Story: My Mother

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I am one of the finest gastroenterologists in London and it couldn’t have been as it is, if it were not for my mother. It said that mothers are the finest and purest souls that exist in the universe. When a lady becomes a mother, it entirely changes her every aspect. She protects and supports her child as if it were the most treasured thing in the entire world. But I didn’t understand this until one day that changed my feelings towards my mother.


Image Source

I belong to a very poor background. We were really hard up most of the year and didn’t have enough money to enjoy ourselves. People around us lived a pretty decent life. And it had everything in it. Our father was working two or even three shifts at a time so the responsibility of the household was left to my mother.

It so happened one day that our teacher announced a school function being held on Christmas this year and gave each of us specific clothes to wear. My classmates made fun of me saying that they couldn’t even watch seeing me on Christmas function. I turned into tears and went straight up to my home. I totally told my mother that I was leaving school and won’t be going there anymore. Instead of the school, I’ll be working somewhere.


Image Source

This was where the first slap came. And my mother hit it pretty hard too. She said that I should never even think of leaving the education incomplete and no matter what, I’ll have to complete it. I ran inside and locked the door. The whole night I kept crying. It was one of the worst nights that I had ever spent.

The next day when I returned home from the school, my mother had bought a brand new set of clothes for my school function on Christmas. I was happy; so happy that I couldn’t find any change in my mother. I even overlooked the sadness that had crept on her face. Christmas came and went by. So did New Year! I still had not understood how my mother had found the money from our dwindling monthly budget to buy me my Christmas party outfit. I had just radiantly glowed in my own happiness and been selfish enough to not notice anything else.

It so happened that one day I while having lunch I asked my mother where was her ring; her wedding ring. I knew that she loved her ring and it was one of her few possessions. She gave me a smile and said that she had left it in her room. After the lunch, I was passing by her room when I heard her sobbing. I went in straight ahead and asked her that what was the matter? After a lot of insisting, she said that the ring had been in the family for centuries and it had been hard to give it away but it was worth it. At least she bought me my happiness.


Image Source

Cold tears ran down my face as with heavy footsteps I headed out of the room. I promised myself to work hard and never to ask her for anything she might not be able to provide no matter how much fun people made of me. With the passage of time I became a doctor and with my first paycheck, I went to the jewellers and bought a ring for my mother. I had never seen her this much happy in my entire life. All I wish is for her to remain happy and content.

Sort:  

Great post @mahekg. Thank you for sharing. Upvoted and followed. Never forget the sacrifices our mother did for us as it is never paidaway with any value than by giving them love and respect and taking good care of them in their old age.

Yes @bhavnapatel68 this post is exactly meant to inspire people to give the credit mothers deserve

Tag Spam means using irrelevant tags, especially popular tags like #life. Using tags improperly makes it hard to find good and relevant content.
Please use relevant tags when posting! Abusing tags can potentially lead to people flagging you, even from dan himself.
If this is #writing and #fiction then its not #life

Thank you for pointing that out i will make sure that will not happen again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10