From Blind Man to Renowned Author

in #life7 years ago

Quitting the first time a problem presents itself does not eliminate the problem, it ensures that problem continues.

Those wise words are from Jim Stovall. Jim is a man that lives with blindness. However, he has not allowed that handicap to hold him back.

One of Jim’s good friends, Steve Forbes, calls him one of the most inspiring entrepreneurs of the last century. Upon hearing Jim’s story, I certainly agree.

Jim has written 40 books and counting since he first heard the news that a rare illness was removing his sight.

Rather than stay at home in his 9x13 prison, as Stovall calls it, he decided to take one step, and then another to a new life.

7 of Jim’s books have been made into major motion pictures. The most popular one to date being, The Ultimate Gift.

I had the honor of hearing Jim Stovall speak this past weekend. His honest tale of depression and success is one of the most inspiring I have ever heard.

May you be encouraged by his fortitude in whatever stage of your journey you are in.


Image Sources: 1-2

Sort:  

he never gave up and that's should be the spirit of everyone :)

I always feel ashamed when I complain and then see folks that have some serious problems.

I know the feeling...

Is the movie going to be at the theatres or Netflix? Or ? I watched the trailer but there was nothing about that.

One of my favorite scripture verses to remind myself of is

...we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope...(Rom 5:3,4)

So, when we give up (in our suffering), we just suffer and suffer about our suffering. When we persevere in our faith in God that He is with us in it, we will produce character and eventually hope. It's a circle - our hope is in God, we suffer, we trust, we build character and have more hope. I get it anyway :)

Oh it's not a system....no, no. I have given up many many times and I know what it's like to suffer about my suffering. I also know what it's like when I persevere trusting God. So why don't I do that more? It's easier to trust what I see and feel is why.

So your Jim Stovall's words pack a punch. I will see if I can find one of his books. I definitely want to watch this movie though....let me know what you find out about it please and thank you :)

We just suffer and suffer about our suffering

Aptly put @countrygirl.

It is a beautiful redemption that The Lord creates out of suffering.

Here is a link to the Amazon video. The Ultimate Gift has been out for a few years now. My family enjoys it. :)

beautiful post, lydon. Guess I'm going to be watching that movie too :)

Thank you, John. I would imagine so. :)

It does means that noting can stop a person if the will power is strong .
He is the living definition of it :)

That he is - a go-getter. :)

This post has received a 2.22 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @lydon.sipe. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75