Five Bullet Fridays #6

in #life8 years ago (edited)

 

Hi All!

Here is your weekly dose of “Five Bullet Friday,” a list of what I’m enjoying or pondering. I was inspired by Tim Ferriss's Five Bullet Friday and this will be my 6th one in the series.

Announcement
@nphacker @agm1984 and Max who is not on Steemit yet, and I are working on SteemIQ, a project that quantifies the post quality of Steemit posts. We will have leader-boards up soon and hopefully this will incentivize people to create higher quality content. You can find out more about this project at https://steemit.com/development/@nphacker/steemiq-me-how-smart-is-your-writing-find-out-your-steemiq

@nphacker and I joined Steemit before it took off and we will always try to post high quality and insightful content. 

Pay very close attention to @agm1984 when he starts posting. He is one of the funniest and smartest people I know. He will blow your mind so much that your cerebellum expels out of your rectal sphincter at an escape velocity of over 9000 miles per second.


What I'm reading

I'm reading Probability as Logic by Professor E. T. Jaynes of Washington University, St. Louis. http://bayes.wustl.edu/etj/articles/prob.as.logic.pdf

This is an academic paper that dives deep into epistemology, the study of knowledge itself. Professor Jaynes used rigorous mathematical reasoning to explain how we could more accurately understand reality. I'm still trying to wrap my head around it, but once I have a clearer understanding, I may end up writing a summary post to explain it in laymen's terms.

Podcast I Enjoyed

MartyrMade Podcast by Darryl Cooper is the best history podcast I've heard, even better than Hardcore History by Dan Carlin and History on Fire by Daniele Bolleli.

This podcast was recommended to me by Jocko Willink, who also hosts an absolutely amazing podcast about how to apply practical lessons from the military and jujitsu to everyday life. Like Jocko, Darryl is a veteran and brings a very unique perspective to history. Both of them are very open-minded and consider issues from multiple perspectives. A key take away is that Patriotism is the opposite of Tribalism. Throughout history, it has always been natural for people to identify with their families and by extension, their tribes who share DNA. However, the United States was a completely new civilization where ideology mattered more than family ties. World War 1 was fought to determine if national identity is stronger than the economic identity of communism. Even today, the war on terror and the conflicts between Israel and Palestine are conflicts between people who base their identities on different things. Both sides have arguments that you can sympathize with, but the ideologies cannot coexist. Darryl gives an absolutely fascinating in-depth look at the founding of Israel in the first episode of this series. Highly recommended if you want to obliterate some of your biases that you may have about the world.  

You can follow Darryl Cooper at https://twitter.com/Martyrmade

Quote I'm pondering
" The non-aggression principle doesn't really contend with the fact that billions of years of evolution has shown the ROI of aggression. Libertarian philosophy is often insightful on incentives, except when it comes to the huge incentive for initiating aggression." - Balaji S. Srinivasan 

Srinivansan is a board partner at Andreessen Horowitz and the founder of https://21.co/

He got into a fascinating debate about this topic with Vitalik Buterin, found of Ethereum, on Twitter. You can view it in detail here: https://twitter.com/balajis/status/759616934916698112


Funny dream I had

I dreamed that I was an event watching a series of scientific research presentations, then suddenly one of the presenters on stage started to make fun of the animes I watch in a bizarrely scientific way.


Thanks for reading! Have a wonderful weekend,

@limitless

-------

If you enjoyed this post, then you may want to follow me at @limitless and read my Bitesized Lessons in Antifragility series. https://steemit.com/antifragile/@limitless/bitesized-lessons-in-antifragility-1-importance-of-decentralization

Sort:  

Thank you for your kind and possibly accurate words. I most-objectively note that @limitless is a great asset to whom I have access.

I am producing a piece right now on how a person can contribute high-worth information. It will be my first post, and I will be tracking if it is worth my time to actively engage with Steemit; but, so far, I am greatly impressed with the model and intentions behind this project. If nothing else, I hope I can learn many new things from it. Models like this are a glimpse into the future paradigms.

Thanks,
Adam

Your SteemIQ went up to 116.37 because of this post!

On my way to 420 one step at a time

I saw the twitter debate between Vitalik and Srinivasan. It quickly went to an entropy definition argument which is slightly off-point on one branch. The actual quote, I am still pondering. It's possible that Srinivasan is trying to frame a huge ecosystem into Platonian Black/White thinking which in some cases in dangerous in my opinion.

balajis Balaji S. Srinivasan tweeted @ 31 Jul 2016 - 05:09 UTC

The non-aggression principle doesn't really contend with the fact that billions of years of evolution has shown the ROI of aggression.

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

I like your content

my steemiq is apparently 121, not bad,
I thought it was gonna be like -600 given my -6 rep

"" The non-aggression principle doesn't really contend with the fact that billions of years of evolution has shown the ROI of aggression. Libertarian philosophy is often insightful on incentives, except when it comes to the huge incentive for initiating aggression." "
interesting quote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59117.70
ETH 2597.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43