My friend Silvia's legacy

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I received some devastating news today; my good friend Silvia, back home in Canada, was diagnosed with a rare and aggressive form of stomach cancer. She had been having stomach issues for sometime, but all of her medical tests showed that 'nothing' was wrong. This last test confirmed the horrible news, but of course now it is way too late to do anything. It looks as though she won't be leaving the hospital. To make matters worse, her only daughter, who has been trying to get pregnant, finally is, but my friend won't live to see that baby born.

I've been switching between sadness and anger all day; there is no 'reason' for something like this to happen. I taught high school with her for years and she was one of those amazing teachers who spent countless hours inside and outside the school working on all things school related. She, along with 5 of us, created "PA-MOJA, a North American charitable organization that helps Kenyan children go to school while supporting the conservation efforts of the Ol Pejeta Wildlife Conservancy in the Laikipia region of Kenya." When my husband got sick, I pulled out of the whole program, but Silvia continued, and helped to create this amazing program. It's so different than a lot of similar programs because first and foremost they honor Kenyan culture, and support people and animals; they even have cultural exchanges. If you're interested, here is a link to their "Philosophy" page : http://pa-moja.com/our-philosophy/.
But the highlights to "What makes us different?" are:

  1. We are volunteer driven.
  2. We are transparent and invite donors to see our projects.
  3. We support wildlife as well as people.
  4. We promote cultural exchanges.
  5. We honor Kenyan culture.

I was going to post something entirely different today, but have been unable to think of anything but my friend and all of the amazing times we had together. PA-MOJA is one of her legacies, and I needed to honor her and her work here today. She deserves it.

I've decided to donate whatever this post earns to PA-MOJA ; I'm hoping she's alive to see it all happen.

Thank you everyone...remember to LIVE life please :)

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF.gif
DQmQ599LwdiqJJw5oko4MK4PHcPJCZkvk8ScrW9ojcJfGX9.png

Sort:  

I will be sending positive vibrations to your dear friend Silvia. This sadden emotional state takes ALOT of energy out of you. I hope you find the power and energy to send to Silvia. As I read through these comments, I am reminded that the collectiveness is a powerful force...Together we have unlimited power...

You send it! It makes me feel amazing when I see all of the kind-hearted comments and well wishes being sent my way. My husband unfortunately has cancer also, and he (@briancourteau) and I often write poems to each other on here. We both have been pleasantly surprised by the outpouring of emotion from people; you are absolutely correct when you say "the collectiveness is a powerful force". People helping people...that's my thing! Thank you so so much!

Have you heard of the Gerson Therapy? I have been researching this and recommending it for years. Thought I would just pass it along if you haven't. I can feel the power of our hearts opening to you and your family. May our energies find their way to you. :)
https://gerson.org/gerpress/the-gerson-therapy/

Thank you so much! I haven't heard about it but I'm going to read it now:)

I really like this post lynncoyle1! keep it up!

Thank you for all of your support; I really appreciate it! Cheers:)

I am so sorry, illness strikes at any random moment, and we are left picking up the pieces.

Isn't that the unfortunate truth!! My husband unfortunately also has cancer, so I know too well the pieces you speak of! Thank you for stopping by:)

I'm so sorry to hear that. I am also currently being affected by someone's cancer.

I'm so sorry to hear that; it's not easy to say the least. May I ask who in relation to you is sick? @briancourteau (my husband) and I have talked, written poetry etc on both our blogs about his illness and our struggles with it. It's somewhat cathartic; and this is a wonderful group of caring people here on steemit for sure...the well wishes have been amazing. I wish you and yours health also.

It's my best friend. Thanks for the good wishes. :)

I pray that the healing power of God comes upon her in Jesus name amen. It's well dear @lynncoyle1

Thank you very much for your prayers!

So sorry to hear about your friend Silvia. Praying for her.

Thank you very much for your kind words and prayers!

So sorry to hear about your friend. I truly hope that she is treated well and doesn't suffer too much. Wonderful of you to honour her in this way. All the best.

Thank you very much! When I found out about it all, I just had to do something; it is such a helpless feeling. Thanks again, I appreciate you stopping by.

So sorry-- sending love and prayers. Cancer knows no borders, no colors... and is often unexpected. Your friend sounds like an amazing and beautiful person... I can't believe there isn't something that can be done for her....

Thank you so much; I appreciate your kind words. I too just can't believe there's nothing to be done for her. Apparently it's too far gone by the time they found it. It's a difficult pill to swallow for sure! Thanks for stopping by:)

So sorry to hear about your friend!

Thank you so much for that; I really appreciate it!

Sending over love and prayers. Miracles still happen. My mother was diagnosed with stage 4 breast cancer that has metastized to other organs but we just spoke over the phone about our plan to set up another charity program in Thanksgiving for her being 12 years free from cancer.

It may not be too much but I hope my upvote and resteem help.

Thank you so much for your kind words; that along with your upvote and resteem is more than I can ask for! You are very kind. I'm so happy for you, your mom and entire family...I'm hoping for a miracle also!! Thank you again:)

I wish strength and peace to you and your friend. May blessings come to you and your loved ones.

#steemitbloggers

Aww thank you so much for your kindness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57