Giddy Up!

in #life6 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-1131365114.jpg

Today it was my turn to take the little lady to Nursery. I don't often do this because I am normally at work or some such tosh. We had packed up all the gear. A surprising amount. Although I really shouldn't be surprised anymore at how much stuff you have to lug everywhere when you are a parent. It looked like we were setting out on an expedition.

We walked up the small hill on the way there, the little lady singing and skipping in the early morning Sun. It was a lovely morning, a sure sign that Spring was coming and I felt a stir in my cockles at the thought of Summer being just around the corner.

As we walked along, a Mummy of another child that the little lady knew at Nursery fell into step beside us. I knew her face vaguely. It was quite long and snouty, a bit like a womble.

maxresdefault.jpg

Ooohh Madame! IS this your Daddy!! Oh my, we haven't seen him before, have we?

She sounded a bit like a horse would if it spoke.

Perhaps I was being a little sensitive as it was so damn early but was she dissing me for not doing the nursery run? I curled my top lip up in a slightly sneering hello. I fancied I looked like a more handsome Elvis when he did that thing with his top lip.

Yes, that's me. I am normally working so don't get to do this too often but hey, we're having fun little Miss aren't we?

Yes daddy, yes!

Squealed the little lady in the affirmative.

I narrowed my eyes at Mrs Horse-Womble. There, that should show her that this Daddy is actually, in fact, Daddy Cool.

Oh, of course. I knew you worked. I bet you work hard. Why if I still had a husband, I would be delighted if he worked as hard as you!

She beamed at me as if she fancied eating chips out ma knickers. A quaint Glasgow phrase implying unrequited love.

potagb_20180128203221093_20180129193653865_20180129194856232.jpg

Ahem, yes. Splendid.

I urrfed as I l cleared my throat. I tried to hurry the Little Lady up but she was by now playing chases with the other girl, who fortunately had skipped the horse-womble gene by the looks of it.

I tried to make polite conversation around such safe subjects as the weather or the reliability of the trains. Regardless of what I said, on any subject. Mrs, or should I say Miss Horse-Womble managed to reply in such a way as to bring the subject round to her not having a man.

It was all quite bloody awkward and I was relieved by the time we got to Nursery. I helped get the little lady ready. Then it was goodbye kisses and hugs. I turned to leave.

Miss Horse-Womble was leaving at exactly the same moment too. I held the door open for her, the way I would for anyone. Even my Father in law or a Welshman.

Oh goodness, how gallawnt!

She cried.

She said gallant in the same way posh people say Garage. People in Glasgow say Garage like GAH-RIDGE. Which makes us sound like guttural ape-men.

potagb_20180128203221093_20180129193653865_20180129195452395.jpg

No problem milady.

Said I for some inexplicable reason.

She shook her mane and flared her nostrils baring all her teeth at me.

I was just going to grab a coffee round the corner if you werent rushing off?

She said, quite casually.

Two things popped into my head in unison.

The first was a vision of me cinching her saddle tight before leaping across her back and galloping around the paddock letting out a joyous whoop.

The other was an image of the good lady holding those big iron forcep things that they use to castrate bulls, veins popping out on her neck as she squeezed them shut on my precious happy sacks with a cackle.

I snapped back to the present.

Oh sorry, I have to run some errands this morning.

I lied with a smile and a regretful roll of the eyes.

Then I ran away as fast as my legs could carry me.

Sort:  

I love the part where you say, "Then I ran away as fast as my legs could carry me." Lol. A disguise for yourself might still be in order.

Hehe, can you imagine with a big fake beard and hat!

"It was quite long and snouty, a bit like a womble", this description is simply fantastic! ^_^
You have to know that when my daughter was a little one and I worked in the office, usually I took her to the nursery before to go to work (my ffice was close to the nursery) and my mother (housewife) get her back at home in the afternoon. Sometimes, when I was free to work, I I get her back from nursery and a mother said me "Are you the mom? I've always thought thet your mom was the mom of the little one because I've always see her at this hour!". My reply was " You have to say that I have a job, I don't spend all my time to clean my house watching telenovelas!" . I was 23 years old. Sometimes I was not able to have patience :P

I can totally understand the lack of patience. I am the same and was when she acted like I never dropped her off. it felt like a criticism!! Hehe although it looked more like an icebreaker at the end.

It was very long and snouty! :OD

Just in case the physical description of her horsey-ness didn't sink in..."she shook her mane and flared her nostrils"!!...hahaha, yes indeed-y, quite the equine!

And what of her talk-y chitchat...sort of blaming you (or all men?) for her not having one?

As you ran off in the end, I imagined seeing a wee gallop in your gate! lol

She did seem quite blame'y, as if she should have one and we were at fault because she didnt. She also seemd quite almost territorial. It was weird. I think she had little sense of perspective. Or was just really full of herself. Actually, yeah, just full of herself!

And such a horseyness!! lol! I did gallop off!

It felt like I just watched an episode of animal sex on the Discovery Channel lol.

"And here's the horse-womble, in her natural habitat, circling around the alpha male. Her teeth-flaring and nostril blaring indicating that she is ready to mate.... "

Hahaha, yeah, now that you mention it!!

Whew! Dodged a bullet there.

I appreciate your optimism that summer is right around the corner. Sure doesn't feel like it but I'll take your word for it.

It doesnt feel like it in the slightest but yeah, I am eternally optimistic! :O)

Then I ran away as fast as my legs could carry me.

Thank god, because that sounded like a trap if ever I heard one. I mean - what could possibly go wrong?

Some mares need to be put out to pasture.

Thats an everything wrong scenario! lol

They do, they really do. Its weird but in my forties I have noticed a lot more of the flirty flirty than in any other decade of my life and I swear its not my deranged imaginings!

Flirty flirty forties for a married man is a temptation trap straight from the devil himself. Either that or those pheromones are on overdrive again.

"Mrs. Horse-Womble" ... and "precious happy sacks" .... lmao!

So precious! ;0)

Feck Mrs. Ed and her horsey ways! LOL

HAhahah, now next time I see her I will hear that voice!!

It is a relief that you did not accompany her to drink coffee. I think that she is in love with you. Upvoted!

Lol, live might be taking it a bit far :0)

I call that "Social evasive behavior towards mothers who have it on their hips" Danger avoided, well done! Run Forest, Run!!!

Hahaha, I will never stop!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94