Should We Aspire to Retire?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

There is a principle in Hebrew that says if there is no word for a concept, that concept does not exist. Now for a language that is over 3,000 years old, there are a few words that have been added over the years. Modern technologies such as televisions, cell phones, or even microwaves have quite complex and difficult translations in the Hebrew language, such as televeez'ya for television. But, there is no Hebrew word for retirement. If you listen to any Jewish Rabbi, he will tell you that there is no word for retirement in the Hebrew language because the concept of retirement does not exist in Judaism.

There is a comical story I read once that sheds some light on this thought process. The story is told by William Diehl in his book Never Retire.

"A man had led a long and eventful life, but the time eventually came for him to cross the deep lake. He was pleased with the skiff and the oarsmen, as well as with his welcome and the accommodations furnished to him. The surroundings were beautiful, the weather pleasant, and the food more than adequate. After a few weeks, he thought he might try his hand at some gardening, but that could not be arranged. After repeated requests to work in the dining hall or on the grounds, he cried out in exasperation, "This is no better than Hell." The reply came booming out from above, "Where did you think you were?" -William Diehl

The Lies We Believe

1- Work has no value in and of itself.

When we believe that work is only a means to an end we loathe the work itself and crave the day we no longer need to do it. How healthy is that? The basis of work is building or sharing something that has value to our neighbor and receiving compensation for it in return. When we no longer are doing something of value our spirit begins to understand that we are no longer valuable to society.

That is a dangerous place to be and one I never want to consciously enter. Each one of us ought to be living in order to work and not the other way around. The rewards of our labor are a token of appreciation for the service we provide for our clients. That appreciation for our work is a basic human need. I once heard a mentor say that every person walks around with a sign on their forehead that reads, "Please appreciate me."

2- People become less productive and less useful as they age.

This is one of the saddest lies I hear purported throughout the media today. We shuffle people through the system like cattle from birth to death, and for the ones that are of "retirement age" we succumb to the notion that they are useless to us. The truth of the matter is, people become more useful as they age for the simple fact that earning money is based on relationships, and older folks typically have a lot more relationships they have built over the years.

The relational Rolodex we build as we live on this earth increases the potential for our effective wealth creation. Granted, there are hermits and recluses to the equation but there anomalies to any idea. The passage of time engrafts a wisdom into each of us that allows our mental capacities to far outweigh our physical limitations. I wrote an article a few weeks ago titled We See Money with Our Minds and Not Our Eyes. That fact is a perfect example of how valuable the wisdom of our elders is to us. They have learned their lessons and avoid the pitfalls that younger workers are susceptible to.

Living to Work

I read a story the other day that is a real life example for us to learn from. Now, I will say that this scenario is not my ideal. But, the principles outlined here and the mindset of the gentleman in our story is a beautiful example of the concepts in this article.

Matel "Mat" Dawson has worked for the Ford Motor Company for nearly 60 years. Mat runs a forklift for the company and while he is 78 and could have retired years ago, he chooses to keep working. His base salary is $23.47 an hour, and with the overtime hours he works (he usually works around 60 hours a week), Mat earns around $100,000 a year.

The beauty of this story is that Mat gives most of his hard earned money away. A few years ago, Mat gave $200,000 to Wayne State University, which brought his total giving to the University to over $1 million. Mat has also given several hundred thousand dollars to the United Negro College Fund, and Louisiana State University at Shreveport. The irony is, Mat never finished the seventh grade. He never won the lottery or a lawsuit of any sort. Mat just goes to work, saves his money, and invests in things he cares about. He says he has no plans to retire and hopes to be at Ford Motor Company working as a forklift operator as long as he is healthy.

The principle I draw from Mat's story is that we are to integrate our vocation and our identity into our lives so that we view our lives as a journey and not a destination. The pitfalls to not doing so are seeing your life end when your job ends. How many stories have we heard of people who died in 5 years or less after they retired? The goal is not to live our lives so we can retire and live free. You are already free and the life we have is the life we choose to have.


Thank you for visiting. alt text me for more great content.


Image Sources: 1-2

Sort:  

Everyone is different but I bet nearly all the people who write here are trying to see if they can make a living off of writing, because work is difficult, boring and in most cases not satisfying. Lucky the few who land jobs where they feel completely rewarded.

Hello, @gduran, as a writer, you should know that writing is hard work! :O

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thanks for calling me a writer, I guess I can aspire to be one some day, I guess it gets easier the more you practice, that is why I comment a lot, and also try to put in a few articles every week.

That is an interesting statement. You're right, in most cases, people do not find their job satisfying. I see you live in La Ceiba. I visited there years ago. How do you like it?

Well, it's ok I guess, but we have very high unemployment and crime is also high.

I am sorry to hear that. What drew you to Steemit?

Curiosity mainly.

This is an interesting question. I like the William Diehl story and think that would be me!!!

Glad you enjoyed the read. Lol. Shall I call you William?

Well like the adage says, "you can call me anything, just done call me late for dinner" LOL!
Good post. I enjoy your "work" :)

Lol! Love it! Thank you. That is always enjoyable to hear. :)

The only real problem with work is that (in the present age) it is coupled to and necessary for survival. I believe that one day, in God's final kingdom, we will work for the sheer joy of it, our survival already assured. :)

How sweet it will be.

Work

Let me but do my work from day to day,
In field or forest, at the desk or loom,
In roaring market-place or tranquil room;
Let me but find it in my heart to say,
When vagrant wishes beckon me astray,
"This is my work; my blessing, not my doom;
"Of all who live, I am the one by whom
"This work can best be done in the right way."

Then shall I see it not too great, nor small,
To suit my spirit and to prove my powers;
Then shall I cheerful greet the labouring hours,
And cheerful turn, when the long shadows fall
At eventide, to play and love and rest,
Because I know for me my work is best.

You are the best John. That was lovely.

I memorized that in grade 7, lydon - It inspired me all my life :)

I can see why. :)

Great piece. Finding a job that you don't hate is very important. If you find a job that you love then you probably won't be a hurry to retire in the traditional sense. You'll likely earn more in the job you love as well.

Thank you. You're right, it will be a less stressful life and a joy to work each day.

Hello @lydon.sipe! Nice and engaging. Very informative.

Hello corvuscoraxx! Thank you for your kind words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72