Confession: I'm an addict for over 3 months now

in #life6 years ago

Ever got an addiction? The craving, the infatuation, the constant attention that steals your time, effort and money?

Yes, I've got one, and it’s always on my mind, this new addiction. Initially I thought it would go off, but after I passed the 90 days mark, I started to doubt my own will power. I was quick to notice it, so I started taking note of the time lapsed. I figured I could fight it. But as the days grew more, I knew I was losing the battle.

I’ve overcome many temptations, challenges and obstacles in the past, so I know my own strength. I was initially confident.

And yet, I find myself succumbing to this new addiction.

It’s on my mind the moment I wake up, even before I reach for my phone to check the time. Yes, I would wake up before the alarm clock rings. That’s scary. Sometimes, I even dreamed about it.

And I would think of it before I sleep, often one of my last thoughts. No matter how tired I was throughout the day - meetings, tasks, chores, deadlines, submissions - it popped into my mind, sometimes even just for a split second. But that's enough to kickstart the addiction, and derail me from what I was supposed to do. That’s how the temptations sneaked in most of the time. And it usually went downhill from there.

I cut off communication channels, distant myself from those involved, hoping that I had lesser distractions to deal with. I used apps to monitor my focus, I recalled my meditation lessons from the past, I listened to white noise and music, praying one of it would help me.

Today marks Day #104, but sad to say, I’m still struggling with the addiction. If anything, I've only gotten worse.

And don’t say that I didn’t reach out to friends for help. I did. Some ignored me, which hurt initially, but it’s good. Good because I've spared them from the addiction. You see, others who didn't ignore me eventually found out that they were addicted too, and credited me for their change of behaviour. It’s like a virus, spreading. Some would be repel by it, others would be swayed.

I lost track of how much time I’ve spent on it. Worst, those friends who found similar addiction? We started grouping up. Initially we thought we could support ourselves, but as the impulse grew stronger, we realised we just got deeper into the addiction, justifying to ourselves that we were doing good.

And the triggers, oh the triggers. They are so many of them. News, social media feeds, WhatsApp group chats. It didn't help at all. As a matter of fact, it made the addiction worst. Every corner I look, every turn I make, every flick of my thumb across my FB timeline, it's there to remind me of my moments of weakness.

Honestly. Can I survive this?

Days of Addition: #104

Progress: Still addicted.

My addition? Steemit. :)


Wait, why's Mav posting on Steemit nowadays?

Well, unlike other blogging and social media platform, Steemit is the only platform that allows me to earn cryptocurrency when I engage with it. Yup, one Steem is about USD7, and you, too, can earn Steem Dollars every time you:

  • Create content (articles, blog posts, podcasts, videos, photos)
  • Upvote (like) other people contents
  • Comment on other people's posts
  • Have discussions, share opinions etc!

Yup, basically it's the very same thing you're doing on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc all along!

The only difference? For once you can earn a nice income on the side!

Sign up for a free Steemit account, and you can thank me by coming back and upvoting this article. And guess what, you will earn Steem too for doing that! #awesome

follow_maverickfoo.gif

Sort:  

This is truly one of the best articles I have read on steemit. Addiction it is. The crazy part is we are still unknown to most of the population on earth. When this goes viral it will become Even more interesting. When we have 1 billion people posting on here daily it will become very difficult to obtain steem. That is why it is so important that you post and post frequently now while you’re an early adopter. It is highly advised that any friends and family that you get to join, that they quickly produce are introduce yourself post. That post usually Earns them some STEEM!
Steem On steem nation!

We share the enthusiasm here too in Malaysia. With the various initiatives we're doing and launching, powered by Steemit, the love is gonna spread far, wide and deep (in our pockets).

Have a nice weekend.

Welcome to Steemit-Anonymous and yes, I´m addicted too!^^

No judgement there, buddy! Have a nice weekend!

Well, that's the first step! ;)
Steem on!

yes buddy thats exactly the first step. welcome to steemit bro steem on.

Love it. Terrible addiction. At least you've taken the first step. You've admitted you have a problem. Now, just keep feeding that addiction until you never have to work again. Then get over it. ;)

Now @kwade-tweeling, that's a pretty good prescription for the addiction don't u think? :D

Convenient truth maybe?

@kwade-tweeling, you're making it sound like a good problem, which sad to admit, IT IS!

Have a great weekend!

It sounds to me like your not up to take the 12 step program for addiction recovery.

Barely could get to Step 1 :)

Nicely written bro... got me hook till the end. this addiction seems be persistent over with me... literally few days being active in Steemit!

Haha, as long as we're aware of how we are spending our time, it's probably a healthy addiction. Have a nice weekend!

Well i am addicted too

Wonderful and Amazing post ever!!!!
I like it and follow you for hoping you post more thing like this !!!!
keep it up~~~~~~

hahaha yea it is really an amazing piece. i love and i will follow his work.

Well i am addicted too. Feel uneasy without going into steemit a day. Why cause my data is finished and i have to top up or go out to wifi areas.

Aiya, a few post already have enough to top up, hehe.

Aiya, a few post already have enough to top up, hehe.

I'm addicted to you steemit... I admit it. You like a drug in my blood.

if i dont log on to steemit in a day is like am going or loosing. i must admit it am also an addict to steemit.

Hahaha it is REALLY an addiction, except that this can produce some money being addicted to it, that's what my husband says! :)

what??? 😳 ! I mean yeah you can, Up to some extent but health is more than money. And most importantly the Rise is not Immortal. Everyone must try something different time by time.

Justification? Haha.

But yes, you can make money on it. Not often in life can you make money engaging on a social platform like this. Happy times, good addiction!

hehe.... won't be needing help to break this addiction cos i don't want to helped.....just love this present addiction of mine.... steemit addiction...lol loving it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61449.43
ETH 3372.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51