10 Things I Learned the Hardway before 20

in #life7 years ago

Life has a funny way to teach us something. We mature by time not by age, and some people just happened to have more experience when they're still young. I am currently 20 and there are already things I wish I didn't do during my teenage days and things I have learned before I turned 20.

  1. People will doubt on your grand ideas but f*ck it, let them talk and make it happen

  2. At some point in your life, Depression can creep into your day but that's fine, It'll pass with the right help and medication

  3. Saving is really important, especially this days where you can invest your saving into crypto or going full time as a nomad.

  4. Nurture your passion and stay on your lane. Do what you love while also learning new things. Don't jump into so many things at once, you'll ended up knowing nothing

  5. People leave and that's okay. I have a hard time letting go of people and my old environment. then I learned,they might be pretending to be my friend all this while and we were actually never matched

  6. Don't start a relationship with lie because it'll never work. You weren't into them the first place but because you want a hook up partner, you started feeding them with lies and in the end it'll go to wreck

  7. Say thing as is. Honesty is always bitter but then you'll feel relieved and the other person would also your understand your real intention despite they might get hurt or sad. But that's just the way it is.

  8. Parents will never understand you unless you make your stance on your opinion. They love you for whatever you are. Are you drug addict? godless? pregnant before 20? gay? they'll love you anyway, although probably they'll get shock and mad. But hey, you're an Individual who's capable of making choices.

  9. Try things you're curious about. People often tell me that bacon wasn't really good, it tastes bad and so on but I love the first time I tried it and since then it's my favorite meal

  10. Last but not least, I am still young, there are so many possibilities ahead of me, though life could be cruel sometimes. I might not ended up being a writer and I might working somewhere in a small cubicle dealing with 9-5 but that's okay I'll just keep making memories along the way.

Sort:  

Good advice @macchiata. Life can be extremely turbulent when we are thrust into adulthood. Never accept your fate in the 9-5 cubicle. I almost fell into that trap at 23 but clawed my way out and now make a living as a writer, well ghostwriting, but it does afford me to the time, flexibility and practice for me to work on my own writing without being chained to a desk for 1/3 of the day!

I wouldn't really accept my fate in the 9-5. Therefore, I am trying to make my way out to not being into the bees once I graduate. I am the kind of person who value freedom and I can't honestly wake up early in the morning. clearly 9-5 job isn't my thing.

I do agree that ghostwriting offers flexibility and more time to work on our own writing but it comes with some cons too. Anyway, I have read your posts about your introduction. It was really good and it is clearly worth being published as a feature article in the travel journal.

I mean south east asia has this vibe to make us feel rich while I could say sometimes it's just a temporary and we just realize back home that we actually spent a lot on lavish lifestyle which we couldn't afford back home. I've been there too and now here I am focusing on my study once again while trying to ghostwriting here and there

Cheers @zeydo thank you for stumbling across my post

My first 3 months in Thailand, I definitely overspent. I am back again as of April and living a bit more like a local which has helped me save as well as appreciate what I have back home. Thanks for your kind words, appreciate the feedback.

I agree ghostwriting is no without it's cons. I have recently started building an agency and starting to work other talented ghostwriters. This has become my main focus with the goal of having more time for my own work and to take a step back from being hands on with my clients. I hope to cover it a little more now that I have started a blog series on my story. Once I reach that point, I will provide updates along the way to see whether it is a success or a spectacular failure haha.

I just followed you, looking forward to see more of your work!

Your posts are interesting and engaging, and at 20 years old you know some stuff. I would go out and comment more to make more friends and get a little more attention before you wear yourself. I'll keep reading though.

That's a good advice, I am just here a couple of days, to be exact less than a week. I am currently very excited pouring out all of my ideas and yeah I agree with you! I should go out more and interact with people to make friends. So far, I've met some folks here with same interest as in Poetry and Travel.

I honestly still couldn't believe how the community here appreciate an art work. I've never seen such immense appreciation of art in any other social media platform. Also, thank you for the advice, looking forward to see you around reading my upcoming posts.

Cheers,
Cemy

I liked your post and didn't see it the first time around.

I wonder what I would have had to say for myself at twenty.
I have all my old books scanned, I should search out that period, but I think I was too drunk to do that stuff for a few years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84