You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Have you ever gotten less than what you paid for?

in #life8 years ago (edited)

My husband bought a "thumbdrive" when they first came out at the turn of the century. It was $800, but his work subsidized it, so it cost him $400. It had 4MB of storage on it, which he thought was pretty amazing.

Now, we can send twice that in a given email today. He thought he was very forward thinking for getting it. And he was. But the price dropped to $20 within two years. And now it's cheap, and in many cases obsolete already.

How things change!

Sort:  

Yep! I remember when DVD players first came out they were hundreds of dollars... I just picked one up at Goodwill that cost me $2... and it works. Not quite an apples to apples price comparison, but it works :)

I remember when CD's came out--after cassette tapes. And I was totally anti because they were $10! I would NOT conform. Boy was I an idiot. Cell phones same thing. I was really reluctant to buy one. Smart phones as well. I always had a flip phone. Literally until last year. My husband was like, "Honey, you can't go out in public like that anymore. We need to fix this, STAT."

It's a marvel I glommed onto STEEM as readily as I have, considering how slow-to-adopt-new-technology I am! But Steem speaks for itself. I took to it naturally because I like to write. If not for that, I may have missed the opportunity!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61342.71
ETH 2389.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56