You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lost.

in #life5 years ago

Wow @lookplz! What a thought provoking post!! I've read through the comments as well as see that you've hit a nerve with more than a few people; @simplymike and @warpedpoetic :)

I used to feel like this all the time, especially when I was younger. I decided at some point in my 20's to stop spending so much of my energies on the "why" and focus instead on what paths were available to me. I literally fell into teaching as a career, not by choice but by practicalities (which totally went against the way I normally would react!!), but eventually realized that it was the most rewarding thing I'd ever done in my life (even though I hated it in the beginning :) I managed to literally change kids' lives, and my own in the process too. Had I stopped to really examine my choice in the beginning, and focus on why I was doing it, I never ever ever would have taken that step.

I saw so many of my senior students especially, fighting with the same conundrums ... why why why, and although it's great to question everything (something I always encouraged), sometimes it's also great to take a leap of faith (and I'm not talking religiously there either). It's sounds so cliche, but it's true: sometimes when walking one path, so many others open up to you and they never would have come into your line of sight if you'd never taken that first one.

I'm 53 now and can tell you that life in my oh so humble opinion, is not meant to be planned out ... which I know seems to go against everything we're ever taught. I never did answer the question, "what do I want to do with my life?", but I've done a whole bunch of different things (ex/ took a leave from teaching and owned and operated a restaurant for a year, because it was something I always wanted to do). Maybe we're not supposed to ever do just one thing and be satisfied. Maybe we're supposed to taste all this amazing world has to offer and trust that at the end of the line, we'll be satisfied with what we've done.

What I do know is that on our death beds, we'll never think, oh, I should have worked more :)

Judging from the length of my response, I'd say you touched a nerve with me too haha

OH, thank you to @simplymike for featuring your post in her Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry :)

Sort:  

For some reason, I knew it would resonate with you 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60676.09
ETH 2903.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46