Failing and Learning the Law of Timing

in #life7 years ago

Last night I said something at the wrong time. My wife was asking my opinion about some Christmas gifts she bought, and my response was less than gracious.

To make matters worse, I responded in front of her family and embarrassed her. While her family agreed with me, the timing was not right, and neither was my tone.

This afternoon I read a chapter from John Maxwell’s book on the 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership - the truth hit me square between the eyes.

Saying the right thing at the wrong time, does not make the right thing right. What we receive from that action is resistance, and I saw it plainly in my wife’s defense of herself.

Like a good husband, I ask my wife’s forgiveness in front of her family - that second part was hard. She smiled and her eyes sparkled - a happy wife, and life was happy again.

What we do in public must be settled in public if things go wrong.

We cannot expect one bad reaction to not need an equal one to remedy it. There is a balance and simplicity to every decision we make.

Thankfully, my life is blessed with a wonderful family, great friends, and good books. The decisions I make are always under the microscope. It makes the bad ones turn good.


Image Source: 1

Sort:  

Nice thought. Love the maxim: "What we do in public must be settled in public if things go wrong."
Very inspiring. :)

If you hadn't written this @bitbulls, I certainly would have: Such an incredibly important concept we should all learn and live by.
Well done @lydon.sipe, I'm going to remember, and practice, this maxim for the rest of my life.

Saying the right thing at the wrong time does not do the right thing. That phrase came to my heart, just yesterday I said something right at the wrong time, the question would be how to remedy it if I was right? God bless you

This comment blessed my heart. We all learn through each other as the Lord leads us on.

we are all rights fighters - but it takes a real man to stand up the way you did, lydon, whether or not you were right. Believe it or not, following principles will lead you astray faster than following your heart...well, at least, that's the way I see it. You always give me a reason to like you, my friend, and I already like you:)

I actually had a similar incident today where I was at the Christmas party with my three bosses.

I might have had a tad too much to drink, but we all have a very chill relationship so our convo wasn't out of the norm.

I was telling them all about my escapades since graduating which included learning how to day trade and my attempt at writing a book haha

One of the docs gave me some constructive criticism that kinda hurt to hear and honestly was kind of harsh and I instantly went into defense mode.

He called me an idealist that should write all of their ideas down so someone else can do them. They are all three very wise and successful and I honestly should have just listened to then and took it in. I ended up apologizing to them before I left, which was hard, but I think very rewarding.

Sometime the truth is hard to hear, but it's one of the best gifts you can receive. Thanks for sharing! I'm happy you were able to step up to the plate and right your wrongs!

I smile inside and out, hearing how you love your wife. :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Loved the way you dealt with mending your misjudged response. Inspiring!
:D

Good to hear! :)

We cannot expect one bad reaction to not need an equal one to remedy it. There is a balance and simplicity to every decision we make.

The principle.....simple yet most difficult to execute when our egos get in the way. We too often want to be right in our unrighteousness.

Thanks for sharing how to love your wife - I'm sure your example will shed light for many.

We too often want to be right in our unrighteousness.

Yes, we do. We hold our ego tightly fearing we would lose all. How fresh and freeing the words of our Savior, “he who loses his life, shall find it.”

@lydon
I didn't receive any physical gift from you this Xmas but with this your awesome write up, I have received more than a special gift from you this season of celebration, thanks a lot for inspiring me sir..
saying the right thing at the wrong time doesn't make the right thing right you nailed it here sir, thanks once again.

You are most welcome @frank4jesus. Thank you for the extremely encouraging words. A Merry Christmas to you sir.

Well done Lydon. Not many folks are willing to take ownership of their actions. I respect that.

Thank you Paul. It certainly wasn’t easy.

Aww... so sweet.. may God shower His blessings upon you and your family.
Every family must do it in that way, then the world will be a better place to live in..
Thanks for sharing your personal experience..

Thank you. :)

My pleasure..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62625.86
ETH 3333.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47