Iris Grace. The true story of a 5 yr old Autistic girl, gifted artist and a cat

in #life7 years ago

51gNxFgIVNL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_[1].jpg
I think I know why I have taken so long to write this. It's because this is probably one of the most beautiful books I have ever read and I've been trying to come up with the right words to share it with you all.
At Christmas time, I was visiting my sister 's when I chanced upon this book. Flipping through a few pages, the photos and paintings caught my eye. I asked if I could take it home to read, wow, I just couldn't put it down! Needless to say I have now bought my very own copy. Whether you have experience with Autism in your world or not, this story of a Mothers courage to step outside the "normal" to try and reach her child, will still inspire and encourage you and hopefully, like myself, enable you to see the world in a different hue.
At 2 years old Iris Grace was "Officially" diagnosed as being on the Autism spectrum. Thus began the journey that would test her parents and herself to the very limit. Realizing (after many attempts) the distress it caused Iris Grace to try and fit in and participate in what was deemed normal (such as attending Kindergarten, family functions etc) her mother bravely decided that they would instead, enter HER world and try to interact with her there. How to break through, how could they communicate???
Then a wonderful thing happened, along came Thula, a Maine coont cat (I had to look this breed up...I want one!) and Iris's beautiful world opened up to her parents and those around her. I will recount just one instance of how this amazing cat worked her magic.
Iris Grace hated bath time, it seemed to torture her and cause pain in some way, washing her hair was even more extreme. Bath time was an exhausting affair for her Mum and Iris, filled with screams, tears and struggles. They had just got Thula as a small kitten and soon after, one night while Mum was trying to bath Iris, along came Thula, hopped into the bath with her and sat there ! A sudden stop to all the screaming, and Iris Grace became quiet and calm. Her mother could not believe her eyes. This cat, this very special cat knew instinctively how to calm Iris, to know what she needed at just the right moment. What ensued was a relationship that completely opened up a whole new world for Iris and her parents.
304EE1F200000578-3438761-image-a-228_14550377776.jpg
Then another, most wonderful thing happened.
81f7bf832f6a0f35efaa272cc5bad258[1].jpg

One day, Iris was given some paints and a brush, she was just 3 at the time (I think) by 5 yrs old her artwork was being bought by art collectors round the world. Impressionist in style, these are breathtaking views from her world, how she perceives light and colours, they are absolutely beautiful . This is a story of heartbreak and victory, of enduring public scorn to triumph. I have only grazed the surface of Iris Grace. It would take a book ..this book..to tell you it all.
21473_1245776502103722_963493626786063040_n[1].jpg
Iris's mother is a photographer and a beautiful writer, this book is filled with the most lovely photos and writings. I cannot recommend this book enough. Iris is now 8 yrs old and is still exploring her world as only she can, we just stand back in awe.
t8-600x410[1].jpg

Iris3-479344[1].jpg

Sort:  

Thankyou @madein-hisimage for sharing such a beautiful tale. Iris's paintings look amazing. I can see why you might want a maine coont cat too!

Thanks @silvernova! yes a cat that actually likes water??? And a great companion? They say they are more like a dog than a cat win/win haha

What a beautiful story! So good to see that little girl and Thula her beautiful Maine Coone found their way to each other. Autism is tough, my best friend of many years is still struggling with her now grown son. Animals can be an incredible help. Upvoted and following you. So happy @steemisbeautiful found your work and shared. What a pleasure to read this! Have an awesome day!

Oh that's so kind of you:) Yes my Nephew is Autistic in a very "out there" kind of way, which is quite good because our family can be rather loud so he fits in well. It is indeed hard on family, they need good friends like yourself in their lives. Thank you for your comment, you have an awesome day too!

A really great post. I have a friend with an autistic son. He is now in his 20s, but I met him as a boy. He had a dog who one day just decided to come into his garden and stayed for 14 years. They were inseparable and it seemed to us that they communicated in some mysterious way known only to them. That dog brought a peaceful joy to Paul.
I shall look for the book, it sounds fascinating.
Welcome to steemit. 😀

Thank you so much. Gee, what a neat story yourself! Animals blow me away, we bumble around trying to understand them yet they can connect with us in a heartbeat. I am so glad your friends boy experienced that, 14 years is a long time!

There is little we know about animals that is being revealed to the world's people on line. Animals are much more than how we see them. The same goes for autism. This story reveals how little man knows and hopefuly more will take this story to heart.
Thank you for posting this wonderful story
and the photos made it even better. KUDOS! Keep it up.
giphy (3).gif

Thank you so much @pitterpatter. I agree with all you have said. This book made such an impact on me, just wanted to share.

This is such a beautiful story about reaching someone in a way that both individuals understand. Never underestimate the power of animals to work their magic in helping with the human condition. Very special post. Thank you.

@team101 have you read this book? Gee I just absolutely love it. Thank you for your kind words

Beautiful, I really enjojed reading, and paintings are amazing , thanks for so interesting post

Her paintings blow me away. If you google Iris Grace, they have a website where you can see all her paintings. Thank you for your very kind comment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 64841.81
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87