You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is It Evil To Join The Military?

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I'm inclined to agree with you intuitively; however, the more I learn about people who were in the military, the more I respect them. I highly recommend listening to the Jocko Podcast and Martyrmade Podcast.

I think the average person is incredibly gullible and naive compared to people who have been in leadership positions in the military.

Also read this: https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@blakemiles84/i-m-a-former-green-beret-and-here-s-how-i-would-bring-down-bitcoin

There are some kinds of wisdom that you simply cannot learn as a civilian.

This is the nature of war, whose stake is at once the game and the authority and the justification. Seen so, war is the truest form of divination. It is the testing of one’s will and the will of another within that larger will which because it binds them is therefore forced to select. War is the ultimate game because war is at last a forcing of the unity of existence. War is god.

--from Blood Meridian

Some critiques simply aren't valid unless you have experienced the warrior lifestyle. I've never been in the military, but I tend to respect military people far more than keyboard warriors who don't understand the full scope of the situation.

I'd like to say that an army isn't necessary in an utopia, but in the current moment, it is absolutely necessary. Note that this does not mean that I support wars at all. Smart commanders are very good at maneuvering to avoid conflicts while accomplishing their objectives. This is why they are often sought after in the business world.

Sort:  

Thank you for adding some balance to this conversation. I'm dating a man who used to be full time in the military now is part-time and he works in law enforcement. He is the most admirable, kind man I have ever met (never mind really fucking hot and 14 years younger ;) But, I have never trusted a man and I trust him. He's studying to be a child psychologist.

Check out the response by @blakemiles84
https://steemit.com/life/@blakemiles84/response-is-it-evil-to-join-the-military

His other posts are also very insightful.

What happens when someone disobeys the man you're dating when he is on duty?

Well said @limitless. I would add that the SealFit podcast is a good one too.
http://sealfit.com/sealfit-podcast/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58921.34
ETH 2593.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43