1 Simple Trick to Eliminate Jealousy and Competitiveness in Your Life

in #life6 years ago

arrangingplants.png

I have been thinking about jealousy a lot these past few weeks. I have so many questions surrounding the science behind it, although I am having a tough time finding answers.

I remember when I was a young kid. I was highly competitive. From the classroom, to the soccer field, I wanted that #1 spot. I wanted to finish my multiplication table the fastest, and score the most goals. I put in the effort, but didn't always get the top spot.

I am beginning to put competitiveness and jealousy in the same category. Are humans competitive because they are jealous, or are they jealous because they are driven to compete? The more I think about it, the more I see the two characteristics go hand in hand. This two characteristics could be infecting the world in a highly negative way.

I have experienced times of jealousy and unhealthy amount of competition in my life. When I reflect back on my life, I see a turning point. That turning point was exiting high school. The “class rankings” went away, the chapter of sports ended for me, the girls I had “beef” with and I went our separate ways in life.

The next chapter of college came around. I was bummed to be going to the local college instead of my dream school. I had a tough time accepting the fact that I alone could not get a student loan without my parents co-signing, and they basically laughed in my face at the thought of that. At the time I was trying to keep up with my friends who had highly successful parents who were happy to pay their way. At the time I was devastated, but looking back now, my parents being middle class individuals and not willing to risk their assets to put me though a private college was one of the best things that happened in my life.

Sure, I experienced some “competitiveness” during my 2 years of college, but it quickly became truth to me that going to college for business may be one of the biggest schemes of all time. In that moment, I was competing for nothing. I would gladly sit back, watch my peers chase a paper, and chase every other standard of success society has shoved down our throats.

Two years in at CSU Stanislaus, I proudly said “deuces” and smiled at everyone telling me I was making the “biggest mistake of my life.”

It was time to start a business of my own. I’ll never forget the first time I was referred to as an “Entrepreneur,” and how confused I was. I thought to myself, “But I am just selling mini donuts.” It was a ultimately one entrepreneur spotting another in the early stages- thanks Allen!

It was around this time I began practicing gratitude. Being grateful for the things I had, the things I didn't yet have, the people in my life, the opportunity, and most importantly- even expressing gratitude for the challenges. I was able to shift my mindset and attitude towards even the most treacherous times as an entrepreneur and find the lesson- the silver lining. I began to focus on the lesson, and not the struggle. If I learned something at the end of the day, it was certainly worth it.

I experienced intense competitiveness when I entered the concession business world. Just a young girl trying to sell some ice cream at a local festival, while having to deal with grown adults throwing tantrums that their shaved ice sales were going to be affected because of our competing products. I would laugh, and express that I didn't give a damn being next to them because I believed my product would outsell theirs. I would invite the similar products! I believe we should let the customer decide.

The concession business has come and gone for me, but the last year has been a lot of questioning on the subject of jealousy. From relationships, to status, to cars, houses, marriage status, having children, education, outer appearance and the list continues. I don’t personally feel jealous, but why do I feel the jealous energy of others creeping in to my space?

Without even realizing it, the jealousy bone in my body quickly deteriorated. I firmly believe this has stemmed from my continuous practice of gratitude. Gratitude for even the most minuscule things in my life. There’s been days I have written down I am grateful for having a washer and dryer. Us first world citizens can go on with a never ending list.

By societies standards, I am a failure.

I am an “uneducated female” who dropped out of college
I do not own a luxury car
I do not own a house
I am single
I do not have children
I am not even close to resembling some instagram model

I can honestly say I get more excited for other’s success more than my own. I love to see other people happy, healthy, thriving, and creating a life they love. I love to see people living their best life, full of experiences, quality time with the people they love, and always choosing happiness as their top priority. I love to see people growing personally, realizing how capable they really are, and even surprisings themselves. I love to see people make difficult decisions (that are looked down upon by society) because it will make them a happier individual at the end of it.

This all happened accidentally, but I have never been so happy to have gotten lost in the art of gratitude while losing jealously along the way.

Daily Challenge:
Write down 5 things you’re grateful to have.
Write down 5 things you’re grateful for, that you do not yet have.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you for this! It would be so great to have this for every article across the entire internet!

Congratulations! This excellent post was chosen by the new curation initiative of the @postpromoter content promotion service to receive a free upvote!

This post exemplifies the type of great content that we at @postpromoter enjoy reading and would love to see more of on the Steem platform. Keep up the good work!

Thank you for the kind words! :)

This post has just received lots of ♡♡♡#LOVE♡♡♡ and a 52.83% upvote from @haveaheart!

Thank you for your thoughtfulness in choosing this service.
@haveaheart donates 10% of all received profit to the Sri Sathya Sai Heart Hospital

Click here to make a difference
Delegate to haveaheart and support a charity that really cares.
Daily payouts for delegators are 85%.
(Be sure to leave at least enough SP undelegated that your account is still usable.)

hah4.gif

You got a 10.70% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @postcurator!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

It's good that you can recognize these valuable points for healthy living.

Posted using Partiko Android

Health is Wealth! Physical health, mental health.

I know that better than anyone I think. I am 68 years old, never have aches and pains, but do get tired easily sometimes. Some people believe you're lucky, because maybe you inherited a good set of genes. I admit that is a blessing. But what about taking care of yourself when you are young? And what about those people in your life who took care of you as an infant that feed you good nutrition, and cultivated good habits of work and exercise and being grateful for what you have. Yes, have physical and mental health entitles you to work and make an income and be free within your spirit and soul.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64407.71
ETH 3414.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62