Danger! Danger!

in #life7 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART--1860630633_20170917193733471.jpg

I wrestled with the shopping in one hand and the little lady in the other. Mummy bear was at home rolling about like a gigantic pregnant beach ball. My little lady was reluctant to leave the amazement of the roof car park we were on and pulled behind me like an ornery mule.

Eventually, I managed to get both the shopping and the little lady in the car. Rather grumpily I strapped myself in the front and put the car in reverse. Because it had been oddly hot I had left the window down a little bit for some air. The sun had well disappeared and a chill wind had sprung up. I wound the window up and looked in the rear-view mirror.

151su_20170908172613975_20170909195714258_20170911194855121_20170912175601750_20170914182308481_20170915170248465_20170917201445608.jpg

Squatting on the rear-view mirror was a big fat, evil monster. Striped yellow and black it glared at me balefully.

The breath hitched in my throat. I realised the bizarre high keening noise I could hear was myself and I was not producing the manful yell I thought I was.

Daddy, Daddy! Whats wrong?

Shouted my daughter from the safety of the back.

Aaarrgh, AARGGH. ITS OK DARLIN. ITS JUST A WASP!!

151su_20170908172613975_20170909195714258_20170911194855121_20170912175601750_20170914182308481_20170915170248465_20170917201724649.jpg

Then the worst thing happened. The vile little waspy bastard lazily took flight. I know, it was only a wasp. Wasps are tiny , we are massive etc. However, I have always had a little bit of a thing about them. And here I was, trapped in a metal box with one buzzing inches from my beautiful FACE!

My foot slipped from the clutch. The car gave a buck like a startled bronco and stalled. Somehow in the midst of the screaming chaos I managed to get the door open and my seatbelt off and hurl myself from the car.

I leapt up and turned back to the metal box of nightmares that my car had become.

No wasp. I looked around to see if anyone had saw the drama. What was I thinking, of course they had. About twenty amused shoppers were pointing and giggling at the grown man who had just thrown himself from his car shouting Wasp! Wasp!

I cleared my throat a few times and spat on the ground as manfully as I could and attempted to swagger back to the door that I had so recently, screamingly clawed my way out of.

151su_20170908172613975_20170909195714258_20170911194855121_20170912175601750_20170914182308481_20170915170248465_20170917202220044.jpg

Everything alright lass?

Yes daddy, it flew out of the window.

You sure?

Quite sure. I saw it. It flew right out of the window.

I got in tentatively, checking all the little corners for wasp menace. Nothing. I was safe. I breathed in a couple of times to calm myself a tad before setting off for home. It was only a five-minute drive away. I made sure all the windows were wound up full. We arrived home and my little lass ran into the house before me.

Mummy, mummy! Daddy saw a wasp and screamed like a girl!!!

I trailed in and eyed the pair of them malevolently.

Did you Daddy?

Laughed my good lady.

Hmmph. I'm away out to the garage to hit things with a hammer.

Sort:  

Just when I thought I already loved you as much as I possibly could...

This is how my wife describes me when I am scared. I am not even kidding. I got scared by a dog behind a fence once and fell flat on my back in the snow.

I am giggling like mad, ah yes. That is exactly like me. Both Flander's and falling over with fear. I was an utter state when I fell out the car!!! Glad I ain't alone!!

i read this offline the other day and I wanted to laugh out loud too chico
they're very much like bees :P
calm and just doing their thing, too
but for some reasons we're too scared of them
well.. we shouldn't be unless you're in Ausie or the Amazon :D

Yeah or those massive Japanese ones. They give me the fear. I really do panic with wasps, everything else I am utterly fine with but those little villains... Yikes!!

Ahah :) Well found

ha ha ha You have the funniest things happen to you! I don't think any amount of hammer hitting would make your little forget the screams!

It made me feel all manly again, by the fine I came back in I was back to normal hehe :0)

I saw that action on my BTS wallet, thanks! Instead of a 35%, have a 50%. Thanks, man. Much appreciated.

Wayhay! Thanks mate! I have been reading the stuff with interest and when I saw it I thought, hells bells these are legit questions! Hope you get somewhere with it all!

Loool man you just reminded me of a Michael Mcintyre stand up comedy sketch, about the three different types of people dealing with bees and wasps..Crazy funny!

Can you relate your "danger-danger" type? :D

Hahaha, that's me! The third way!!! Today I was exactly that!!!

Love this! I think I am all three. I start off as a stand stiller, then turn into a wafter if the wasp is still hanging around. And if I see that it's persistent, then I panic! I think it's all about assessing the situation and acting accordingly :)

LOL, this sounds so much like me! I have an absolute phobia about bees ... and spiders ... and being disabled I can no longer outrun them like I used to (my whole life) - so I have to un-paralize myself and move gingerly from the area (bees), or wipe arachnoid guts off my shoe. Shuddering even writing about that! Argh!

YEah, its just not that funny at all. Yeek, I feel for you a tthe moving gingerly away!

I am just abut recovered one full day later lol

Funny!

I once had one of those nasties fly in the window of the car and go up my shorts and sting me near the yarbles! I still had to control the car on the motorway. That was one painful drive!

Oh my flip, I genuinely think that is my worst nightmare. I would have flipped the car!

Ahah, what happened if it was a hornet ? :)

I would have screamed myself sick ;0)

I am the catcher of things in my household. The man lays head covered under the duvet.

Hahaha, I dont doubt it!

With bees, I am a "back slowly and cautiously away" person. With wasps, I am a "back away quickly and with more than a hint of panic" person. With spiders, I used to be a "scream and run" but am ok with some of them now. Though the ones that you can hear go pitter-patter still elicit "a scream and drop something on them", or a shriek for @sift666.

One time, we were driving on the motorway and I felt something tickle my neck, I put up my hand and felt something large and prickly. I flung it from me onto the car floor shrieking "Weta! stop the car, stop the car" @sift666 reasonably answered, "we're on the motorway, I can't stop" which did not reassure me one iota. He stopped as soon as he could, and myself and the back seat passenger were on the verge within seconds, leaving him to find it and deal to it, while we continued to panic.

That would terrify me! I am pretty much ok if I see any type of creepy crawly. And if there is a bit of distance. Wasps however just throw me into mad panic mode. Its silly but the high pitched squeals and screams!

I dont like the idea of a spider big enough for you to hear the pitter patter, yikes!

I suppose it is POSSIBLE that my over active imagination came into play and it wasn't really pitter pattering. But we do get some rather large spiders in our downstairs area sometimes. Last time I saw one I dropped a waste paper basket over it till @sift666 got home. But the basket didn't have the space underneath it that I thought it had. So there was no rescue mission later on, and i had been sweating for hours in case it escaped, all for no reason.

Oh my word, that really gives me the heebers. I am feeling antsy just thinking about it. The other day I caught one that was about two inches across in total and I was terrified!

haha. I was in a room with three grown men and another woman who was scared of a spider. Guess who had to pick it up because everyone else was afraid? It was tiny!

You should have chased the men with it!! :OD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00