"The Age of Heroes and Harlots" - Part I : Introduction

in #life5 years ago (edited)


Image Source


Sleep doesn't come as easy to me as it once did. Perhaps I ought to consider that a gift, considering the content of my dreams as of late. I fear I have become disturbed. Too often do I see glimpses of the darkest of futures - futures that my mind convinces me are genuine potentialities based upon patterns I've observed in society.

Believe me when I tell you that I would like nothing more than to be wrong. I'd sooner welcome the news that I am suffering a sickness of the mind than to discover that my fears of where we are heading harbour any level of validity. But if there is any chance at all, that my fears are warranted, then I cannot ignore my obligation to share those fears with any who are willing to listen.

It is important to me, however, that before I unload the dark contents of my mind unto yours, that I make known one of my few definitive beliefs.

I wholeheartedly believe that humanity is as much a collective agency as it is a group of individuals. And that, while a single human being will walk a path of learning and of growth in their life time, so too is humanity as a whole on a journey that is leading somewhere. I further have faith that the destination we are heading towards is one we will be happy to arrive at, but that in order to get there, much like you or I will have to make mistakes and to endure some times of hardship in order to become the people we ought to be, so too must our species undergo similar bouts of difficulty if we are to take from it what we need to evolve into something greater.

With that said, if any of the speculations I make do come to pass in your lifetime, then I hope that you will be able to find the strength to do what will surely seem impossible; to remain trusting towards nature and the universe, and to exhibit only optimism in the face of darkness, knowing that it is a necessary consequence of journeying towards the light.

I am asking you not to lose faith in people, even when it becomes clear that the majority of us have lost faith in ourselves.


In this series I will be speaking upon many issues that are a cause for concern to me. Undoubtedly, much of what I say will be entirely controversial. I intend to share my thoughts and theories regarding feminism, human trafficking, paedophilia, vigilantism, transgenderism, decentralisation, anarcho-capitalism and more. I am quite certain that I will be wrong about some things, but I am more interested in sharing with you those things that I may be right about.

Please remember that much of this will be mere speculation, - a precautionary discussion on where we may be heading if we carry on the way that we have been. I will be asserting nothing as fact, and ask that any comments left in response to the topics I will be providing commentary upon, reflect the hypothetical nature of anything posed throughout the series. I will not respond to emotionally charged comments.

In the next part of The Age of Heroes and Harlots, I will discuss the psychological effects of modern-day feminism, on both men and women, and how it may be paving the way towards a world where women are more vulnerable than at any other point in humanity's history.
Sort:  

It is difficult in this age not to lose faith in people, that is for sure, but more important than ever to reach within ourselves to find empathy and compassion. People like you always give me hope for the future even when it seems dark :)

Just put up the best of the vids we've made on just1swig thus far, a long way to go but we'll get there!

Spicy Beers and Hot Music

I do not think that this series is going to give you hope for the future. Lol.

I'm in it solely for the Hot Music. It's always great to see Ed getting his jam on, though I miss the harmonica!

He had the harmonica, unfortunately the only song that came out clear was the one he played outdoors, too much noise in close quarters when he went inside...we need to get him a mic to clip on his shirt!

Congratulations @lordless.exile! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.
You got more than 200 replies. Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66437.76
ETH 3321.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71