Let The Men Play

in #life5 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-898163894.jpg

Try not to look too happy about it?

Said the Good Lady with more than a little bit of the hump.

It was Easter Friday and I was off work, ergo I was grinning like a loon. My grin was exacerbated by something else though.

And that was the pleasure of watching the Good Lady get ready to go out to work for a change.

The Good Lady worked as a Doula these days. meaning she hung about at the burst fanny end of a birthing table whilst some poor woman strained and heaved a bowling ball of flesh out of their under-barker.

uff7ff7f_20190417145559068_20190419183336926.jpg

For me, that was not the most pleasant way to spend a few hours on a holiday weekend but The Good Lady seemed to enjoy that kind of gory horror.

Sorry lass, I can't help but be cheery when I am not working!

I said with glee.

Hmm, well. Enjoy your day. Have you thought about what you and the little boom are going to get up to?

uff7ff7f_20190417145559068_20190419183512414.jpg

I looked over at the little boom who was at that moment enthusiastically hammering a square peg in a round hole.

Yeah, got it all planned out.

The Good Lady looked pleasantly surprised.

Oh that's nice. Where?

She smiled, heaving her bag onto her shoulders.

We are going to the beer shop, the little man is going to help me choose some beer!

uff7ff7f_20190417145559068_20190419183705028.jpg

The Good Lady's eyes widened.

Oh wow. That is a great idea! That is so cool!

She enthused.

Oh man, cheers. I thought so!

Said I, chuffed that she liked my idea.

Yeah, it really is so cool that you are going to share your interests with him!

She chirruped.

Yeah, my thinking exactly!

I was pleased that for once we seemed to be on the same page.

The Good Lady's sunny disposition suddenly fled from her face and she scowled blackly at me.

I mean, there will be so much for him to do in a beer shop being only ONE AND A HALF YEARS OLD?!

She said in a near shout.

Ah, you are not that impressed then are you?

I said as a small part of my soul withered and died.

No, I am not impressed by that idea at all.

She finished faffing with her bag and huffed to the door.

Find a better Idea, Daddy-Bear. Pfft.

She stomped out.

I watched her go then turned to the little boom who by now was trying to reach up and hammer at our once expensive TV.

Don't worry little man, you will love it.

Sort:  

Is the beer shop open on Easter Friday? There are 3 days of the year when no shops are open in NZ - Good Friday, Easter Sunday and Xmas Day.

Aw wow, really!! The only days any shops are closed here these days is Christmas and New year, apart from that is open season!!

It was fairly quiet though!

On more than one occasion, I've watched shoppers run their carts into wine displays. After breaking 50 - 100 bottles of wine and leaving quite a mess to clean up, their reactions are the most interesting part.

One lady started crying so bad I almost had to hold her for a while just to calm her down. "Don't worry dear. You won't have to pay for it." Jeesh.

Another lady just grabbed her purse and ran for the door, never to be seen again.

It seems like a 1 and a half year old could do a lot of damage, but methinks adults are much worse. Cheers!!

Hahahaha! Oh man, I think the idea of tipping a wine display over would have me running I'm for the hills as well. Lol! He did little damage, it was all thankfully in my head. Either that or I was too fast! :0)

"She finished faffing with her bag and huffed to the door."

I think you should splurge and get the Good Lady a bag that is not so lightly faffed about.

Handbag-Seen-in-Ancient-Carvings.jpg

She would surely come to a deeper respect for the passing on of the manly noble art of beer.

I think you could be right. It's all in the bag!! She needs one with no faff! :0D

Actually, this is an important topic. "Faff" is the (transliterated) name of the wild yeast and other secret ingredients that the lamas in the monasteries of Tibet (and the Himalayan region of northern India where I used to live) make for brewing the rice or barley beer that Tibetans are famous for. Having misspent much of my youth in Tibetan "chang" shops, I would know :-)

So, she needs one with the "right" faff. (That's like the "right stuff")

Fair! That's fantastic, I always knew I had an affinity for that word and now I know why. Seriously though, what a fine way to misspend a youth! And yes, definitely the right faff!

Of course he will love it. Typical women interfering with lads things and she wouldn't understand. Little Boom needs some culture and the beer shop is perfect.

He did in fact, it was hard to concentrate on the choosing becausei didn't fancy paying for breakages in there! :0)

That is a beautiful description of the birthing process. It could also be a metaphor for everything that follows for the next 18 to 30 years.

You know, I think you could be right and I am only at the beginning of that 30 year sentence!

The Little Boom will love it for sure!
I admit that when I read the description of the work of your Good Lady I thought about an horror movie! Sure, I'm a woman and I know everything about a birth, but... argh, after that description I need a beer :P

I think we all need a beer after that description! I still can't believe that's what she does now. She must be mad!!!

Happy Easter! I see nothing wrong with a visit to the beer shop. I hope it was lovely.

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree, it was a fine expedition!

Nowadays, the cases are so colourful, little Boom will love it. The only hard part for papa bear will be to keep his wandering hands from toppling some of the shiny labels onto the floor.

He was quite entrance with two empty boxes that beer had been unpacked from, so I was largely ok!

The next post is about you tasting the beer that Little Boom chose (with no help or guidance from you) right XD

You have been blessed with deep psychic powers. Oh yes, it runs strong in you!

No psychic powers, just the ability to state the blatantly obvious to me and completely miss the blatantly obvious to everyone else XD

It's almost a superpower!!! :0D

You have been blessed with
Deep psychic powers. Oh yes,
It runs strong in you!

                 - meesterboom


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

And is there a funny easter story coming up?

It just went live there!! :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14