Waiting on the Moment

in #life7 years ago

A group of my friends and I visited Atlanta, Georgia for a few days this week. The purpose of our trip was to connect with some new business partners in the area. What we found with our new friends was people hanging tough.

Downtown Atlanta has been experiencing slowing growth in the past decade, and our friend’s business has been struggling to grow.

There is some hope for them as a large German real estate firm is investing hundreds of millions into their building and the surrounding area.

The mass of investment dollars may create a situation that will bring thousands of new visitors to their spot in Atlanta - the problem is I don’t know if that will fix our friend’s slowing business.

What I continually heard as we were conversing, was a reliance on what may happen and a lack of why their business exists.

Let’s be honest, there are times when we can get by with the rising tide and be successful at what we do. However, eventually the trend will change and we will be stuck not knowing what to do next.

We love to hold onto hope and wish for the day when things will be better in our lives. I am not knocking hope and working hard, but I am saying that reality must be front and center.

This is one thing that drives me crazy about the crypto community. There is too much reliance on crypto being the be all end all. What if cryptocurrency does not work out? Is your hope blinding your wisdom?

While I think that crypto is going to be future, we must always be willing to change. One thing is certain, change is inevitable, but success is optional.


Image Sources: 1-2

Sort:  

I've got to confess when my son and I were driving to Florida we stayed in the HOV lane and bypassed the city. Maybe we're used to the safety of Toronto but Atlanta's reputation preceded it in our eyes. Mind you, Deb and I drove in certain districts in downtown Detroit just after the riots there and were unscathed but now Detroit's undergoing urban renewal, so maybe the same may apply to other cities.

but now Detroit's undergoing urban renewal, so maybe the same may apply to other cities.

I concur with you on finding the safer routes through the cities. There is also something to urban renewal contributing to a safer environment - at least for a time.

I have friends that go into Detroit all the time for the pleasure of shows, dining, or sports. I go into Detroit when I have to. In the New Center part where there are cops everywhere, you fell secure. However if you get a flat going or leaving there, good luck.

that's what I've been told too - don't care to find out :)

My friend, sometimes it is so hard to know and choose what to do... especially when living in uncertain times.

I appreciate your thought-provoking article. You've reminded me of this:

"Cast your bread upon the waters,
  for you will find it after many days.
Give a portion to seven, or even to eight,
  for you know not what disaster may happen on earth."

- Ecclesiastes 11:1-2

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you for that beautiful reminder, brother. I did not desire to seem harsh or cruel. Your wise choice of the Scripture is enlightening.

I am glad I stopped by and read this, I have been thinking about Crypto and it's growth for the last couple days. I have only infested my time and effort here on Steem and taking my profits to infest in other cryptocurrencies and block chain projects. I haven't sold my house or quit my job but I would love to be able to make a living off of my investments someday!

I haven't sold my house or quit my job but I would love to be able to make a living off of my investments someday!

You may be able to do so quite soon. I believe this will be another Big year for crypto - a lot of smart people think so as well.

I will hold onto my hat and get ready for one heck of a ride...this last year was amazing...1.5 years of work and I made over 100,000 if I cashed out my stash...which I am not....I noticed cryptocurrency is hard to spend because it's price may increase...hehehe

Lol, that is so true.

"...cryptocurrency is hard to spend..."

True, 'dat! :D

Glad to know of your success.

Have you considered diversifying your crypto on a distributed exchange, like Bitshares? Not quite as hard as spending... ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

I almost have 10,000 bts! That's my goal

Good for you!

Very prudent...

Have you heard about Arise bank? @stan has been writing about it. It also looks very promising... ;)

I will check it out, thank you @creatr ...

After mentioning it, I was distressed (but not shocked) to discover that the government is giving the new bank an extremely hard time...

I hope they survive it...

Hello Lydon, I just stumbled onto your blog roll for a first time. As I was reading a couple of things came up for me. The first was how important it is to be cultivating a spirit of discernment so when those moments of uncertainty arise we do not become slaves to anxiety, but can restfully seek understanding without needing to clamber about uselessly just to feel like we are getting “somewhere.” The other was how somehow I found myself drawn to think of “the wind blows where it will... you don’t know where it comes from nor where it is headed” and how dynamic a world we’ve been placed in by a pretty imaginative creator. Fun to ponder... thank you.

That is a kind and humbling synopsis you have written. Thank you @genxrev. Following your work now.

You’re most welcome... and frankly your willingness to follow is pretty humbling too. Look forward to the journey together. Peace

Wise words, my friend. It is never good to put all out eggs in one basket. Hope you have been well.

Amen to that. Good to hear from you brother! We are doing quite well. Blessings to you and your family.

Thanks, brother! Glad to hear it.

If you don't mind, would you saying a prayer for me sometime. I had to put one of my four legged best friends down yesterday in one of the toughest decisions of my life and am taking it quite hard. The grief is real.

Been dealing with a lot of guilt on how I could have changed things but I must remind myself that God is sovereign over all.

Perhaps, when we pass through what our mind conceives as a big trouble now that it is God delivering us from a much bigger trouble later on.

In a way it kind of relates, people may be concerned especially who bought at ATHs that they have lost something and perhaps they did in a sense but I would say that the only time you truly lose completely is when you don't learn something from it.

In that sense, the trouble we go through today may be the graces of tomorrow.

Hello anthonyadavisii... not wanting to step forward out of place, but with your permission I’d also be willing to hold you in prayers well. I know we’ve never met, but with your permission I’d do so... it’s kind of how I’m trying to move within this Steemit community. Peace to you and may God hold you in tender hands. @genxrev

By all means, I am in a bad way right now and could use all the grace I can get.

I'm very sorry to hear that. I will hold you in my personal prayers... but here and now...

Gracious Lover of broken hearts and grieving souls, I pray for Anthony and his family for the hard choices they needed to make to release his dear friend. The sorrow is real and the wounds just hurt. Hold him... let your love for him serve as a balm and may he feel your embrace. Grant him peace this night and comfort in these next days as he walks through this valley where Death's shadow feels all too real. Remind Anthony that you will serve as his strength and comforter every step of the way.
~Amen

I had to put one of my four legged best friends down yesterday in one of the toughest decisions of my life and am taking it quite hard.

I hear you, brother. My wife went through a similar period of grief when we had to put down one of our beloved horses recently - it is not easy.

Praying that The Great Comforter fills you with His presence, and that you rest in His plan. He is enough.

Cool post love Atlanta definitely a hidden gem! up voted and followed i'm new to steeemit but if you get the chance please check my blog out I think you will enjoy it thanks!

We had a great time there!

I generally don’t give a second look to someone who asks me to check out their blog, but for yours I am giving an exception. We have similar interests and anyone who is pulling 400+ on a deadlift has my attention - love me some deadlifting. Steem on fella!

Cryptos might not work out, blockchain technology will.

We shall wait and see.

either we want it or not we gonna change and adapt to the new things. those that cannot will left behind and probably will be an example for the rest. it may sound harsh but that's what i believe is the ''general'' rule

Innovate or die as they say.

well this will work only on trust until the system has lets hope for a better change for all

It sure is and moreover every business does holds risk !I do am and many do believes that Crypto sure will become the future !

We sure are planning on it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54357.85
ETH 2282.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31