THE WIFE ( @kotturinn ) HAS RETURNED. What She Brought Back To Me From Crimea In Order To Avoid A Divorce.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

619A5445.jpg

Some of you knew, some of you didn't. But the old lady, @kotturinn, has been out of the country visiting her family and friends throughout Crimea, Russia (previously of Ukraine, but no longer!). If you follow her, you'd have seen a bit of her travels. If you don't follow her, you might enjoy changing that.

Anyways, being the terrible and cruel husband that I am, I forced her to bring me many items back from her travels otherwise I would divorce her. So out of fear, she obliged.

LET'S REVIEW THE ITEMS!

ITEM #1: LOTS OF MY FAVORITE CRIMEAN WINE!

619A5435.jpg

Inkerman's most baller red wine, Cabernet Kachinskoe. My select drink when visiting Crimea. If you ever visit Crimea, grab some of this and you will get in tune with some of my tastes (which are, by the way, A+).

ITEM #2: WEIRD LIQUOR.

619A5433.jpg

This is Balsam "Krasnaya Polyana," from Sochi, Russia which comes in a super heavy clay jar. It's a really strong herbal liqueur, reminiscent of a Jagermeister that isn't fashioned "for pussies," or for people who cannot channel the spirit of liquor itself. It's also composed of around 32 medicinal herbs. Being currently sick as hell at the moment, I'm using it as an excuse to drink it profusely. I am currently drunk.

So not technically from baby girl herself, it shall suffice. Her uncle Sergey and his wife, Valentina, dropped this in her luggage for me. I love those folks, they're some serious family people that makes me wish that I had people like that in my immediate family. They're always on point when it comes to sending cool liquor, which is practically a ritual there when visiting/departing. GOTTA GET AND GIVE SOME GOOD LIQUOR OR ELSE YOU'RE EXCOMMUNICATED FROM THE FAMILY.

ITEM #3: COFFEE CANDY FROM THE PRESIDENT OF UKRAINE.

619A5436.jpg

Ann ( @kotturinn ) claims that this coffee candy that I like was gifted to me from the president of Ukraine himself. Side Note: He owns Roshen. These are strange toffee encased coffee flavored candy things. They're good. I like 'em. I eat 'em. You should too if you ever get the chance.

ITEM #4: A BUNCH OF CIGARETTES.

619A5441.jpg

Alright, I don't smoke and I think it's a really fucking bad habit that no one should take up unless they're keen on dying earlier that they most likely would have, smelling like shit, being gross, etc. But sometimes, when you're in/involved super deep with Russian folks, you're gonna get gifted liquor and smokes. It's just the way of the road, the way she goes and will probably always go. They like their vices, but who is the master of those vices set the men apart from the boys. E.g. who can responsibly indulge VS who gets eaten alive. It's like an evolutionary toy to them. If you ever want to find some truly intelligent human beasts that have risen above, look no further than Russian culture.

Side note: These were also from Sergey and Valentina.

ITEM #5: PINE TREE CLIPPINGS AND A CONE ENCASED IN HONEY?

619A5443.jpg

Some Russian pine tree clippings with a pine cone encased in honey? Yep, that's what you're looking at. I think that they added some green food coloring to make people more impulsively be like "Woah, look at this shit, it is SO pined out! We're gonna buy it!" Tastes like honey! Guess it's honey. Cool!

ITEM #6: JAM MADE FROM . . . ROSE PETALS?

619A5444.jpg

Straight up rose petal jam. Jam that is made out of rose petals. Tastes like roses. Smells like roses. Strangely "good." Dunno what I'd eat it on, but it's cool. I might just wind up being weird and taking little scoops out of it from time to time and eating it by itself. Any of you guys know wtf to put rose jam on?!

ITEM #7: POMEGRANATE SYRUP FROM AZERBAIJAN.

619A5448.jpg

Now this is a serious jewel. Some pomegranate syrup from Azerbaijan. Imagine straining a ton of pomegranates and boiling it down into a delicious syrup. That is this and it rules. I keep dipping my finger into it (secretively) and eating it like a complete caveman. I dunno what to put this on, but it's good. I'll probably just continue being a weirdo and eating it solo in small doses, in hiding of course because I don't want to be called out for being a freak.

