You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Today

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Finding tenants is a different matter altogether here. Repairs would be mostly taken care of a management company hired by the housing corporation owning the buildings whose owners are, in most cases, the people who live in the building(s).

When my wife and I lived in Tampere, we lived in an apartment whose owners we were through owning shares of a housing corporation. All our neighbours owned their homes the same way. We owned and controlled the corporation together. When we moved to Lahti, we tried to sell our home but the market was moribund in the summer of 2014. Next summer, we decided to rent it out. We hired a company to find a tenant. They also offered a guarantee of the rent for the first twelve months which was a big reason for hiring that agency.

That's how it's typically done here. You can, of course, try and find a tenant yourself, but the agencies have the benefit of knowing the market and a lot of the prospective tenants. You're likely to have fewer negative surprises by using them.

Sort:  

Owning sharing of a housing corporation sounds like a good idea. But I imagine you won't have much say in decisions as it's a group of people who also have opinions about matters relating to the apartments.
Personally I like to be as hands on as possible especially since I'm just starting out. I also think I can learn a lot and save on hiring someone to do stuff . If I was really busy though I would consider hiring someone to do it for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87