Oh, The Carnage!!! Oh, The Sadness!!!

in #life6 years ago

I am filled with sadness today. You spend months dedicating yourself to tending to little lives only for them to be ripped from the Earth by evil forces.

A Raccoon got in the corn patch!!!!

Oh, the horror!

Eaten baby corn everywhere!

IMG_6342.JPG

Corn stalks bent and destroyed by little raccoon hands

IMG_6338.JPG

I first started my container corn back in May. By the beginning of August I was hoping to harvest some fresh Ruby Red corn. I've babied it and tended to it closely. I checked and ensured each corn silk got pollinated. I've never grown corn before and I was so excited to see each stage of growth. And now, it's all over for my first batch of corn.

I'm so angry!

Beautiful red colored sweet corn gone and all that hard work wasted

IMG_6331.JPG

I randomly woke up last night at 4:00 AM. I got up to go to the bathroom and by chance checked out our security cameras. I have one pointed at our duck coop. I was shocked to see both a possum and a raccoon trying to get into the duck coop on the security monitor. I went outside with a light and scared them off. I was up for a while, paranoid about my ducks. The raccoon must have come back after I went to bed and got into my container garden.

Only bright side...I salvaged one.

IMG_6327.JPG

The raccoon tried to get at this one but for some reason gave up. It was unwrapped from the husk enough that I feared bugs getting it. I picked it. It was a small corn and could have used more time growing but since it couldn't be left to grow it was big enough for eating.

The corn is suppose to be red colored. I'm not sure if it starts yellow with a tinge of red and turns more red as it grows. This one was mainly yellow with dots of red. The red color is pretty cool. I wish I could see a fully grown corn to see how they turn out color-wise.

I boiled it

IMG_6332.JPG

Cut it off the cob and mixed it with butter

IMG_6334.JPG

My husband and I got two mouthfuls of freshly picked corn each. My goodness it was delicious!!! I've never had corn cooked right after being picked. It was sweet and perfect. It had a crispness as you bit into it and then your mouth flooded with sweet corn and butter flavor. It was what I dreamed about all summer.

Thankfully, I staggered my seeds. I have a few more corn stalks that just now sprouted pollen and silk meaning I may get another chance at a harvest of Ruby Red. My husband planted Silver Queen corn in a different part of the yard. Hopefully, we'll get a good harvest of that. But that's my husband's project. We have separate gardens. Ruby Red corn was mine. Shame a raccoon had to get it's greedy paws on corn I worked so hard on.


Banner marx.jpg

Sort:  

It is the problem of plantations. There is always an animal or insect that threatens to destroy all the work done. You will have to take more precautions to avoid the same thing happening to the next harvest.

Very true. This was in a container garden on a fenced in porch. I figured the fence would deter animals. Guess I need two fences!

Two fences or a shotgun and aim. hehehe

My, that ear of corn you rescued sure looked good!

It was amazing. You can't get better than freshly picked.

Ohhh no! I am sorry the raccoon eat your corn! At least you guys tasted it! ;)

I know! At least we got a little taste. And it was an awesome taste.

I know! At least we
Got a little taste. And it
Was an awesome taste.

                 - marxrab


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Congratulations @marxrab! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Ohhh that must be so frustrating those little varmints can be such a pain

Obviously it's very disappointing for you. After what you stand for it looks so devastated and you can only enjoy a little of your hard work.

Sorry about the corn... When I saw your title, I thought maybe something got the ducks! You need a big dog that doesn't mind sleeping outside :-)

Oh those little buggers are ingenious too. Their lil hands are almost human like and can work magic to get in place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68288.30
ETH 2649.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69