Writing/Posting

in #life7 years ago (edited)

blah.jpg

There are people who talk a lot, yet they say nothing, the same goes on Steemit.
A lot of people post articles and comments, yet there is no message.
I see this quite often, short posts or comments with no real message, very generic. People feel the need to be out there without putting any real value forward, they only want to get the attention, and possible rewards. I see a lot of people posting comments just to add a link to their own content and ask for followers.

Posting a link as a comment in someone else's article just get more views is a quite pathetic way of promoting yourself, there is the Steemit chat with the promotion section for that, and other ways that are better suited, just do a search on the subject.

Asking for followers is sad. We all want to have our content read, and eventually a consistent number of people who would appreciate our efforts, but there is no need to spam the comment section with such messages, unless you have something meaningful to say in regards to the matter at hand, that is the subject of the article.

I've also seen a case, in which a certain Steemit user kept sending me private messages making use of the sending Steem option, using of course the minimum amount possible, and promoting a certain service, which costs quite a bit, to apparently get your articles seen by more people. I was not the only one getting those spam messages, I know that for a fact.

Some people also chose to spam others on the chat, sending all kinds of direct messages out, varying from promotion of the their articles and other services to outright asking to follow them.

Another thing that I will touch on is the bots on Steemit... and here I may get a lot of flak, but I'll say it anyway. There are many useful bots, out there, especially to help beginners, but equally many spam bots as well, and if the Steemit platform cannot draw a line between them, I think is better to get rid of them altogether. I'm not a fan of the bots anyway, because all I care is people reading articles, and it can be done without the help of any bot, in the end is all about posting good content. It may take longer for people to get discovered, but it will happen without any bots interfering in the process, they are not essential. Just keep writing, and people who like your content will promote it, as long as it sparks interest, and it will. Your content will reach an audience, that's a given, we all look for and have different interests, so whatever you write about you will find an ear willing to listen.

When it comes to promotion of new writers, these days we have @ocd, there are real people looking for and reading articles to promote newcomers, and that may actually be the best service on Steemit, as far as getting articles in the open goes.

say-nothing.jpg

It's a sad truth, but spamming undermines Steemit, I may sound harsh but those who have nothing better to say other than begging for followers should keep quiet. When you have no real message to send it's time to listen, you may learn a thing or two. Don't post just because you have to say something, unless you have something to say, it's meaningless. Myself, I try to put good content out there, to the best of my abilities, and there are many of us minnows, who do not get a lot of reading on our articles, yet there is value in them. I am sure we do tend to overvalue our creation, because we have put the work into it and don't see much feedback... and this brings me to the last point, very short one.

There is this one other issue, in my opinion we should not have the option of up-voting our own articles. I did up-vote my own articles in the past, and I may do it again, but the value of each article should be determined by others, the community at large, not by ourselves.

Well, these are just some of my thoughts that might help the community...

29 August 2017
Marius C.

Sort:  

I've given up on bots. There are so many of them. The spam is at an all time high, it buries the good contents. Curating groups are now looking for that proverbial needle in a haystack of spam :)
It used to bother me, but now not so much. I guess that's the way it is. Steem on.

Well, when I first heard/read of bots helping you getting promoted I was very curious and hopeful, but soon I realized that is just spam and waste of time in dealing with them. So no bots for me! and no one should really bother with them.

The only bots I think that makes any sense are the boosting types. Though I haven't used any, I hear that it works ok.

I don't remember coming across this type of bots, but at this point I've had it with them. If they work for some people, well... good for them, but this platform, in my view became bot heavy, too heavy.

Comparing the number of bots to real people, I still think they are few. Also annoying bots can be flagged, by those with big SP, which I think is a type of control.

Great write up! I fully agree with what you have written. I am forever seeing or getting bland meaningless posts/comments and I for one try to spend a lot of time with what I write and I tend to only get people begging for me to check their content! I will definitely be following your profile as a genuine follower! I look forward to hearing from you more in the future!

Thank you Nick, that's the case with a lot of people around here, they want you to follow them, but when you check their blog they do not really have any content, I've seen such cases myself. Others all they have is resteems, nothing created on their own, yet they expect followers.

Funny old platform at times ;)

Congratulations @marcaprio! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62349.28
ETH 3026.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67