Design and Daily Life: Food in Korea

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Food is an amazing cultural artifact. I love food. I love meals with friends. I love the magic of raw ingredients becoming cooked. The very essence of what it means to be human is bundled into every meal. But I’m getting carried away.

Backpedal.

2-foods-types-drawing.jpg
Food Types in Korea, Luka Rejec, 2017

When I travel, I try every single thing I get my hands on. Mostly. It’s why I love food in Korea: the variety is astounding. Abalones, eels, kelp, ginseng, hallabongs, makgeoli, big fat raddishes and chunky round pufferfish, pickled crabs and penis fish. And many more.

Each of those is fascinating. And usually delicious. I’ll write about them sometime.

But there is another reason I find eating in Korea so very, very different from Europe. Restaurant specialization.

Restaurants in Europe

In Europe, restaurants split neatly according to social class. I tell them apart by table settings. Nothing on the table: lower class joint. One glass, one fork and one knife: middling fare. Two or more glasses, sets of cutlery and fine linens: upper class.

They might be Italian or German or Turkish or Moroccan or Martian, but they function the same way. I go into a restaurant and then choose what I eat. Will it be lamb soufflé or shrimp paté or patates soumise-en-beurre or boiled cow bits in a crust with two peas. I choose one thing, my friends choose different things. Then, just desserts.

Depending on class, I can expect older oil and a lower bill. And flavor and ambience, sure.

Restaurants in Korea

This is not the case in Korea. Here, restaurants are specialized according to their main dish.

Pork on a grill in a pork belly place

I can go to a place that does grilled chicken, beef barbecue, pork belly, puffer fish soup, fried fish, sashimi, abalones, grilled eels, seafood stir fries, seashell grills, pickled crabs, snowflakes, bubble tea, pastries, rice rolls, rice cakes, grilled cow intestines, blood sausages, spicy steamed chicken, lamb skewers and more.

But that’s the only dish they do.

There’s no messing about with choosing dishes. Once I’m sitting with friends, we’re sharing the same meal and the same experience. Together.

2-pork-belly-place800.jpg
Pork Getting Grilled, photo by Luka Rejec, 2016

The best part is, I never feel like I’m the one person who got screwed by the damned seafood special and ended up with the three sad, burned petit-king prawns for 40 euros and a view. Oh, no. We get to bitch together. That, right there, is some good team-building design.

--/--

original post on lukarejec.com

Sort:  

Please Stop

In your your last 100 comments you used 41 phrases considered to be spam. You've received 1 flags and you may see more on comments like these. These comments are the reason why your Steem Sincerity API classification scores are Spam: 84.20% and Bot: 4.90%

Please stop making comments like this and read the ways to avoid @pleasestop and earn the support of the community.

Weissbier. Trust me. The two will work together.

Congratulations @lukarejec! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Your image of the food really drew me in, it's cute but represents everything so clearly. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64834.92
ETH 2540.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67