How many years did I benefit from my Law Degree and University Education?

in #life6 years ago

I graduated law school in 2012 and have been doing all kind of things since then, the amount of days I spent using my diploma =

0 DAYS

I've not been on social benefits, I did not get any money from my parents, and I've made it a good 6,5 years, purchased a house and am now living relatively comfortably without having worked 1 days as a lawyer. In my case my 3 years at uni weren't a complete waste of time of course, because you always learn something, but mainly, yeah it was a waste of 3 years. I could have earned so much money, gotten so much work experience, met so many people or do so much good instead of just reading up about current laws.

So I ask you, has your education benefitted you and be honest, if you would have spent the same amount of time and money (because you have to pay to learn, when you work you get paid to learn) somewhere else might you have been better off?

Image sourece: pexels
accomplishment-celebrate-ceremony-267885.jpg

Sort:  

I've not been on social benefits, I did not get any money from my parents, and I've made it a good 6,5 years, purchased a house and am now living relatively comfortably without having worked 1 days as a lawyer.

Wow. That's great man. I'm not trying to butter you up but you've done nice for yourself

I'm in my final year. I'm a writer and I'm studying English language so I assume it's always going to be relevant. I don't see myself using my degree though . But I'm thankful for the knowledge.

But really, there's nothing I know about writing that I couldn't have learnt on my whole from reading great pieces, watching YouTube videos and listening to my readers.

But then, we can't begin to regret at this stage.

I'm not regretting :) yet I would like to tell other people out there, if you want to become an entrepreneur, or go in business, and you don't NEED a college degree or university degree for your dream, just don't do it haha :P

Education is the backbone of any nation, educated person lead the society as well as himself or herself, for me without education I would be nowhere, I'm very pleased where I am now. thanks God for that.

When you say any nation keep in mind that there are many countries nowadays led by people who have no education. For instance, Bill Gates and many others :)

My friend you are right but they are very few in number may be 00.1%, thanks for replying, A BIG HUG.

I graduated this year in Accounting Finance, i've not started seeing whether my degree has helped me or not. However I just hope from the bottom of my heart that I really am be able to live and succeed on my own.

that would be awesome! :) let me know how things are going when there is an update ;)

It depends on where you are. In some countries a basic degree is a passport to security (and not necessarily success) which is valued highly. If security is not an issue then it doesn't really matter if you have basic degree or not.

in what countries is a basic degree a passport to security for instance? because I though a laptop on your lap was all the security you need..

The value of degrees will continue to decrease moving forward. The reality is that the internet has provided a platform for knowledge far greater than most universities can match.

And, it is free, or very cheap to get information on the internet :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57