Thoughts On Bringing Up Offspring

in #life6 years ago (edited)

In its simplest manner, there is a joy for bringing a new life into this world. It is also often one's life purpose, to reproduce. Undoubtedly, we can't go against our primal function. If we do so, that would lead to a dysfunctional system. Life is a dynamic cycle, one will die then, replaced by a newborn.

It's clearly enigmatic.

As a matter of fact, it could take a lifetime to understand the purpose of our existence. Now, there is seemingly a most-liked question especially throughout our adult life, when are you having a baby?

It is as if, bringing a new life into this world is a public affair. Often, family also contributes in putting pressure without having a second thought. Before bringing offspring, have we ever looked at our current situation? Have we thought about making it a better environment for the next generation?

As someone entering an adulthood, I encountered couple of occasions where my peers would bring a baby topic. They were often enthusiastic about the idea of raising an infant. Indeed, they are a funny and a cute creature. But, little did they know, there are more serious concerns than just the physical attributes of a baby.

I personally do not want to bring a new life into this world without providing a good shelter and wisdom. As a parents, it is an ultimate role to hand over the life guidebook and ensuring the best experience of existing. If one does not have a thorough and a complete information about a potential harm and how to tackle it, that could be slight alarming. Not to mention, if one does not posses a maturity and a readiness to bring a new form of life, best to push away the idea.

I would also point out, not only it's about an individual matter, it could also be a public affair. Thus everyone should also contribute in creating a sustainable environment. So, if ever, you are going to ask someone about baby topic, think for a second. Not that it should be full of sunshine, at least it should be balanced. As in, we should not teach children to turn a blind eye towards certain topics. For example, creationism and evolution must be taught equally at school. In the end, when a child reach their full potential as a mature individual, they will have the capability to choose.

So, my dear young friends, are you ready bringing a new life into this world?

Sort:  

I totally get you... Before I become a mom, I never thought I would become a mom. Never in my plan I would have baby and become a mother myself. But then it just happened. And till now I still couldn't believe that I am a mom to three girls... 😅 Time flies. Babies grow up really fast. I find that many moms learn along the way together with our little ones. Each of them are unique and different. There's no one method fit all. And there's actually no time as perfect time to have baby. When it's time, baby will come. When baby comes at the wrong timing, we will have to make it right.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah now I am learning something new! 😊
Anyhow, I just want to make sure that I am at least ready in one crucial part, financially. I don't want my children to be suffering and I want them to grow healthy and well. I believe that raising children will also teach us lesson but I really still don't recommend recklessly reproducing babies.

No recklessly reproducing babies, please. Yes. Really important. When I was in the hospital during my first delivery, there was one 14 year old "mom", she was a child herself. And the "dad" was also almost the same age. Just not sure how they were going to pill through, raising a baby when they themselves were still children. The grandparents were there most of the time to take care of the "mom".

Posted using Partiko Android

@macchiata Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

I know quite a few people who have infants, who love them dearly, but are quite unhappy, who find it really difficult, and it's taboo to not like being a parent.

I do not want children, i have known this since my early twenties when it dawned on me that the only reason i ever thought about my hypothesized future offspring was because i had been conditioned to. I started to feel very strongly that I did not want to have any. I love them! I really do, but for varying reasons i do not want to parent one.

Being a 30 year old female now i am often met with that question, and people just cannot wrap their heads around the fact that i don't want children. Oh your body clock will kick in soon...............

No.........there is no invisible clock ticking in my uterus.

But what are you going to do then? Like that's the only thing a woman aspires to right?? To be a mother.

I find it true @myindigoinsight. My biological mother is the example of someone who find being a parent really difficult and is quite unhappy about it. Thus, she is being negligent and handing over one of my sibling and I under someone's else care. On the other hand, my adoptive mother, she loves me dearly even zillion times more than my own.

I find it acceptable if someone doesn't want a child but the society seems to be against it. I believe that a woman can do so much than just being a mother. The overall society is shifting, one day.. they will understand it.

I am sorry to hear that, i am glad you found a mother who was able to be there for you. Family isn't always blood! :) xxx

interesting read my friend, appreciate your perspective on this subject as well as telling me to follow my gut on the market buys, following my gut to not have kids and buy steem :)

hahaha always follow your guts while listening and reading others perspectives 😀
In the end, we are responsible of our own choices.

one can only hope we realize this before making life choices. nice article.

Hello @macchiata, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81