Fragments of family

in #life6 years ago

the smelly old bag that sat opposite me on the train

Don't sit next to me in a café. I will transcribe at least parts of what you are saying. I may not look like it, but I am taking notes.

Lizzie's not well. I'm pretty sure she's dying. Given the huge numbers of people sitting in this Costa who have come to visit her in hospital, it seems likely that she's not got long. Lots of people who all look similar. Different hairstyles, but all with the same nose, a bunch with the same eyes.

Beside me is her long-forgotten sister. They haven't seen each other for a very long time, maybe since childhood. Her son asks her whether his mum knew she had a sister, like he didn't know.

Lots of photographs were passed around.

"Is that her?" "No that's her Auntie Flo".

"That one looks just like me.", "yes he was a right terror"

Someone, actually, turns out, three of them, were held in a prisoner of war camp in Hong Kong by the Japanese. Nobody ever talks about this. There was one of the sisters apparently who died there or soon after. Terribly sad.

"So who are you?" "I'm her sister." "Lizzie's sister?" "Yes." "Oh I didn't know she had one. Have you been in to see her?"

"Yes well Graham wasn't keen, the men are all like that, you know men's men, but he's been ever so good" "But he's gay is he?" "Yes, I've got a son and a lovely son-in-law"

"When I was 51 my Derek died" "I'm 51 now!" "Well I'm 51 too!" "I'm only 48"

It's a good job they've got those photos. And now Betsy, with her iPad is taking pictures of all the pictures so they've got them too.

Sort:  

Such things and discussions happen in every second house whether it is an event of death or marriage. People are always hungry to discuss the things, sometimes i consider those things as useless things.

Brilliant @llyoddavies! 😂

Now why have I never thought of doing that. Well I have actually but a slightly different version where I just write down the fragments of conversation I hear as I walk past different people . . . one day I'll do it! 😊

Don't sit next to me in a café. I will transcribe at least parts of what you are saying. I may not look like it, but I am taking notes.

Me, in a cafe when stared the people who look at me like I'm weird people 😆😆

i resteemed it to my 30,500+ followers @a-0-0

I am a big fan of your skill of twisting words superbly..

Good writing. I felt like I was part of it. I wish I could write like that..

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

51 is no age to lose anyone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81