pounding on my head with a steel shod hammer.

Yes. I am talking about the dreaded

14961g67909-picsay_20170604203547032_20170605202248502.jpg

Some people dare say - Does Man Flu exist? Buffoons!

Science.gif

Look at the state of above? That is science. I am a fucking mess. What more evidence is needed?

Being the strong-minded sort I went to work. No phoning in sick for me. Oh no. I am the essence of Man. So I heaved myself in.

Granted the coughing, sneezing and occasional moans on the train drew a few dirty glances but I didn't mind. The peons have ever despised and envied greatness in equal turn.

14961g67909-picsay_20170604203547032_20170605205032948.jpg

Upon arriving at work I made sure that everyone knew of my condition so as they may protect themselves as best as they could. Yes, I am a generous soul.

I would like to say that in no time at all people were rushing to my aid. Offering warmed honeyed drinks perhaps with some cinnamon and Reiki- style foot rubs.

Alas no. Instead, the odd drab person wandered past my desk and looked at the mound of hankies surrounding me like a larger lady's wedding dress.

Check the state of you! You on the ran-dan last night?

14961g67909-picsay_20170604203547032_20170605210200139.jpg

The ran-dan indeed. Where was the sympathy?! Instead, all that was on offer was the occasional smack on the shoulder and jovial exclamation of

Man Flu! You've got it bad big yin*

*Big Yin (Big Man) is a faux-respectful term given to someone that you despise here in Scotland. By saying, Big Yin, you are implying respect when we all know You mean *yer a fanny

*yer a fanny - In Scottish means You are a vagina

At one point a work mate, came by with another acquaintance. I looked up, ah, was the sympathy cavalry arriving?

HA, check the state of Boom Dawg. What a shambles!

I grimaced and ignored them. After all, the bigger man here was the fellow who had made it in despite medical science believing it an impossibility that someone in my state was able.

14961g67909-picsay_20170604203547032_20170605210610056.jpg

Lunchtime came and went. I didn't eat. Instead, I lolled about in my chair like a puppet with half its strings cut. Murmuring under my breath and coughing. No one sent me home.

After not being sent home all day eventually it was time to leave.

I girded my loins and dragged myself whimpering piteously to the train. I found a seat next to an old man in a suit. After I had sneezed and loudly blown my nose for the fourteenth time he stood up and uttered.

14961g67909-picsay_20170604203547032_20170605211042593.jpg

Before stamping away to another part of the carriage. It was a good job for him that I wasn't at my physical best or I would have thrown him out of the window with a cheery shout of THERES YER DINNER

I opened the door to my house with a sigh, dropping my bag beside the door and staggering manfully to the couch in the lounge where I collapsed in a heap.

A vision appeared before me. A beauty, surely this was some kind of fevre dream kicking in?

She nudged me What's wrong with you? Was it me or did this beauteous vision sound a little... impatient?

I am pure ill baby, think I need to go to my bed

She gazed at me with those eyes. Those eyes that had made me fall in love over and over again. Those eyes that set me on fire every time. Such caring love and devotion in those eyes. Here I had found hope after a day of bastardry.

You're just rough from drinking three nights in a row. You obviously cannae handle it anymore. Now, get your arse in the kitchen and help with dinner.

I looked at her balefully thinking, What, who cannae handle it anymore? I'll show you

I hauled myself up and shot her my best martyr look and headed off to the kitchen.

Sort:  

Lol!

My partner and I both rotten colds at the same time. After a week of suffering, he said, "I feel like I'm dying." I responded, "I know. This cold is the absolute worst!"

He looked at me with utter surprise and asked, "You're sick too?"

Hahahahah, Ah that is genuinely the way we think. It's so wrong! But we cant help it!

lol .. so many fuck ...
is that what your martyr look looks like - that one on the pic?
get better chico!
edit: I mean .. get well soon
was in Dutch mode haha

It's a fine martyr look no!! I practiced it for ages ;0)

Man flu is real...and the ladies have NO sympathy. LOL
Hope you're feeling better, love. A couple shots of good whiskey might do the trick. ;)

Lol, I think that might finish me off lol! Cheers lass! :O)

Lol. This is pretty funny. Are you from Aberdeen?

Lol, eberdeen!! Naw!! Fae Glasgow :0)

I asked cos I lived in Aberdeen for 4 years and couldn't understand anyone for at least the first 6 months. Your colourful expressions reminded me of this funny time in my life.

Hehe, I struggle to understand the Aberdonians too. One of them asked me if I liked ingin pe once. I was like, what the fuck is that. It turned out to be an odd sort of onion pastie thing. Mad, the lot of them. :0)

You from the UK?

Lol. I don't recall that one.

No. Australia.

Lol, no worries mate!! Did I sound Australian? :0)

That's Aussie as!

Hehe, I know a couple! :O)

Funny as fuck meesterboom. Loved it! :)

Hehe, Cheers mate. :0D

Man flu is a serious illness.

You ain't kidding there, its seriously underestimated!!

Too funny! You had me almost feeling sorry for you up to a point.

Phew, as long as it was almost ;0)

Although i know this is serieus, the GIF made me laugh :D
Hope you get well soon!

Cheers mate!! I suspect it's nothing but oh how I felt sorry for myself today!! :0)

Brilliant story, as usual. Hope you feel better soon!

Well it hurts to admit it but perhaps it was over indulgence at the weekend ;0)

I hear ya on that one! I just posted about all the beers I was drinking this weekend in Prague. Today was a nice recovery day since we didn't have to work here ;-) Thank God Norway still has religious holidays even though few people are religious haha

Ah if only today had been one here, I think a sound day sleeping would have made me feel like a king!! Will check it your beery post :0)

Thank you good sir :) Rest well tonight

Cheers dude!! I will

Funny AF...worth reading :D

new disease???? hahaha...

Just an old, old one ;0)

hahaha...have a good day....

As always, you too mate!!

sure....see you in the next post....hahahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97