Home Work

in #life6 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-86377270.jpg

When I woke up today the snow was still falling and everything outside the house was quiet and blanketed in white. Across the street a mad fanny was arsing around with his car as if in any world he would actually be taking it somewhere.

I trotted downstairs and logged into work remotely. Looked like today was a working from home day.

15sh_20_20180116162915511_20180117172821151.jpg

The good lady came down shortly after me with our majestic brood in tow.

It's grim outside isn't it? I don't think I will be able to get the little lady to nursery today.

Definitely not my dear and I shall have to work from home by the looks of it. I shall take my stuff up to the attic so as to be able to work in peace. If you need me you know where I am.

I cheerily lifted my laptop.

Do you not want to work down here?

The good lady asked, slightly suspiciously, as if the attic were a hotbed of masturbation.

I looked at our gaggle of children and ruefully shook my head.

Fraid not chick, I have to do some real work. I can't be distracted!

She looked at me with patent distrust. I ran into the kitchen and grabbed some biscuits and headed off into the mancave my attic workspace.

15sh_20_20180116162915511_20180117173235492.jpg

Upstairs, I opened the work laptop again and started reading a document.

Wait? I hadn't had my morning coffee?! Off I trotted downstairs and started brewing one. The little lady looked at me quizzically.

Daddy, you're meant to be working?

Yes, yes lass, I know.

I quickly made the coffee and ran back upstairs to escape the haranguing from the little lady about not being at my desk.

In the corner of the attic, which I also use as my guitar room, my Jackson guitar glinted seductively at me. I should move it. I really should. It was putting me off my stride.

15sh_201_20180117173745398.jpg

I went over and picked it up, cor, it was a lovely instrument. Perhaps I should play a little tune. Make sure it was ok?

Daddy! You should be working!

Huh?! Goodness me, I had been playing my guitar and not even noticed the minutes passing. The little lady stood at the top of the stairs with her arms folded.

Of course, you are right lass. I was just moving this old thing.

The little lady laughed and ran away back downstairs.

Now, where was I? Oh yes, work! Right. I went over to the laptop and looked at the document I had open. The first paragraph had seven buzzword/phrases in it and it was only two sentences long. Oh lord.

I set about working with attempted gusto. After a while the window rattled. I got up to investigate what the weather was throwing at us now.

15sh_201_20180117180004859.jpg

It was just more snow and some wind. I gazed at the snow for a few minutes...

Daddy, why are you staring out the window? Get back to work!

I made a labrador eating tofu face and shoo'ed her away downstairs. Cheeky young lass. I was only looking out the window for a minute.

An hour or so passed. I had actually managed to do some work. I thought I would pop downstairs and make myself another coffee. When I entered the living room, the little lady looked up from her playing.

Daddy, get back to work.

Yes yes, very good.

I made my coffee whilst she followed me about reminding me I was meant to be working. I was relieved to escape back upstairs.

A video conference was starting because hardly anyone had made it into work. I joined in.

Straight away the nonsense talk started of blue skies and deep dives. I did my best to look interested and not stare out of the window.

Ten minutes in, I was replying to some nonsense question that had been asked

Daddy! I just did a poo!!

Several of the talking heads on my laptop screen sniggered. I apologised and paused my broadcast.

Right you.

I took the little lady downstairs and gave her strict instructions not to interrupt my working.

The good lady smiled mischievously.

If the weather is bad are you going to work from home tomorrow?

I rolled my eyes in the direction of my sweet whip cracking boss of a daughter and muttered quietly.

Are you kidding? Give me El Jefe anytime.

Sort:  

I got no dog and no little lady or little sir, and I have been working at home for 17 years with no problems. But, to tell the truth, my work rarely need to be synchronized with others. Very few meetings.

I only have a good lady, that is also working from home, and we try to not interrupt each other too much.

That is quite good that both of you are working from home. I am normally much more focused. The snow always brings out the excited child in me!

Very funny. Working from home can be convenient but equally stressful especially when the dog barks at an inopportune time!

That could be awkward, one of my cats sent a nonsense IM once by walking all over the keyboard when I went to the toilet

Hilarious, wouldn't you have loved to see the expression on the face at the other end of your communication?

I had the same kind of day of course the only thing actually in common is that it was snowing all day! But my p r o c r a s t i n a t i o n level was sky high! I mean it's winter, so I'm not working in my out-of-doors office, but I do have in-doors work occasionally - and easy stuff really...reply to this, forward that, etc. Oooooh, it was painful - everytime I sat at the computer I was all...check price of steem, see if boomster posted yet, oh shit it's cold in here, go push up the thermostat, lunchtime, naptime, tea time, check on steem, gab on the phone, stretch my knees a bit, figure out what to make for dinner....finally I did my work -haha! it only took like 20 minutes!

anyhoo, your daughter is such a pip - love her! I hope you got to work from home again today ;0)

Hehe, she is quite the character!!

I am exactly the same. It's my fault, in all like a maddie with shiny things. Hopping from one to another. My work that had to be done was so easy too. I could have done it in a flash and skived a bit lol

The good lady asked, slightly suspiciously, as if the attic were a hotbed of masturbation.

That may have been the funniest thing I've ever read in my life!

Hehe, yeah, she might be right!

When I started to work from home (after 15 years in a office), I thought it was impossible! The minutes (the hours) flyed away between a cup of coffee and a phone calling to my daughter or my mom. I could work better in the night, but it was (I was) crazy! After 4 years now I'm more "diligent" :D

I suppose you eventually get used to it! Ah well, in 4 years time I will be laughing :O)

" gaggle of children." "a labrador eating tofu face," you always make me laugh

Now get back to work!

Very good post @meesterboom, I like it, thanks,
@racoo

I've finished!! Hehe! :0)

Owww, more snow. Nonono, I don't need to work.
Oh guitar, how interesting! I should go and make a coffee! loool

I'm pure focused me ;0)

Wow
Little lady
Never guessed you meant a baby

The little lady is almost 5, the little boom is a baby :0)

The joys of working from home. My sons have the same problem with kinder underfoot. My problem is entirely different. I have animals that interrupt me. Ever try writing with a Great Dane trying to crawl into your lap, or a cat trying to type along with you? Not to mention noisy busybodies looking over your shoulder. I'll take the poo any day! lol

I've had the cat problem. Trying to type and one of them decides to come up and Lee on the keyboard or stick their bum in the way of the screen!

I’ve mentioned before, I’m retired, so this is my life every day, only substitute grandkids for kids.

Lol not that bad really! :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67599.37
ETH 3782.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49