Do Your Parents Believe in You? And Steemit?

in #life6 years ago

Our parents not believing in us or in steemit for that matter is something positive, and let me tell you why:

As always you can watch the video, read the blog or do both:

Generation Gap Alert

Okay so your parent may support you in some things, and not in other things. They might support you with almost anything they do, or they might disapprove of your whole life. Guess what: They grew up in completely different times than you did. Do you really expect my 56 year old mom that works as a nurse to start jumping around like a happy puppy when I told her I wouldn't continue law school because I was making piano lessons on something called DudeTube? Uhh, it's called YouTube mom...

She wasn't happy, yet now she is kind of going like: hmmmm maybe that wasn't such a bad idea.

And now I haven't even told her about steemit because guess what mom: I'm trying to build a new career writing blog posts on a blockchain that is called STEEM whilst earning cryptocurrency called SBD and SP that is not readily available at the grocery store because I first have to transfer it to an ethereum or litecoin account before... Nah I don't think she will be thrilled.

Your Parents Don't Believe in You.

Look no matter whether your parents support you or not. They will not be able to believe in you. At least, not as much as you might hope. Times have simply changed so much in the past 30 years that there is no way they can comprehend the thoughts that are going on in your mind, the brilliant and not so brilliant ideas, the vision for a future that, will occur when they are no longer with us. It doesn't matter if they love you, or believe that you can make it work, they can never believe in things like Steemit as much as we can, because it wasn't a part of their lives when they grew up. Therefore you should not care whether your parents believe the things you believe, whether they support your or not, you should just do whatever you feel is right.

Do Yo Thang

All I'm saying here is that, it is nice and can feel very safe if your parents believe in you, yet it is not relevant for your future success. It is great if your parents support you, they should they are your parents, yet if they don't, for whatever reason understand that it (a) doesn't influence your outcome and future (b) is most likely due to the fact they simply do not understand what is going on in your life and time of being on this earth.

If you liked this post remember to check out my other posts as well :)

Sort:  

Interesting .. amazing words
It is nice to have that balance between your life and those around you
Great post from you
Thanks for sharing

Thanks @slimanepro glad to see you out here all the time! :)

BRILLIANT STUFF! KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!!!

@cloudbuster yet you have a reputation score of 53 and are going strong! :) so maybe it is time they start believing ;)

Yeah! :') why are you sending so much money to the bots? It's not a good deal for you.

Well I use the bots to promote the posts and get them more visible :)

Paying bots is just good for them really, not you. In short, you're losing money. Even though it looks like you're doing well you're really not - your paying yourself, badly.

well @cloudbuster I'm going to start using bots less and less, yet at this moment I'm tracking my payments to the bots and the payments received and I have actually made a profit. I feel though that now that I have a following, I can use them less and rely on more organic traffic :)

It's a bad deal for you and you don't even know it... You're being ripped off by bigger players. Do you like being pissed on? Because your pissing on yourself.

@cloudbuster you have to keep in mind SP rewards as well. I mean, why would I just burn money? I'm simply trying out different things here on steemit, watched some videos on youtube from brandonfrye and jerrybandfield and they advised to use bots so I gave it a try. For me, at this moment I have made a profit due to the combined rewards in SBD and SP. If I only count SBD yes of course you lose money. But you have to keep in mind SP rewards as well :)

steem is mooning right now

Yeah it is really going up huh? @markjackson1989

Im 52 and a firm believer in a decentralised economy and Steemit, and my 81 year old Dad who died last month and whod been involved in IT and comms all his life thought decentralisation and blockchain technology was the next great advance in finance and IT.
Not sure why so many of a younger generation seem to think its beyond us oldies comprehension. Too many people creating age issues where they often dont exist!

Thanks @nathen007. First of all my condolences for your father I hope he didn't have to suffer near the end.

Well that's why I put steemit as a separate item in my title and also in the video. I'm not just talking about steemit mainly not actually, I'm more talking about the new way of thinking, the millennial etc. Whereas I then noticed it kind of also applies to technologies like steemit (in most cases, there are always exceptions of course). Sorry if that wasn't clear.

Mine are oldschool and don't believe making money from the internet is a legitimate source of income.I am giving myself inside of this year to change their minds .

@badmusgreene too bad to hear that. I hope you will have good results and can show them that it can indeed be a good way to earn money. Otherwise refer to companies like Amazon or Aliexpress :)

Sometimes you do not need to hear what people say. The result will speak louder. When result speaks those who say no to you will have no choice but to stealthly withdraw it.

@praise-eu and sometimes you need to hear it and realise, that if they do understand it is probably not advanced enough and will soon be out of style ;) and if they don't understand it has a chance of being new and exactly what you need :)

Nice post and I couldn’t agree more. Especially about the generation gap, to quote Will Smith “Parents just don’t understand”. Anyway just giving yah my two cents. No literally my upvote is worth $.02

Thanks @jaredlang! :) I really like that, Never heard of that saying before as I'm not Native English, until like a couple of months back :P

Giving you my 2 cents back haha :)

My parents support me in whatever i do but they still try to persuade me to do things they believe is better. At the end of the day, i still decide for myself. I know if I fail, i have their back

@melouna yeah it is currently kind of the same here, except the having my back bit I guess. I mean I'm never completely sure about my mom haha she changes her mind now and then, my dad is always supportive :)

@markdeheide the two questions in the title of your post I am sure could be answered by "it depends." The funny thing about being a parent is that you love your child, but recognize that that your kids are still independent human being that make terrible/awful/stupid choices.

The best thing to do is be consistent, go and cook them dinner every once in a while, and (if possible) pay for a rockstar vacation with your thic Steemit payouts.

@chefcryptoshark yeah I mean that is basically a very good suggestion to any parent. Realise that kids are human beings, with the emphasis on 'beings' themselves. Entities that make their own choices, have their own dreams, and own visions. Try not to interfere with that too much :)

"A child today will be a parent tomorrow!"
they will think same for you

@shuhaib123 I expect nothing less of them! Yet I hope that I will allow them to figure out their own ways.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66293.76
ETH 3282.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70