Eager Zero #2

in #life6 years ago

IMG-PHOTOsjy.jpg

I was having my breakfast coffee in the kitchen in the small hours of the morning. It had been a number of days since I had heard of the mysterious Eager Zero. My investigations had led nowhere and it was time for me to take stock.

The good lady entered, yawning like a lumbering creature of the deep.

Dsfyn_20sw_20180501180659848_20180502170829011.jpg

Morning.

I ventured tentatively.

She shot me a look that could pickle cucumbers.

Thankfully my cucumber was safely ensconced in my boxers. Inwardly, I sighed for this tawdry and awful future I had found myself in.

I forced a smile at my erstwhile love. Surely, there had to be something of the frivolous filly I used to playfully club with my turkey twizzler left inside there? I thought to ask her advice.

I am on a case baby.

You're a headcase? Ha!

She barked, giving herself a pat on the back with a blackened claw.

Dsfyn_20sw_20180501180659848_20180502171146212.jpg

No, I am on a real case. Trying to track something or someone that is called Eager Zero. No one is talking. I would give my left leg for some loose lips and I don't mean like an old Russian Ballet Dancer's.

The good lady looked long and hard at me. For a moment I had a glimpse of the lass I had left behind in another timeline.

Why don't you ask the universe?

Dsfyn_20sw_20180501180659848_20180502171651871.jpg

She cackled bitterly at some private joke.

I downed my coffee in a one go and picked up my fedora.

See you later babycakes. Save me some of that sweet potato pie for later.

I got up and walked into the hall.

What potato pie? I haven't made a potato pie?!

She yelled from behind me.

I paused at the door, and looked over my shoulder.

I meant your damned vagina and no, that is not a euphemism!

I slammed the door behind me. It was time to take to the streets.

Dsfyn_20180429181746592_20180429181944098_20180430202012770_20180430202906367_20180502172047708.jpg

On the train to work I had time to contemplate this bizarre future I had found myself in.

The good lady had said Why don't you ask the universe? I had assumed she was just being a gnarly old boot but what if she wasn't? What if the universe was talking through her?

The tannoy announced the train's arrival at my stop. I flushed the toilet, wrinkling my nose slightly at my own freshly mined Hershey's Gold.

On exiting the station a young man with a shaven head stepped in front of me brandishing a magazine.

Dsfyn_20180429181746592_20180429181944098_20180430202012770_20180430202906367_20180502172450885.jpg

NME for Free?

He grinned.

I stopped dead.

An Enemy? Why would I want another Enemy?

Erm... It's free?

He said, his manic grin dropping slightly.

A free enemy? What the blazing fuckpots? Are you mad?

You don't have to take it?

He looked aggrieved now.

I pushed up close to him.

Damn right I don't kid. I ain't taking any of your shit. Now get out of my way.

I shoved him. Hard. He stumbled backward yelling about a madman. I looked about but I couldn't see one.

Dsfyn_20dk.jpg

I decided to grab a coffee from the cafe beside my work. There was quite the queue. I cursed this future time I found myself in. There were never any queues in the past.

I was standing behind a couple of guys dressed like tramps. It didn't take much detectivity to deduce they had to be DBA's, no one else would dress in such a way. I almost dismissed them before noticing their name tags. They worked in my place.

I felt a frisson of excitement as if riding a horse and getting warm testicles. This had to be a sign from the Universe? I mean, what were the chances of bumping into some employees from the same firm as me in the cafe outside work just before nine?

Dsfyn_20dk_20180502173249407.jpg

I stepped closer to them so I could overhear their conversation.

... the crypt? They must have the key surely?...

Tramp DBA 1 looked around furtively and noticed I was standing within mere inches of his poorly clothed bottom. He shot me a glance that had secrets and lies all over it. He edged forward in the queue.

I pretended to look at my phone till they looked away.

Mad perv man, did you see? He was practically up ma arse?

I opened up a mail and fired it off to myself.

...Someone called Mad Pervman, practically up Mars?...

I hit send. It looked like there was some code or cypher being used; I would have a go at it later. The two Tramp DBA's carried on, ignoring me now.

So if we Eager Zero it, it will help but I don't know if it will take us back to where we were?

Hot flaming shit! There it was, a lead. I inched closer.

Tramp DBA 2 whipped round, our faces so close I could smell his wife.

Here you? What are you up to? Beat it!

He snarled.

