Hardfork Animations And The Story Behind Them

in #life7 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-100369692.jpg

Having been on steemit for over a year now I have seen many a hardfork. It was roundabouts hardfork 18 that I started to do animations.

Hardfork 18 was the one which changed the payout period from 24 hours to 7 days and at the time caused much wailing and nashing of teeth. There were many self combusting rage quits.

1502720_20170820200943388_20170821191534494.jpg

An unexpected consequence of this for most users was the resetting of the rewards pool. We then had to wait almost a month before payouts started returning to normal.

Users left in droves at the time, low payouts and a low steem price made them flee. Others went on strike.

It was about this time that I started turning my attention to the next hardfork. Hardfork 19. I wanted to do an animation to make light of the dread that people were experiencing for the next one.

I decided to make hardfork 19 a character. Given the reaction against the last fork I knew he had to be a villain. But what kind?

1502720_20170820200943388_20170821191804544.jpg

It was the term consensus that nailed it for me. In order for a hardfork to be implemented a certain number of witnesses had to be in consensus for it to be done. The term reminded me of the Daleks from Dr Who. I decided to make my animated character a clumsy, murderous, box-like robot who's catchphrase was consensus. His name was HF-19.

My first attempt was this one.

Hardfork+19.gif

I had a whale of a time doing it. Laser eyes!! It was my longest and best one yet. Everyone seemed to like it too.

There was a long wait till hardfork 19 and news came out that the rewards curve was to be flattened into a more linear progression.

It gave me an idea for my murderous buddy. After all he was good at flattening things.

Linear+Reward+Curve.gif

Ouch, that was a sore one!

Eventually the reward pool started to fill up. Steemians became happier. There was no news on the arrival of the hardfork. Some people were nervous. Again I tapped into this and decided to bring him out HF-19 for another jaunt.

The+Reward+Pool+updated.gif

This one took a lot of work and to top it off I decided on a cheeky wink from our villain. I also got to include skulls, always a favourite!

There is always the worry that people will take offense and sure enough I was accused of spreading FUD with that one. Fortunately enough people saw the funny side for me to carry on.

The thought of spreading FUD made me chuckle. I have only ever done these things to raise a laugh not for people to genuinely think I was a terror-monger.

So with the hardfork date announced and my tongue firmly in cheek. I made the last one for HF-19.

Noisy.gif

Aw, isn't he a sweetheart! Flowers for the little girl.

HF-19 is still one of my favourites. So it wasn't quite the end of him and he might appear in future too.

So you had best sleep with one eye open because...

Equality.gif

Sort:  

Yay, you did it! I not only hope to see more of your murderous bot buddy, but definitely want to see more of your animation compilations :) (Of course I am patting myself on the back for a suggestion well made LOL)
I'll be resteeming this one, but I want to make sure it's at a good prime time for it :)

It was a fantastic suggestion!! thank you very much!! I would never have really thought of it myself! A couple of other folk offered to do it for me in chat but I knew I could put a bit of a story behind it :O)

Yer a star!

Thumbs up! We would love to see more of this kind of post. Thanks for sharing @meesterboom
Damn I love the name! It's like my Mr. Bean =D

Thank you, I am kinda fond of the name too ;0)

you did a lot of fabby anime on HF 19!
your fave?
I guess all the HF are supposed to do us good
except for you know = peeps always find a way to abuse the system
I actually like and miss the HF 18 .. could we just have both?
How about a combi of the HF 18 and 19? We can have it all can't we?

We can always have it all!! I look back sometimes with nostalgia about the olden times!!

He was my favourite. Good old killer robot!

Yes you are a cartooning historian and an ancient Steemer who has lived through all of the wars ,forks, rage quits and the like.

I haven't seen one announced quitter who has actually really left although I'm sure that there are some!

You are right there. Despite quitting the increase in the steem price seemed to bring em all back claiming they had just been sooo busy!! Hehe!!

As you know, I love your animation and see them all together here is fantastic!!! :D

Aw cheers Mrs S!! I thought I would group them and tell the story behind HF-19!!

When you get around to making your first animated show, know that I will buy every piece of merch... Any arguments about selling me all of your merch will result in flattening until consensus is reached.

I shall do whatever I can to avoid a consensual flattening!!! Lol. Cheers man!

They all look so amazing!
I have been laughing the whole time while reading your post!
Great to see them all together!

Cheers mate!! I thought it nice to put them together in a theme!! It made me chuckle too seeing the old ones!

I can see you sitting there, chuckling and chuckling some more while you made this post and then again when you started to reply.
Do you do this for a living? I mean making animations?

Heck no. I wish I did. These are just a little hobby I started. I have always been into digital photo stuff and tried it a bit back in the day but wasn't very good at it. It does make me chuckle, it's the reason I do it :0)

Maybe one day it will become a job! When spotted by the right person you never know! I think doing what makes your chuckle and laugh is the best thing one can ever do. I follow my heart with my art and poetry. I like to take digital photos as well but I am far from a pro. Most of the time I just click away!

Just clicking away can work a treat though!

I would be over the moon to do stuff like that for real. Who knows, maybe one day. I think I am getting better which is always a good thing,!

Oh man! I'm just so happy I was able to witness his birth right until the very end. HF19 will always hold a dear place in my heart. Heck, we even went on a few comment adventures (commentventures?) just because of him! It was a good send off for him, and I can't await until he pops up for a cameo or two in the future. I feel like I'm his weird uncle who likes every comment he puts Facebook haha! He's just too relevant, he's the villain that we all need. Great to have a look back on his brief life. You did a good job raising him, dude! :D

Hehe, Cheers man!!

He has a fond place in my heart too. He was perfect for puncturing the fear on the platform at the time. I used to live streaming up new scenarios for him to spread his murderous love around!!

I am sure he will be back ;0)

When they create a retrospective video of the things that are lost from Steemit, it would be a crime if HF19 isn't featured there!! The other HFs won't ever replace that lovable murder bot!

You might be right. In fact I can't agree more!!

So... from this point on, you'll only agree less? :/

Oh, wait. Oh noes, I have confounded myself!

Yes... Yeeesssss... That was the plan ;)

But wait. If there is I've things I have learned through this sorry trek I call life is that when I am confounded is when I become most terrible!

WERE ALL GONNA DIE!!! Oh wait... it all worked out fine in the end, move along, nothing to see here. lol

Exactly, after all the panic no-one got deaded!!! :0D

Lol, those are funny :) I blame my self for not getting on steemit or finding out about it earlier :) You guys are like war veterans with all those stories and hard forks sounding like epic battles :) Nice artworks that lets me take a glimpse to the past and you have been through in a funny way :)

Glad to have detailed some of the past shenanigans for ya :0)

You are like of a librarian of some sort in this case :)

Post is very good @meesterboom .. I am inspired by your post and you biss membust an animation that is very unusual and new this time I see animation like this .. Good job.

Thank you very much, I enjoy making these a lot!

Goid man intresting artical and really hellfull for me as a Bigineer 😊 thank u so much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94