When religion turns into a business

in #life6 years ago


Image source: Pixabay

An unexpected request

A few months ago, I was asked to be the godmother of an adorable little angel. Despite the fact that I am not a very religious soul, I could not refuse the request. I loved that little angel from the first moment I laid my eyes on her.

As she was born in winter, we did not rush with the christening because we feared my god daughter would catch a cold. Thus we decided to have her baptism somewhere in spring.

The misunderstanding

I contacted the priest at the closest church in her area and tried to set a date for the christening. From my conversation with the priest I understood I had to call back and confirm the date (March 20th something) once the mother of the child agreed to it. Him, on the other hand, he took it as a firm agreement.

Something came up and we weren't available for that date. Since I was travelling at the time and I did not have a set date, I did not call back the priest. I imagined that he would figure it out eventually we were not sure about the date and we would give him a call back. Being used to respect my deadlines and disregard anything which was not confirmed, I let it be without a second thought.

The surprise

Today, four months later, I called back the same father in order to book a date for the christening. This time we wanted to do it as soon as possible, according to his availability.

Imagine my surprise when he refused me. I could not believe my ears when I heard him over the phone asking me to go elsewhere because he would not do it in his church.


Image source: Pixabay

Obviously that I asked why? He replied saying that he waited for us for three hours in March and we did not even bothered to call. While I was trying to apologize and explain to him that there had been an misunderstanding, he did not wish to listen to me.

By the tone of his voice, I realized he got really annoyed with me. I reminded him that I had to confirm the date. Anyway, seeing there was no point to continue the conversation, he had his mind set, I thanked him for his time and wished him a good day.

I was biting my tongue not to say him something when he started to argue with me saying he wasted three hours of his time for me. I wanted to tell him to bill me for those three hours, since he was so irritated about it and made it all sound like a business. Maybe I should have!

Practice what you preach!

On my opinion his attitude was wrong at so many levels and for so many reasons! Let's assume we agreed on a date and we did not show up:

  1. There are phones! I gave him three phone numbers to reach us the day we spoke. If he had prepared for us and we were late or not showing up, he could have called any of the numbers provided.
  2. Forgive! Isn't this what they preach at church? Forgive and love your brother. Him, the Shepherd simply loved going on a power trip by stating my church, my rules.
  3. He chose his own ego over baptizing an innocent child who had nothing to do with all this. Way to go, Father!
  4. He acted more as a service provider than a Father. Shall I dare to add the word retaliation into this? Well, I hope he felt better that he got his revenge.

I could not be more disappointed by his reaction. We could have had this situation solved in so many ways but he chose the least expected outcome.I understand that God servants are humans and that they can't be perfect, but church won't gain any more souls with this type of behaviour. This incident won't help bring anyone back in church!

I don't mean to offend anyone by this post. We are all free to chose our religious beliefs and respect those who are similar to ours.

Sort:  

Religion never 'turned' into a business. It always was and always will be. It uses fear as a tool to attract it's "customers" and make them believe that it will make them experience solitude and safety; but the whole system is nothing more than a illusion.

Just to be clear, I'm not saying religious people shouldn't follow and worship their God. If doing so brings them hope, then there's no harm in doing it. But as soon as money is involved, the dirty game of religious politics comes into play.

It is disappointing to see this happening, but it is this way since the world and it won't change any time soon.

Dear @lymepoet, religion (as institution) is a business, it has always been.
That is why people used to pay to redeem their sins. That is why is no little no more than a political movement (it has always been - down in history they were the law) and that is why the all major "stations" have vaults filled with so much wealth that can pull the world off the greedy economic struggle altogether.
I am of Italian origins and I have received my fair share of (attempt) brain washing ... never, NEVER a believer.
A most, a requirement, a way to comply.
So, take your business elsewhere, if your have spirituality at heart he is the last person able to give it to you.

My kindest of regard.

Thank you for stopping by and sharing your thoughts! I did take my business elsewhere. I got as well my fair share of brainwashing but it did not last long. The moment I started to ask questions, I was no longer welcomed.

You're welcome.
Have a good weekend. :)

Agreeing with @lady-idra - that organised religion as an institution is a business, but of course the individual priest could try to practice what they preach..! Sadly it seems to rarely be the case, but I guess it can be hard, even for the priests, when everything is handled as a business, everything in society around us. The church should be a refuge in all this, but when there is money in the game, it's hard to keep up the spirituality I guess.. Hope you'll end up having a nice ceremony anyway, maybe you should all just go into the woods, and call the uncorrupted priests of nature ;D

Thanks! I found another place for the ceremony and a nicer priest. Money spoils everything!

That's an interesting response. I've found that this is an increasingly common attitude among the clergy, especially in mainline denominations. It's sad, but the church has devolved.

Lately it seems that it has done it more and more, as I saw less people going to church.

I think there may be a reason fewer people are in church. Overall, the church has declined in numbers. George Barna has written some interesting things on why that is. But I think there's more than just one reason. A lot of it does have to do with internal politics. Sad state we're in today.

It seems from reading the comments below people have confused religion with following God. Two separate issues.
Baptized has been change and used for religion into something different then its purpose. All religions do this.
I am a follower of God but by no means religious or follow any religion. Not one is worth a crap to follow or support.

Sorry for your experience. Its a shame the way religion has turned people away from God.

Thank you! I agree, there are two separate issues.

Your wright though. No matter what its about the child. Don't care about anything else. And the old bastard was wrong in that instance.

Yeah, there were lots of ways this could have been handled ... most much better than this one.

(So ... if he'd waited for you all day, would you have wasted 24 hours of his time ... and he would be entitled to be 8 times more angry?)

I think I'd have left after 30 minutes, taped a note to the door saying, "Sorry to have missed you. Give me a call."

I would have done something similar or at least tried to call.

Brother's great posts, good luck always in steemit business

Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91