When Stephen King gets you thinking: Lokii's Thoughts

in #life7 years ago (edited)

DQmdozY7e5ktbe15L9CsqWRmm3awEFdWR6e4G5qkw8FR1Eo(1).jpg

Image Source - Dark Poetry by @japhofin8or
Check this out, you won't regret it.


Recently I have been reading through some of my many Stephen King novels. I love his books, well basically I love reading anything with a good story, and have a decent collection of them. My most recent adventure into the dark and twisted realm of Stephen King’s mind is with “It”.

While reading through the book I came across a very entertaining and thought provoking (at least for me) line.

“They glanced around at each other almost furtively, embarrassed, as Americans always seem to be, by the raw fact of their own success – as if cash were hardcooked eggs and affluence the farts that inevitably follow and overdose of the same.”

This line can be found in Part 3 Chapter 1: The Reunion, of Stephen King’s novel “It”.

Now I don’t believe this is the case 100% of the time, but I do believe there is truth in that line. I also don’t believe that this always applies to wealthy people, just to the wealthiest people in a specific environment. I myself have felt this from time to time even though I am far from rich and always have been.

The thought provoking aspect for me is not that the embarrassment is there, but why is it there. I believe the answer is due to the negative feelings a high amount of people in the world hold toward persons of wealth. These people seem to think that being “wealthy” is synonymous with “greedy and corrupt.” I disagree with this mostly because it is not true, and partly because it is another way to throw people into groups and judge them as such (which seems to be all the rage these days).

What I believe to be true is that you can find greed and corruption with wealth maybe 50% of the time at most. Then again, those two terms can be very subjective and change based on the perspective of the individual. Another thing I believe to be true is that the wealthier an individual is the more likely they are to give back to their community or to give to charity. You can even see this behavior on this platform with whales creating systems to enable new users to succeed.

So, these are my thoughts for today and I would like to leave you with a little bit of advice that has helped me. People in general tend to focus on negative aspects in life and forget to look for anything positive. Next time you have a negative feeling towards something, take a minute to look at it from a different perspective and see if there is any positive. You might be surprised what you can find if you stop relying on knee jerk reactions.


DQmaFztEDcCUaHUoj5QvkWhE7eUhK3wJBGkjoZEpXimwZKf.png

Sort:  

At first I thought this was going to be about another kind of embarrassment, that of feeling inferior for not being as well-off as someone else you meet.

You're right though, there's a certain stigma attached to being wealthy. But with most of the rich people I meet, it's hard to judge. Here in Japan, the social fiction is that everyone is the same, so rich people tend not to stand out so much, and there's not as much social stratification to begin with.

In America though, there is definitely often that atmosphere of being evaluated by others.

This post has received a 17.42 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @lokii.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55