A Very Breaded Prank Gift

in #life5 years ago

Every Christmas my family plays a game with funny gifts commonly called the "white elephant Christmas" game. Basically, everyone brings a gift and we put them in a pile. We each draw a number and take turns picking gifts to unwrap. If you like someone else's gift you can steal theirs and then they have to pick a new present.

I put a lot of effort into picking my gift each year. Some years I pick something really really good that I know people will fight over and some years I pick a prank gift. Last year I got a fake can of Possum stew which was pretty funny to everyone. This year was prank time again. We had a $15 spending limit so I knew what I was going to pick would be small and simple.

I spent time trying to pick the perfect funny gift and found inspiration when I discovered a special scented candle. The candle was warm buttered bread scented. Now, honestly, I really liked this candle. It smelled delicious. It was $12 with shipping and then I realized our store sold big old loaves of bread for $1. I got 3 to hit my $15 limit.

IMG_0285 2.JPG

IMG_0284 2.JPG

In my head I had a vision. I wrapped each loaf of bread and the candle separately. I then put a note saying "open #1," "open #2," and "open #3" on each wrapped bread and "open #4" on the candle so each item would be opened in a certain order. I then put all the items in a big box and wrapped it. Lots of work for a lot of bread. I envisioned someone picking my nice big box from the pile wrapped up all pretty and opening it to unwrap the random gift of loaves of bread and then lastly a bread scented candle.....okay to me this was hilarious.

IMG_0286 2.JPG

My brother ended up picking my gift from the pile so the gratification of him unwrapping all that bread was really funny for me. He unwrapped #1 bread and then #2 and the look on his face as he knew #3 was going to be bread was great. Then he had the square box last that he unwrapped thinking it was something good only for it to be a bread scented candle. (laughs evilly)

I enjoyed the process of picking a funny gift for white elephant Christmas games. We had a horrible pair of Scooby Doo slippers that kept getting re-gifted in the game for like 7 years until it was officially retired. It was always funny seeing it pop up year after year and who would get it. Since the bread was perishable I know it will be used. I wouldn't mind the candle popping up again next year. I'd take it back. It smelled so amazing. Very much like baked bread.

all photos and content are my own
Banner marx.jpg

Sort:  

We talked about doing that this year but never go around to it, maybe next year we will it’s a fun game

Taking this opportunity to wish you a Happy New Year and all the best for 2019

We do a similar White Elephant each year at our weekly Bible study group... Lots of fun!

😄😇😄

@creatr

That-sd kind of cruel, really! I made bread in the dorm once, as an undergrad. I had one of those bread machines that were so popular in the early 2000's. I could hear people's comments ("Wow, I'm hungry now.") coming through the open door.

Great story, love the bread, bread, bread, candle present!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88