What it's like to grow up poor with rich friends

in #life8 years ago (edited)

When I was a kid I lived with my mom and my brother. My mom didn't have a job and my brother was in high school. Dad lived in the US and fell into some problems for a really long time, so he couldn't provide either.

When we moved in a new, smaller flat, I didn't have any friends, so I tried to impress everyone around me - everyday I would get into a fight, destroy something or just get into some crazy shit, so people constantly complained to my mum, but she was great - always told them to mind their own business or something. ( I don't really know - I was always out, planning my next stunt)

When I started school I made some friends who I'd hang out with. They used to show me their huge flats and the great new phone that they just got, their huge pocket money. I was always like - Oh, I had that phone, but I was playing a game on the balcony and it fell and got destroyed, so I have this cheap one now. or Yeah, I had a parrot too, but my dad took it with him when he left. or I forgot my money at home... or Mom doesn't like people in our flat, so I can't show you where I live. Don't know if if I was a great liar or they knew I was lying and just didn't care...

I used to tell these lies almost every day, I was so ashamed that we're poor and scared that my friends won't like me.

Everything changed in my 6th year of school. My rich friends changed school and my class got joined with another class, so I found some new friends that were always joking about being broke (even though they weren't), so I joined in and finally confessed that I'm really poor. The freedom from this was huge . They didn't mind at all and we hanged out all the time doing random stuff and having fun.

After that, my mom found a job and my dad returned from the US (and moved to UK soon after haha), so life really changed for me and I was doing good, still wasn't rich or anything, but I no longer lied about everything and could afford going to the cinema sometimes or buy quality shoes. I stopped wearing my brothers clothes.

I can't even begin to fathom how hard it must have been for my mom to raise me alone with no money. (I didn't exactly make it easy with all the trouble I was getting into...) She always ate very little food and didn't buy stuff for herself, so we could go on a school trip or so we could get some school needs.

Thanks for reading. Please share, upvote and reply - maybe tell your own stories ? I'd love to hear them ! Check out my other posts :) Follow @lorddominik007

Sort:  

People need to stop bullying others for having less, I also had less growing up! So I know how you felt, Although it wasn't as extreme. My family had to be on all sorts of welfare programs and such. It was embarrassing, We also had second hand clothes to wear on the first day of school.

Thanks for sharing, I hope you feel better overall about your experiences.

Yeah, I feel like that helped me become me (not that I'm great or anything lol) and I found out how it helps to stop fronting and start being honest about your life. Don't pretend you are something you're not or you will always be surrounded by people who will never ever understand you. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read :)

Being less fortunate when it comes to money, makes you appreciate the better things is life. I wouldn't change that for nothing. It's sad to see spoiled kids not knowing the true value in life and appreciation. Money can come afterwards. Thank you for sharing!

I agree, but I wouldn't want my kids to grow up like that. Saying no to not spoil them is fine, but when you have to say no , because you're penniless ....

I agree it's tough when you don't have the money..

Thanks for sharing your story. I grew up in a small town my dad owned the local store and everyone thought we were millionaires...we wernt , Dad had borrowed a lot from the bank and interest rates were very high ( like 15-18% high) I never knew how close we came to losing it all. We never did without and after my dads passing I have heard many stories of my dads generosity to people doing it tough., that stuff is worth more than $$.

So you were millionaires ? Cool.. Haha just kidding.
Cool story man, your dad must have been a real hard worker. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70880.42
ETH 3658.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75