ITEM(S) #8: AFTERSHAVE THAT YOU CAN'T BUY IN THE USA, SOAP, SOME DELICIOUS SPICES, BLUEBERRY CHOCOLATE BAR, RUSSIAN SUNFLOWER SEEDS, SOME FAUX-MEXICAN SUNFLOWER SEEDS?, AND FLINT BRAND GRENKI (CRACKERS).

619A5445.jpg

ITEM #9: SOME NEW ZEALAND CHOCOLATE.

619A5447.jpg

This one was sent back by Ann's friend from Crimea, who now lives in New Zealand, who just so happened to be visiting Crimea at the same time as Ann. Haven't tried this yet, but it sounds kinda interesting. White chocolate with apple and vanilla? Sure, why not!

So that's about it. THE END. Wife is back to the homestead. I'm no longer AS stir-crazy. No divorce took place. Life resumes!

If you haven't already, do the entire Steem(it) platform a huge deserved favor and vote @agoric.systems (my elite collective) as your witness! If you need help doing this, please inquire in the comments below, I read them all and will reply accordingly. I live to serve/help!

Overrrr and out!

--- @MATT-A / @agoric.systems

Sort:  

Nice box of goodies :)

I would personally just try the jam out on a piece of toast first to gauge where to put it. Rose is tricky one lol

Good Wifey right there !

I'm happy I completed the task and escaped divorce, shew!!!!

Russian smokes and wine would win me over as well :)! I'm glad to find this post, followed you and anticipate seeing your future travels!

You came close . . .

Lol

Next time, I could send you all of those staff from CA, just for keeping your family together ;)

You guys have inkerman wines over there?

We don't have Inkerman, but we still have Massandra, semki, rose petal jam, roshen candies and Riga's balsam

Yeah have those things over here as well!

Hemm sister. Hihihi

Hey!

MATT-A you are the lucky husband that you have caring wife like kotturinn. All the gifts are unique and beautiful... Specially the New Zealand white Chocolate and WEIRD liquor from Sergery and Valentina (Kotturinn uncle and aunt) are the fantastic gifts...I want to know Ann??
Oh! warm Welcome to kotturinn on her Detroit arrival ... Now we will read more from kotturinn...Because she will be easy at her home to write for us daily...

nazirkhyber_01.JPG

Cool gifts. Especially wine. Crimean wines are very good.

Crimean wine is the BEST! Well, I haven't tried Belarussian wines. How are they?

I like the look of that jar of honey. Does the pine flavor carry over into the honey.

I'm not sure yet. I'm only tasted like a drop of it. I was curious about that myself. I think the green is due to someone cheating and mixing honey with some food coloring, sadly. Here soon I'll take a scoop out and try it though. I'm crossing my fingers for some pine flavored honey!

phew!!! I was startled by the heading :]

what a very intriguing mish mash of ... well basically anything and everything :]!

never heard of any of these before ( apart from the cigs) - but very interested in the rose petal Jam!!!.... that's a 10/10 wife right there!

Funny, my wife and I just hit up the local Ukrainian store in Nashville yesterday for some of her (and mine....shhh) favorite candy. Not quite the same as visiting there though. I also can't say I'm fully behind pickled tomatoes though... Enjoy, man!

What are you talking about?! Pickled tomatoes are delicious :)

@alovelymess will definitely agree with you, haha!

They have a ton of interesting candy, that's for sure. My favorite is this stuff called gazorovka, I think that's how you spell it anyways. It's a hard candy with fizzy stuff in the middle. It's good!

Pickled tomatoes?! I think I've seen those haha. They definitely have some interesting canned stuff . . . which I'm not into for the most part.

I looked that up, and I have not had those yet. I'll have to look for those next time. Leshchina (possibly wrong spelling) is among my favorites at the moment, it's chocolate covered hazelnut goodness. Halva is also delicious!

I tried one for the first time last night and i'm still having PTSD from the texture. I haven't had a lot of the canned goods, but i'm not too fond of what I've had. Salo is pretty good however.

A good haul all around! I am digging that honey though.

I like the Rose Jam a lot! My Mother makes it :)
You can use it same way as you would use traditional jam but I find it that it tastes great with croissants and donuts.

So weird to think about eating rose jam haha. I think I might try slathering some onto a croissant though, sounds . . . interestinggg. Thanks for the suggestion!

I know!!
My son can not stand the taste of it...
I like it and my husband as well but he won't touch it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65200.45
ETH 3535.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45