Tramp DBA 1 scrunched his face up like a drowned person's foot and took a menacing step toward me.

Dsfyn_20dk_20180502173943436.jpg

I assessed my chances. I had faced tougher odds but my mamma always taught me that the pragmatist is the shagmatist.

I pulled a hand from my coat pocket and threw a bundle of change onto the floor at their feet.

Scramble...

Dsfyn_20dk_20180502175010327.jpg

At the unmistakable clink of coins hitting the floor there was bedlam, everyone in the cafe jostling and fighting to get the copper and silver treasure, including the trampish DBAs.

I picked my way over the seething bodies, wrestling and tearing at each other and picked up a random coffee from the counter.

It looked like some things in the future were not so different from the past.

I stepped toward the exit whistling a jaunty tune. So they want to go back to the past and somehow Eager Zero was part of that?

Well, well, well. I had a couple of leads and a coffee.

The future was looking brighter...

Sort:  

Unfortunately, I recognize the good lady's mood ;-/

This episode strikes me as Mad Pervman in dire need of more caffeine...or maybe less?!!

It's always more. There is no such thing as long less!!! ;0D

So, I got a little bit into it. The past is the same as the future, yes, only if we do same things the result will be same...
There is always deeper meaning in what you write, if that is not the case, than there is no meaning in the writing...That's why, I'm trying to read between lines, also...in what you write.

So, the result is the same, if we don't change what we do,...And if is possible to travel through time, it can be near past or more distant past, like described in "Back to the Future". Distant past means, travelling from life to life and that is reincarnation...?

Ahhh, I like it! Yes, you are unlocking this one! He has travelled o the near future, but has he. Or is this simply the life he is livng but further on. Ah, all will be revealed! :OD

Step by step, I will get it, actually it sounds like now days life but it also sounds like life he is looking at from future in the past...The intelligence will come, when it will be mostly needed...

You will get it no bother, I hope indeed that the ending is not a disappointment!

wELL, I also hope so,...If it is full of optimism and positive things, that would be cool, if it is negative like "Avengers Infinity War", ok I will accept but positive is always more suitable for me...

I am a positive chap! ;O)

Man besides humour, tell me from where you get these pics :D

I makes them with clipart!

they are tender, innit?

They sure are guvnor!! :0D

I loves them xD

Cheers, I think they add a bit of pizazz! :0)

Thankfully my cucumber was safely ensconced in my boxers.

Why...

I meant your damned vagina and no, that is not a euphemism!

Oh, Why...

I felt a frisson of excitement as if riding a horse and getting warm testicles.

OH, MY GOD, WHY...

You always see the best in me :OD

great dear friend, Eager Zero is in research, it will soon be revealed its meaning, great to use the old method to make way for the crowd, the vile money always works.
Another great reading dear friend @meesterboom
I wish you a beautiful afternoon

It's soooo very true, vile money captures the hearts and minds!! :0)

Hmmmm perhaps has he found a way home? Maybe he can get back to his real "Sweet Potato Pie". BTW, I've never heard that used this way and I'm totally dropping it tonight. Here's hoping I don't get slapped. LOL. Let's be honest, if you are close enough to smell his wife then you can be sure to miss nothing.

I love to use normal expressions differently ;O)

Perhaps he will find a way back to his sweet potato pie! lol

What the blazing fuckpots? Hee hee, I am so stealing that one! Actually, that would make a great name for a boom serial!

You got this mad...er mulder!

Mad Mulder... lolz!!

It's not bad eh, I might be using it myself more often! Spread the fuckpots!

:OD

I will never eat another Hershey's Bar again .... lol! Well done! :D

Yeah, they might seem a little... hershey'er! :O)

I was drinking coffee while reading this and spilled some when I read the cucumber part 😂

Very entertaining.
And love the thumbnails! You have a very distinctive and colorful look.

Why thank you! I do try for my own style :0D

Well, mission accomplished! 😁

Hehe, excellent!! Now I shall quit!! ;0)

Please don’t 😉

Huy honey, when the good lady looks at you like that
You have serious problems!

I pushed him. Difficult. He stumbled backwards screaming about a madman. I looked around, but I could not see any.
Quien será ese loco?

Lol, ¡Yo era el loco!

All will be fixed in the future!! ;O)

Me lo imagine que eras el loco ;)

Con amor todo se arregla.

Lolo!!! Es verdad!! :OD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82