You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Getting over my fear of death

in #life6 years ago

Interesting post @natubat, unnatural fears or phobias naturally are caused by traumatic experiences. My dearest grandpa died on my 10th birthday, and I still remember being inconsolable and then one night soon after that, I realised that I would also die one day, boy was I upset abd so afraid knowing I could not escape that! Years later, my brother tragically took his own life & I could not process that, got hold of an excellent little book by dr Raymond Moody called Life after Life; he writes about his study into near death experiences, most interesting as well as comforting reading. Elizabeth Kubler-Ross had also written on the subject of death & it's not depressing stuff at all! I do believe in life after life.

Sort:  

What awful experiences to go through at such a young age. It's so sad about your brother. I can't imagine how I would cope with that. I have read Life after Life - when I was about 15. It was a life-changing book really! I haven't read Elizabeth Kubler-Ross's book yet. I hope to read it one day.
I think it's good to discuss death, and also to discuss what we loved about loved ones who have passed on. Many people find this uncomfortable, which is sad.

It is very sad, I remember everyone avoided talking about my brother yet that was all I wanted to talk about! To me death is but a rebirth, yet we're conditioned not to talk about it. Enjoy your life here and now @natubat :)

So true! Thanks @lizelle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45