It's alright for you, Lloyd

in #life7 years ago

Dis Content

This is a great excuse.

I've used it myself for many years. It excuses me from having a go, even from trying. It excuses my previous lack of effort and fits me into a mindset that says nothing is ever going to get better. It's alright for them... but it's bloody hard work for me - too hard to even bother...

It riles me when I hear it used against me.

It's alright for you, you've got 2500 SP
It's alright for you, you've been on this platform for more than a year
It's alright for you, you've got a big network
It's alright for you, you live in the UK, a rich country
It's alright for you, you had a good job with a pension
It's alright for you, you own your own house
It's alright for you, you're married
(I also got "you're not married" when I wasn't married!)
It's alright for you, you've got a degree
It's alright for you, you don't live with your parents... etc.

Over the years I've heard all of these from people who didn't have these things. Now I want to be clear - "You spot it, you got it". I know that these particularly upset me because they're excuses I like to use myself, even if they're only in my head. Some of them took some significant, hard work, some of them really did just drop into my lap, that's life. I guess I want less to admonish those who might have said (or be saying right now!) "It's all right for you, Lloyd" and instead look harder at to whom I'm applying this thinking myself and what the envy that's implicit in there is telling me about what I want.

I'm definitely in the "It's alright for those who have more than 100,000SP" or those who mined Bitcoin on their CPU (and kept their private keys safe). But I should dig a bit deeper and be aware of where it sneaks in in other places. What is stopping me be like people I admire, because I think what they're doing is somehow easy or unobtainable to me?

Sort:  

Hmmm, what stops me of being the people I admire. In my case I believe is 1. I am not good enough, no matter what; 2. Procrastination, I will do this tomorrow, when I will be on holiday, certainly not today :) and 3. Somewhere deep down in me I have a level of success that I cannot cross yet. Well good food for my thoughts for this evening. What does stops you?

What stops me? All the things you've just said. Fortunately, it's easier for me to say the following responses to you than to give them to myself :)

  1. please stop believing that.
  2. please stop doing that.
  3. maybe not today, but who knows? I see you persevering nonetheless and that's what counts in my book :)

It's alright for you and your clever philosophical talk... 😂😂😂 Seriously, there is a lot of truth in what you say there Lloyd. The old SAS motto "Who Dares Wins" applies very well too. On the other hand, I know people who are totally happy with their lot! 😉

I updated before i'd finished there! What I was going to add was that when my wife and I moved to Cumbria from Hampshire in 1982; we had NO jobs, NO permanent residence and two toddlers! It really pissed me off when visiting friends and relatives would say "You're so lucky living up here"!

I can be envious of your Cumbrian life except at times like these when I expect its about 5 degrees cooler than here. :)

I know people who are totally happy with their lot too. Can't stand 'em :D

It's alright for you to say.
Your one of those hard working achievers.
:)

@tombalistreri It's alright for you to say. You have the gift of wit :D

yeah @lucygarrod, you're not doing too badly yourself :)

come on Tom, you know very well that I'm just about as lazy and as hard-working as you are yourself :)

Loved reading this. I think the primary tag should have been philosophy. You have made me think!

Cheers!

thank you I get sloppy on tags occasionally - that's great feedback :)

Whether chance, coincidence, destiny, free will, privilege, divine intervention, blessing and or hard work. Many of us aim for similar goals but for varying reasons. I wish us all to be successful to the best of our own abilities. Jealousy and envy mixed with greed is a terrible thing for our community and thenexcuses we play over and over in our minds as we compare ourselves to others or they to us is human but not in the least beneficial or productive. Keep being the great Steemian and friend that you are to all of us. You have what you have, the best thing to do is to appreciate it, not take it for granted and bless others when given the opportunity and that doesn't always mean financially :) Blessings bro, appreciate your support throughout

Great words, much appreciated. We might not exchange thoughts as often, but know that I still see your work and am grateful for being on the same road together :)

Likewise my brother, I appreciate your support as I have said since day one. We are early pioneers in Steemit, we know our bridges are strong and can be crossed anytime. Steem on with respect and love

I really enjoyed reading your post. It is very honest and I appreciate that! It is worth reflection on what we have and what we wish we had! We do live in affluent countries and sometimes I forget that.

I am just getting some Steemit traction and it is easy to think...I need more...next steps! But at the moment and thanks to your post I am happy with what I have!

yay! happiness!

It is very obtainable, there is so much opportunity out there that it is hard to even fathom.

Although from time to time I still wish I had a crystal ball so I wouldn't have to buy the crap coins along with the good ones to seize those opportunities.

I think it's useful to note, just because other people have bigger problems doesn't mean yours aren't important to you.

I also ask myself, "ok, while you can play the game 'If only I had known what the crypto you were interested in 6 months ago was going to do exactly, you could have enough to buy a house now!', it's not really useful. Can you play that game about the future?" I find that the answer is... no. But I can keep blogging and making friends and enjoying steemit in general. So, yay!

thank you for acknowledging the importance of my problems to me, so few will do that for a fellow :D

seriously, thanks, spot on!

thank you for sharing the article.

I really like to your articles and I really enjoy it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61434.10
ETH 2474.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64