You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Response: Is It Evil To Join The Military?

in #life8 years ago (edited)

This is precisely why I respect people who have been leaders in the military so much. All the low intelligence, sheep-like responses in the other thread makes me realize how truly fucked we are as a society. I like a lot of aspects of anarchism, but many arguments for it are incredibly naive.

Here is my response in the other thread:

I'm inclined to agree with you intuitively; however, the more I learn about people who were in the military, the more I respect them. I highly recommend listening to the Jocko Podcast and Martyrmade Podcast.

I think the average person is incredibly gullible and naive compared to people who have been in leadership positions in the military.

Also read this: https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@blakemiles84/i-m-a-former-green-beret-and-here-s-how-i-would-bring-down-bitcoin

There are some kinds of wisdom that you simply cannot learn as a civilian.

This is the nature of war, whose stake is at once the game and the authority and the justification. Seen so, war is the truest form of divination. It is the testing of one’s will and the will of another within that larger will which because it binds them is therefore forced to select. War is the ultimate game because war is at last a forcing of the unity of existence. War is god.

--from Blood Meridian

Some critiques simply aren't valid unless you have experienced the warrior lifestyle. I've never been in the military, but I tend to respect military people far more than keyboard warriors who don't understand the full scope of the situation.

I'd like to say that an army isn't necessary an utopia, but in the current moment, it is absolutely necessary. Note that this does not mean that I support wars at all. Smart commanders are very good at maneuvering to avoid conflicts while accomplishing their objectives. This is why they are often sought after in the business world.

Sort:  

If there's anything better than an upvote, you'd get it from me for that one @limitless. Thank you.

Agreed! I especially like this bit:

I’d like to say that an army isn’t necessary an utopia, but in the current moment, it is absolutely necessary. Note that this does not mean that I support wars at all. Smart commanders are very good at maneuvering to avoid conflicts while accomplishing their objectives. This is why they are often sought after in the business world.

Yes! We don’t live an a utopia, and probably never will. In order for anarchism to be seen as feasible, the people that are proponents of it need to address ways that it would solve real world problems. Utopia is a great intellectual exercise but it is not reality.

It’s good to see some similar minds on the platform. I just posted an article earlier today with some issues I see with anarchism. So far debate has been pretty civil, I would love to have your voices added to the conversation @blakemiles84 and @limitless, as I’m sure it would be enlightening! The article is here if you have time: https://steemit.com/anarchism/@jaredcwillis/the-problem-with-anarchism-an-open-minded-challenge

Also, I don’t want to be self-promotey so let me know if you want me to take this down and I will.

Thank you. You're definitely one of my favorite people to follow here. Follow back? (Only if you think my content is worthy)

Absolutely! Sometimes I forget to use Follow when its right in front of me :)

I love to see steemit bringing people together. Two articulate leaders. Thank you for your contributions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56582.63
ETH 2959.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25