Social Convention v.s. Your Dreams

in #life6 years ago

Is Your Desire to Conform to Social Convention preventing you from Realising Your Dreams?

As always, have a quick look at the 1 minute video, or read further below, or both :)


Having Unconventional Dreams

First of all, most of the people who dream big, dream different. Therefore those dreams are most likely not going to overlap with what the majority of people consider to be 'normal dreams'. This, in essence, means that if you want to follow your dreams you will have to take unconventional steps to achieve them. Society, your friends or most likely family members may not agree with all of your choices, which could range anywhere from deciding to NOT finish your college education or live in another continent as well as eating vegan or working as a full-time volunteer. It is very likely that a sizeable group of people will not understand your choices nor your dreams.

Thinking Opposite

I've learned to 'test' some of my choices and ideas by implementing someones opinion of them in the following way;

Whereas a couple years ago I would start to doubt myself if somebody advices me not to do something, I know first take have a very meticulous at their values and goals in life. If they align with mine I listen to their advice, if they do not align, and here's the magic: I do not just NOT listen to them, I actually want their input. You see, if someone who doesn't have the same goals, or hasn't been able to achieve what you want tells you something is a bad idea, this most likely means it is a good idea for you. After all, they don't want to achieve what you want to achieve, or they tried and whatever they did apparently didn't work. Therefore if your broke uncle James says: never invest in bla bla bla, just think to yourself: uhh, well apparently you don't know how to create wealth, so I'm going to use that as opposite feedback :)

Special

Humans all share the need to feel a part of a group or community. We want to belong. Yet we also want to be special. What we don't seem to realise is that it is very hard to fully belong, and fully be special. If you're truly special, this means some people are going to think you're a little weird, a little 'off'. That's okay. I love the fact a lot of people don't understand me, my motives, or my dreams. Otherwise I would simply just end up like them: one of the pack.

video transcription:

available soon!

Sort:  

I am pursuing my dream right now 109%

Yay! @caonabo :) keep on doing that for the rest of your life!

@caonabo And don't stop for anything and anyone :) Good luck! Much success.

Nice ..
Great work from you, well done
Thank you for sharing these words with us

Thanks! :) Glad to see you out here again @slimanepro

This post, with over $50.00 in bidbot payouts, has received votes from the following:

smartsteem payout in the amount of $61 USD.
postpromoter payout in the amount of $39 USD.
appreciator payout in the amount of $29 USD.
minnowbooster payout in the amount of $21 USD.
rocky1 payout in the amount of $20 USD.
upme payout in the amount of $13 USD.
promobot payout in the amount of $9 USD.
boomerang payout in the amount of $9 USD.
booster payout in the amount of $8 USD.
upmewhale payout in the amount of $8 USD.
mercurybot payout in the amount of $6 USD.
upboater payout in the amount of $2 USD.
lays payout in the amount of $2 USD.
estabond payout in the amount of $2 USD.

For a total calculated bidbot upvote value in the amount of $229 USD.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform @markdeheide and is by no means a judgement of your work.

The comment above by @transparencybot has been flagged as spam as outlined in the Steemit FAQ. Bad spammer.. bad!

spam.png

I don't believe there's two sides to every story. It's black and white. There's right and wrong.
Keep it up

Thanks! :)

I find your post refreshing. I have dreams, which everyone even my close ones think ridiculous and not normal. I believe it is very achievable, however, because it is not the conventional dream that I am 'supposed to have', to them I have gone crazy.

But I do not want to have this regret of not following my dreams when I am older.

Well, ask yourself this: are they living the life you aspire. If not, you better hope they think you've gone crazy :)

Yes yes Yes! It's so important to live life true to yourself ✌♥️

@kubiontheroad yes! Who cares if others don't agree, it is not their life! Stay true to your own dreams and you will live the happiest life possible!

The problems you've identified in the thinking opposite section and being unconventional are all that attest to me. However it's hard to be unconventional when you have the fear that whenever someone criticises something you are doing, it's going to be wrong or that you are going to end up In failure.

I've tried in thinking opposite and it's not worked so far, however I have faith in being a resilient guy and going the extra mile when I want to prove something and hopefully, I will prove some day that "what didn't work out for you, doesn't have to mean it didn't work out for me also".

Well and also, look at what did work out for them. for instance if someone is 50 years old and 'played it safe' for 30 years, yet is living a very boring life. You might find that 'playing it safe' is something you don't want to do.

Also, it doesn't matter if things fail, or if you're doing something wrong. You are gonna be wrong about stuff anyway, you are definitely gonna fail at stuff. Yet, if you choose to not be wrong, or never fail, you will never learn, never grow, and hardly be happy.

Your words are on point. Thank you for sharing this!

You're most welcome @juliviethesea :) Hope to see you out here more often.

Every society has some restriction that a man or woman have to follow.some time it just killing the person inside but they cant tell it to other as they are used to of this....By the by your concept and writing were very motivation and hopefully it will help others to follow their own dream without fearing any social Convention @Respect_Bro

Thanks @sheuly03 I hope indeed people will read this and realise that they should follow their heart and stay focussed on their goals and dreams despite what others might think.

very good topic i like this post and thank you

Thanks @mahedi66 I hope to see you out here more often! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57886.34
ETH 3104.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54