Chopper & Flying Pigs Beers

in #life7 years ago

1504802337-picsay.jpg

Saturday night. What was it that old twit Elton John sang? It's alright for fighting or some such tosh? Well no fights here, just good old fashioned beer!!

So what do we have? A Spanish and a Scottish one, ooo, which country will win? I can promise a completely impartial tasting.

Which one first? I shall toss a coin. Heads the Spanish and tails the Scottish!

20170909_195448.gif

Heads wins. I love the internet!

151su_20170908172613975_20170909195650414.jpg

20170909_195038.jpg

A craft Indian Pale ale from the Barcelona beer company. 6% of beery goodness from my second favourite country and third favourite city. Hmm, exciting. It's a big frothy pourer. As you can see.

20170909_195914.jpg

Cloudy gold, a little bitter and beery in a good way. There are a lot of hops in the aftertaste. Quite pleasant. Although I would think it would be one of those drink in the sun kind of beers. As I am currently in the bitter depths of Scotland it doesn't quite work. Still, a good try 6/10

Moving on! What can a stout chopper do for me?

151su_20170908172613975_20170909195714258.jpg

20170909_195023.jpg

From the 6° North brewery in Scotland. A brewery which strives to replicate the very best of Belgian brewing techniques in their beer. This 7% strong stout claims to be silky black magic.

20170909_200951.jpg

Good grief!! It's like drinking smoke from a coal fire! Savoury meaty smoke. It's very roasted something. If that sounds disapproving it isn't, it's a fullsome stout and no mistake. This is what stout must have tasted like in the first world war.

I finish it, it grows on me as the glass goes on. In the end I decide I quite like it, there is a treacle'y taste to it which is most appealing. 7/10

20170909_201241.jpg

Well there you have it. I have had pigs and choppers and am still alive to tell the tale. It is dark here now, perhaps I should patrol the streets. There could be maidens to save!

Have a good weekend everyone!!

Sort:  

If pigs can fly lol nice fat beer glasses :)

Cheers dude!

hmmm.. keep the gym ;)
your tummy !!!
every Sat! hahah
reminds me of someone though ;)
tweet ~~~

Lol!! I am gonna kepp it, but go to a cheaper one instead!!! :O)

Thank you for posting @meesterboom.

Lovely libation review and photographs.

Certainly a contrast in taste and appearance. Have to appreciate contrasts as it makes it all that much easier to make a decision......does it not? ^_^

Wishing you and yours all the best. Cheers.

Oh yes indeed. Contrasts make life and the enjoyment we get from it!

Thank you for reading @bleujay as ever your comments are highly appreciated.

All the very best to you :0)

My money was on the Scottish brew from the start, only to find out it was an IPA vs a Stout. That's not much of a fair fight, in my opinion. For me, the Stout would win 9 times out of 10, even in the summer sun. Obviously, I'm quite biased about that. ;)

Haha, you know I have to agree with you! I couldnt find two good stouts to go head to head with one another :O)

I actually was more looking forward to the mexicake one I had the other week which I bought as well. Its flipping magic!

Maiden saving is best preformed after two drinks. You are wise, as Ron Burgundy says, "like a miniature Buddha"

Phew, I always like to have my maiden saving done at the optimal time :0D

I love this post, I wait all week to see the update of the beers, always waiting for you to surprise us, again you have presented a novelty for me, I have never seen these beers, in my case I also had the stout, great work dear friend @meesterboom
I wish you a beautiful weekend

Thank you @jlufer! It is one of my favourite posts to make. I hope you have a great weekend too!

Indeed pigs can fly , but there lousy air cyclists , don't you agree ?
If the beers were not awsome, then I would go for maiden saving too.
Hope you had a great saturday evening/night ! :-))

It wasa good one, I hope yours was too!

Maiden saving can be a thirsty business!

Thank you , it was !
Any explanation for drinking beer is OK ! :-))

I think so too!! It's a fine occupation!

This is a face of satisfaction

It is!! It's my Saturday face!

Hahaha great

Do pink pigs fly? Today I feel like a light beer, so the pigs have it. Tomorrow, who knows?

They certainly seem to fly! I quite fancied it myself. I have a soft spot for spanish beers but in this case I think a plain old Estrella might have beaten it.

Tomorrow is another day!

Went to one of the local watering holes with a friend to have an afternoon beer. The place is run by an American. I couldn't believe it! He served our beer with ice!! Ruined a perfectly good beer!

Oh man oh man, I have never had that and never would want to even imagine such a thing?! Thats terrible!! I would rather have a warm beer!

Man, that six north stuff :)) I'll try if i find one, thx!

I am quite a fan of their beers, defo worth picking up if you see one!

I am not a great lover of most stouts, but I did find a few I liked, and it seems that this one is one of those one's that I could love!!
Nice beer post!!

Thanks mate! It is one that would go down well! I used to not be a fan but I think that was because of too many cheap horrible ones in my youth!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67138.06
ETH 3678.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73