What is a Turban? Why do I Wear it as a Sikh?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Turbans are worn all around the world in different shapes, colors and faiths. Turban is a long thin piece of cloth (muslin cotton or silk) which is wrapped around the upper part of the head.  

Image Source


History of the turban: Origin of the turban is uncertain. While studying history of mathematics, I learned that the turban was part of the dress in Egyptian civilization. Persians also worn turban (a long cone shaped cap wrapped around by the cloth). 

Image Source


Prophet Mohammed used to wear turban and it became very popular in Muslim Community. Turban is very popular in Hindu Community too specially on the time of special occasions such as marriage ceremonies or festivals. 


I belong to Sikh Community and I found out long ago why we have to wear the turban. As a Sikh I learned at very young age that the hairs are the gift of GOD and I should not trim them. I was told that and I believed it till I was 20 and even grew my beard.  

Image Source


Then I stopped to trust this saying and started to trim my beard. I thought why do I believe what is told to me. Couple years passed by then I found that I was losing my spirituality; I was losing that connection to the source that I used to have before.  


Then I researched more about the hairs and I found that in ancient India “Rishies” used to keep the hairs and long uncut beard and made a knot called “Rishi Knot” of head hairs on the top of their head. By the way “A Rishi” means a person who can control the flow of energy in the body and the hair knot and long beard are very helpful to channel energy into the right direction. 

Image Source


We have nine visual and open gates to the body but the tenth one is locked & hidden. The tenth gate to the body is on the top of our head (also known as the crown chakra).  Hairs act as antennae and can be used to make the “Rishi Knot” on the top of the head or solar centre. Men have only one solar centre on top of the head near the front. Women have two solar centres; first one is at the centre of the crown chakra and the second one is at the back top of the head.  The long hairs help to channel the energy in the direction of spiritually focused thoughts.


That’s why the turban became mandatory for Sikhs since the inception of the religion in 15th century.  Once I learned that, I started to grow my beard again. My thoughts started to change again a little while later and became more spiritually focused. 


The need of turban is all about protecting your “Rishi Knot” and hair from Sun and other extreme weather conditions. It also act as the dress code and a symbol of discipline, respect and dignity. 


I (and all Sikhs) wear turban outdoors as well as indoors. Indoors such as staying home I have a small turban which is more comfortable. 


Video Source

It takes about 5 minutes for me to tie it up and small one just 30 to 40 seconds.   Below are the different types and colors of the turbans worn by Sikhs all around the world.

Image Source


Please let me know if you enjoyed my presentation and if it made you more informed about the turban.


God Bless

Manjit

Sort:  

Very interesting cultural insights. Thank you.

Thank you for this wonderful post! My husband is a Sikh man also, but he doesn't wear a turban. Again, a very nice and informative post, thank you for sharing:)

Thank you @cryptoblonde for taking the time to read the post and leaving your thoughts. Yes many Sikhs don't wear turban these days, it doesn't mandatory if the person is not baptized Sikh.

Very interesting piece on culture, history and spirituality. Upvoted and resteemed, my dear @mathworksheets.

Thank you very much for the great support and appreciation my dear friend @photo-trail.

It is nice to have this intersting explanation here on Steemit!

Thanks a lot my dear brother. By your advice I think outside the mathematics which I could share. "@mathworksheets blog, we're more than just math."

It would interest your readers to learn of your life in India. How was it as a kid there? It sounds like you grew up in a rural area. These are exotic things to many of us! I'm also still waiting for the garden roof top or did I miss it?

On your math posts could you add an index with links to the other math posts? If you do it once then you can just copy the HTML code and copy and paste updating where necessary.

It's great to see you enjoying the community and building on your success!

I don't know my dear brother. You can call it vibrations or what, I am preparing my post for my childhood, I have found couple of photos just an hour ago. I am working on a post which will have all the links to my math pages sorted out on grade levels and had the ides to keep it updating and leave that link at the bottom of each post. Wow, your comment leave me in tears. God Bless You Big Brother!!

You are getting the hang of how things can work and that's great.

It's basically a fun, interactive, imagination stimulating way of building a small business. Very cool and I love seeing you blossom here because you've got so much to give! Bravo @mathworksheets bravo!

Thanks a lot dear brother, for your encouragements and advice.

Thank you so much for writing this post! I probably would have gone my entire life without knowing this if you hadn't, and it's really interesting. Followed for more great content :)

Dear @mtgmisfit, thank you for reading the post and writing your generous feedback. I really appreciate your support :)

Is there a female equivalent to the rishi knot?

Yes as I wrote in the article, women have two solar centres; one right above the crown Chakra and one on the back top of the head, so at the top if the head like men or at the top back of the head like a "donut bun"; so nature gave choice to women!

If you are interested in learning more about the benefits for women keeping long hair, please visit the following page;
https://www.3ho.org/3ho-lifestyle/women/radiant-health-and-beauty/hair-care-yoginis

Thank you! I have very long hair, so this is really interesting.

You are always welcome @mtgmisfit. Thanks for your kind remarks. Steem on :)

Good post! I followed you please follow me 🔙
Your post upvoted and resteemited

Very informative post @mathworksheets paji..

Thank you for sharing

Thanks for stopping by my brother, really appreciate your support :)

Nice post Paji!!
and thanks for yesterday tips

You are always welcome my dear. Keep up the good work, love your silver trading videos (do some slv or gld couple times a year).

couple times a year or day???

3 or 4 trades in a year. I am an accountant can't do day trade. LOL.

Thanks for this enlightening post. I had often wondered about the significance of the turban and thanks to you now I know.

Great job my friend

Thank you very much my friend, for your kinds words and encouragement!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.028
BTC 60580.16
ETH 2342.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47