You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Her Bali Blog #5 - Pollution

in #life6 years ago

I remember my first time in Indonesia going out for a surf and being shocked because I thought that there were jellyfish surrounding me. Naturally I was worried about getting stung but upon a closer look I realized the gentle movement that so closely resembled jellyfish were actually plastic bags floating in the water.

I was instantly saddened by this experience because all around me was such breathtaking scenery and to see these plastic monsters floating by instantly took a bit of that beauty away.

In the moment I had to remind myself that not to long ago everything was wrapped in banana leaves or some other organic material so once someone was done with their take away they would simply throw the wrapping on the ground. No harm there. This habit has persisted today and unfortuantly there has been a shift to take away being put into plastic and foam containers so now the result of this habit is the pollution that you speak of.

Luckily a local like you is taking the time to make people aware of this issue! We need to keep educating the citizens of the world so that this problem will eventually disappear. It is going to take a lot of time and hard work but as a human race I believe we can do this. Good on you for getting out there and spreading the good word :)

I will be back in Bali in a week here and can't wait to see what has or hasn't changed since my last time. Do you know if there is a steemit community on Bali? I would love to meetup with other Steemians when I am there :)

Cheers!

Sort:  

Hey, I totally agree with what you say, being in the water in the beautiful scenery and swimming in plastic bags is just disgusting... I am not sure about the Steemit community here yet, I basically just started my blog a week ago. But probably you will find one hehe :-) Thanks for your support and let's make the world a cleaner place together!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59462.07
ETH 3306.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43