Thought Log #1: when emotional resolution isn't the solution, a call for reflection

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Introduction:

thinking
Hello fellow steemians and welcome to my first post. I only joined yesterday and I am still feeling my way around. I thought I would drive straight into being an active member and decided to share a thought with you today. This is part of a series I titled thought Log. You see my friends I have a brain that thinks on overdrive and I sometimes find it difficult to articulate my thoughts and one time it occurred to me to write them down and they suddenly started to take proper form, then I thought I would take it further and sculpt and hone these thoughts by sharing them and discussing them with people who may think differently and this brought me to this blog, my first attempt, hope you find it insightful.


The Problem:

I have a problem with modern day culture in general.I don't know when that shift happened but I find it everywhere now a days. We went from being able to discuss faults and being reflective to using words like I am sorry to hear that whilst looking away and sweeping problems under the rug.


To Further Illustrate My Point:

Let me clarify with an example: someone might come complaining of their current situation and me being the third party I may notice whats at fault, but I know that once I -in the best of intentions- try to point out whats being done wrong, I will have to deal with all the defenses the person will erect to defend their self-identity and image, and for the love of God I can't find it in me to just sit there and argue my way around those barricades. Some people even go to such lengths as to seek their friends and paint an elaborate story where they are helpless victims of the circumstances, with the intention -whether conscious or unconscious- of validating themselves through other people who are less likely to argue with them.


Lets Be Clear about One Thing:

Now, I am fully aware that sometimes people just seek to vent and to feel like they are being understood, I have been and probably still am one of those people ... but, under the umbrella of understanding and empathy we have forgotten that real problems require real solutions that DO NOT revolve around emotions, because in the grand scheme of things the world does not care about your feelings and it is dumb at this point to keep repeating the same defective action that causes you the pain expecting a different outcome, and for change to happen it must first be preceded by reflection and reflections sometime require a fresh set of eyes.


Conclusion:

I am not adovicating emotional neglect nor spouting brash rude unsolicited comments. What I am suggesting is introspection and thriving for change: if there is a repeated bothersome pattern, after you have expressed yourself and dealt with your emotions, REFLECT on whats there to change and have the courage and tough skin to accept criticism and improve even if you have to seek that reflection from those around you that you trust. Instructive criticism should be encouraged and as a society we need to re-learn the art of pointing out faults for the sake of betterment . In the end I would like to leave you with an Arabic religious quote (I happen to be Egyptian by the way) that I personally leave by:

رحمَ الله امرؤ عَلِمَ قدرَ نفسهِ
which roughly translates to: Blessed he who knows his worth (faults)

One Last Thing:

The thought Log is meant to START A CONVERSATION, all comments are welcome and encouraged. Lets bounce ideas of each other and help me shape and refine this philosophy of mine. If you are interested in more of what I have to say please follow my account and if you agree with the post please upvote it, also I am new here so I would love to get feedback and pointers from all the veterans here on steemit.

Sort:  

Great, well-thought out and articulated post! Bravo! Welcome to Steemit by the way! I'll happily upvote this post and follow you, too!
As for your philosophy, I agree. We have lost an important emotional resiliency that doesn't allow for honest self critique or as you point out to listen to another if they lovingly point out an issue that might need addressing. Many years ago I read a question posed by the great Socrates and further expanded on by Plato...To know thyself. I was amazed that ancient men had the were-with-all to ask this question and that intrigue began a life-long journey to grow and change...
PS. I will pass along the 7 Day Black and White Challenge to you today! Looking forward to seeing the images that you post!
Cheers!

Oh my God!! thank you for the support and opportunity , by the way I cant believe how good your mobile photography is, I have been going through your photos since yesterday for inspiration.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62