How To Conquer Fear - Best Technique for overcoming anxiety for Health, Money, Politics, North Korea, etc...

in #life7 years ago (edited)

About a year ago I had several dental surgeries scheduled. Sounds fun, yes? I found myself driving to the appointment and felt lots of anxiety and fear coming up inside me. Every so often I remember that my imagination has often helped me overcome fear - of performing, of doing public speaking, etc. I used imagination to become a successful musician when I was a young boy. So I went within and imagined what I wanted to feel like "after" the surgery. I imagined getting in the car, turning the key, looking out the windshield (and what that might look like in the surgeons parking lot) and saying “Wow, that wasn’t bad at all”. I filled the imagine with love and let it go. Immediately, by giving my mind a picture, the fear went down 80%. Once the surgery started I actually felt happy and grateful.

After the surgery (having forgotten the imagination) I got into the car, looked out the windshield said (still numbed up) "wowh thaauutt,, wuhsnit tho baaaadd" . It was exactly as I had imagined it.

IMAGE IDEAS:
Losing money - I imagined becoming a millionaire and made it largely by investing, not by hard work. I had a spreadsheet on my wall with the dollar amount that was my goal. Then I had to work on imagining being comfortable with it, because the fear of not having it was replaced by the fear of losing it. The important part is to "feel" that you have it before you do, and that your money is secure.
Politics - I have friends all caught up in the politics of today. Too much. I don't worry about things I can't do anything about. If I can make a political stand I'll do it. But fear over North Korea is not an image I'll let the media put in my head.

In a world where anxiety and fear are on the rise - where the media is painting worry about the future, it pays to guard your divine imagination. So what’s your image? ! Leave me your story...

()

Sort:  

Congratulations @markedwr2! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @markedwr2! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

Click here to view your Board

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @markedwr2! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40