Everybody and Their Dog

in #life5 years ago (edited)

IMG-PHOTO-ART-1660895811_20200101213054802.jpg

I flipped open my laptop with a once handsome hand and gazed at the webpage displayed within.

Steemit.

Day 1 of the new year and it was straight back to the grind.

My hangover from the new year celebrations pulsed softly in the background and it was with a reluctant sigh that I pulled up my feed and started my daily browse.

The usual shite posted by poor people flowed by my eyes.

Bad crypto articles and shilly steem posts interspersed with shitty photos of trees and food.

Not just any old food either but potatoes, there seemed to be an obsession with potatoes. I bloody hated potatoes.

I swallowed back the gorge that rose in the back of my throat.

Then a diamond in the rough flashed by.

I stopped and scrolled back.

Asher.

Always worth a look.

I opened it up and peered inside. It was a fascinating stats post of the kind I liked.

I let out a sigh of relief and settled down in my chair. Until I saw something which made my sphincter attempt to grow ladybird wings and fly out of my pants.

What the holy fuck? Is this for real? Surely fucking not!?

I read and re-read the lines in his post that had made my Back Charlie flutter.

Frankly. It was horrifying.

The quote almost literally went something like...

Everyone and their fucking dog is heading for hitting 50K steempower...

I mean what the fuck? I had 50K steempower and was considered by many to be one of the elite.

But how could I remain elite if every fucking man and his dog was going to join the 50K club!?

Fuck that. It looked like it was time to pull back my secret steempower from the freedom account and start downvoting all dese bitches who would be kings.

Nobody ever wanted a middle class anyway.

Sort:  

Have a very Happy New Year Meester...once you get over your present disenchantment, and hangover...

Seems you have no fear of me hitting 50K anytime soon, so I should remain in your good graces for awhile yet (Me hopes) That is, unless one of you Steem rich bastards bestows a blessing upon my wallet, or perhaps a few rich bastards in concert with each other dishing out a piece of their pie!?!?!? :>)

Happy new year dudester!!!

Ah yes, I shall speak with my rich friends and make sure you are one of the first to be punished rewarded!

Don't worry, my shite posts and measly 22,000 steem
Is no threat to your magnificence Boom. 😊

Phew, a man feels somewhat better!! ;0)

Haha! I got no reserves either...So yeah...Safe as houses you are...Unless those houses are on the south coast of New South Wales...Then them houses are probably going to burn.

Oh man, I hope you are clear of all that madness? I saw some horrible stuff online yesterday about the fires

I'm all good...Safe (as houses)...My sister lives in Sydney and her partner's parents are on the south coast of NSW...Their car is packed and they are waiting...If the fire jumps the river they will leave. It will take them 2 minutes to get into their car so they should be ok.

It's been pretty bad here for sure.

That's good to know. Also good they are ready and waiting just in case. It looks grim

Grim indeed.

That is why I always liked you Boom, I always figured you were Freedom!

Sadly at the rate its going, 50 bucks will soon get you 50k :(

I know, it might even buy more than that. Dammit!

Screenshot_20200102_192137.png

Here have some ammo ;D

why do I feel like it could be Steem Power Up or Die

If it's any consolation I'm nowhere near 50k sp XD

Hehe, of, I do like your translation of SPUD! I think it is probably how a lot feel.

And yes, what a relief. I was worried I might end up a peon!!

There is something to be said for living a life of abject Steem poverty, begging for food in the trash cans of upvotes and replies, the nails on the chalkboard screech of drivel posts drowning out the sounds of my stomach feeding on my other organs to provide nutrients to continue my pitiful existence.
At least it is comfortable. Protected from the retribution of the benevolent overlords by my banal journey of life.

Be wary, small stomach self consumer, they are watching even now and they stir looking for fresh minions to plough!!

Lol, that stomach line cracked me up :0)

Ever on the alert, as a pauper's human organs are as valuable as a king's to a man in need of a transplant, but can be purchased for much less.

My bargaining soul smells a deal to be made, I will buy it!! Whatever it is, it's mine!!

Hahaha! FREEEEEDOM!

This is what all chaps up north named Hamish shout?

Heh heh, that's where it comes from, when we get our blue face paint and swords out for a weekend party!!!

Good to know you have plenty of STEEMs ready to drop some fat votes around this year though :D :D

It's gonna be vote city!!!

I wish!

Your video embed isn't permitted to be viewed on my side of the pond. Fucking redcoat bullshit...

Fucking YouTube!! It's Aisha by Death in Vegas. I thought it sounded quite like Asher when he sings it!

Hahah!! Smashing, I have updated my link to that one!

I wasn't sure the link I could see would work in turn over yonder. Excellent!

Worked a treat. Now I only have to wonder, seeing that it worked start it didn't show up in my search!!

HAHAHAHAHA!! Love your cynicism turned positive while keeping it's prided sarcasm. Nice post! :D

Hehe, cheers man. I like a bit of satirical cynicism at times to keep it real ;0)

Ahh, but it is good news, isn't it? The positivity, seen throughout the posts on STEEM, being my reference. :) How, very, refreshing your post though. It was a needed contrast and yet, allowed for the same goals as the other posts... smooth operator. I'll be keeping my girlfriend away from you. Hahaha!

Lol. A wise move :0D

I think all is looking well for 2020!!!

Nah....10k is where its at.
Theres more of us, we will take you 50k-ers on any time.

10K is the new 50k!

'my secret steempower from the freedom account and start downvoting all dese bitches who would be kings.'

Kill em Boomy Braveheart, kill em all (or at least make em sweat). ;-)

They're all getting it!!! Lol.

I'm such a softie that I would probably just upvote em all instead!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80