DISCONNECTED FROM THE WORLD FOR 24 HOURS....

in #life8 years ago

Have you ever lost power and felt like your world has just been turned upside down? Well...I felt like this yesterday. It's kind of stupid to say that I went nuts without my television shows, my internet, and my phone. But I did....at the beginning.

My house was so QUIET...so DEAD. Like it was not breathing. I could hear the crickets outside...I could hear the little pitter patters of the paws from the cats walking amongst the street. It was that quiet. I know most of you are thinking, "This girl is stupid, she needs her phone and TV to survive"?

It's not that I need it to survive...but this is where I do my business, stay in contact with friends and family. A lot of people do. And no, I don't need my television, but it helps me sleep, as I live in a town that is VERY VERY quiet and I am from the city, so I am used to it being LOUD and ANNOYING. But anyways.....

It wasn't too awful. I had the company of my children. I realized that....we are all so caught up with the power of TECHNOLOGY that we are not seeing what is most important. We are not seeing how important it is to create bonds with our loved ones.

My children and I read all sorts of books....we did crafts...we enjoyed the beautiful outdoors....WE BONDED! Not saying that we don't ever bond, but for the FIRST TIME ever, we didn't turn on the television for a WHOLE 24 hours. We didn't have music to listen to, so we made our OWN songs/music. Our faces weren't buried into devices....

We didn't have the stove to cook with...so we turned on the GRILL! Luckily we still had running water so we could all bathe after playing so much! We used candles @ night to see and told AWESOME bedtime stories (kids helped). It was just a wonderful experience altogether...

I have to admit, it was a bit terrifying that I did not have a phone to use if something bad was to happen...but overall, it was AWESOME! I think from now on...my family and I will have a day without no TV, no phones (unless there's an emergency), and no computer once a month or twice a month...We will see. LOL.

I remember back in 1998, the awful ice storm that we had. My family and I went without power for almost 2 weeks. We managed to survive, but back then, we didn't have as many different devices that we have now. Plus, my family was on the poor end. We didn't have computers, cell phones, and we only lived off of ONE TV. Growing up back then, we weren't allowed to watch much tv anyways.

We spent most of our days outside, playing.....

But anyways, the storm of '98 was a HUGE winter storm and it was scary. I believe we lived off of canned goods, and spent most of our days, reading. For an entire 2 weeks with no POWER, we survived with the little that we did have. It wasn't much...but we survived.

I am actually laughing hysterically now...because I realized...with growing up having NOTHING to having so much technology now a days...it would be STUPID to say that I would go nuts without it for 24 hours. Really stupid.

Well....I am back. LOL. And of course, this would be one of the FIRST postings I make of returning. It was in my mind...so now it's here...on STEEMIT...lol.

Sort:  

Congratulations @lkong87! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @lkong87! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43